Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Bowie, MD
Students enrolled: 48
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Patuxent Montessori School 5

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
Our family was with Patuxent Montessori School for 12 years. Both of our children graduated from Patuxent Montessori and have moved on to other schools. The education our children received from the teachers at Patuxent Montessori was great! The lessons our girls learned at Patuxent are still being used everyday.

Patuxent Montessori School 5

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
In 2007, we joined Patuxent Montessori School as parents of one child. What started out as a trial basis for our first child has now grown into having five children in attendance at Patuxent and our children have gone through Patuxent’s Infant, Toddler, Primary and Elementary Programs. Currently, as parents of five kids who are students there, we drive through three counties to bring our kids to Patuxent Montessori School every day. For us, Patuxent is worth the distance and troubles of traffic. The reason is simply that we know that Patuxent provides a nurturing and safe environment for our kids. In spite of all the challenges that parents face each day raising “good” kids, Patuxent provides a wholesome environment and a safe haven for fostering the innocence of childhood. In addition to the long hours the faculty spend to teach each child, they also hold classes to inform and educate parents so that the Montessori method is made practical in the home environment. It is difficult to believe that in this day and age where kids are hooked on video games, internet and phones, the kids at Patuxent do simple childhood activities such as playing outside, reading a book or enjoying nature. At any other school, our kids would be coming home with more and more demands for electronic toys and gadgets, latest fashions and fads based on peer pressure and what they or others have watched on TV. But our kids come home, simply with the demands of wanting to cook together, wanting to play outside or wanting to go to the library to get books. Simply stated, Patuxent Montessori School allows us to spend more time as a family and enjoy seeing our kids grow up slowly, as kids should. We highly recommend Patuxent Montessori School and are confident that the society will be gaining five productive members, no matter the vocation, thanks to the basic foundations of Montessori education that our children were fortunate to receive.


Patuxent Montessori School 5

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
For nine years, our family has been part of the Patuxent Montessori community. From the beginning, we knew this school was the right choice for our two boys. They have been nurtured, challenged, and encouraged to develop in a way that allows for them to express their individuality. The school's focus on the fundamental principals of Montessori education — rather than catering to passing educational fads and giving sway to the ever-growing influence of screens in the classroom and at home — has fostered a vibrant learning community that instills in students a life-long love of learning. If you are considering a Montessori education for your child, you would be hard-pressed to find a better school.

Patuxent Montessori School 5

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Our children have been enrolled at the Patuxent Montessori School for the past nine years. We have been blessed with a high quality of education given to our children as well as providing a safe and nurturing environment second to none. The highly trained and devoted staff at Patuxent Montessori School is their biggest asset as well as the comforting location of the school. The Montessori education received by our children far surpasses their "grade level" and their well-being. We highly recommend this school.

Patuxent Montessori School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Montessori school....homework is not given to the younger students. The teacher(s) works directly with the student.


Patuxent Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Our children have been enrolled at the Patuxent Montessori School for the past nine years. We have been blessed with a high quality of education given to our children as well as providing a safe and nurturing environment second to none. The highly trained and devoted staff at Patuxent Montessori School is their biggest asset as well as the comforting location of the school. The Montessori education received by our children far surpasses their "grade level" and their well-being. We highly recommend this school.

Patuxent Montessori School 1

Posted February 20, 2015
- a parent
Strict, over the top (in Montessori terms) and ultimately we believe this will limit the growth and development of the child. And never get into any disagreements with the family owned school as you will not receive equal justice. Their are better options out there just do your research. Very disappointed with the administration of the school so go at your own risk.

Patuxent Montessori School 5

Posted May 23, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter graduated (6th grade) from the Patuxent Montessori School and received an excellent education. As a result of our experience at this school, I would highly recommend this Montessori School to anyone who is interested in having their children experience the best Montessori School in this area. The administration and staff are all AMI trained and adhere to the Montessori principles set forth by Dr. Maria Montessori. The warm and friendly atmosphere at Patuxent Montessori School was very nurturing to both our child and us. We will be forever grateful to this school to have received this educational experience for our child.


Patuxent Montessori School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
This school is small. The staff is very professional and take great pride in giving your child the best education possible. They follow the montessori program very closely. Excellent school.

Patuxent Montessori School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I highly recommend this school!! I have visted numerous schools and this one was very impressive and highly maintained. The atmosphere was conducive to learning, very clean and well maintained. The children seemed to really enjoy the learning environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Patuxent Montessori School
14210 Old Stage Road, Bowie, MD  20720
(301) 464-4506
Last modified Patuxent Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Patuxent Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top