Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Bowie, MD
Students enrolled: 48

4 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Patuxent Montessori School 5

Posted May 23, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter graduated (6th grade) from the Patuxent Montessori School and received an excellent education. As a result of our experience at this school, I would highly recommend this Montessori School to anyone who is interested in having their children experience the best Montessori School in this area. The administration and staff are all AMI trained and adhere to the Montessori principles set forth by Dr. Maria Montessori. The warm and friendly atmosphere at Patuxent Montessori School was very nurturing to both our child and us. We will be forever grateful to this school to have received this educational experience for our child.

Patuxent Montessori School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
This school is small. The staff is very professional and take great pride in giving your child the best education possible. They follow the montessori program very closely. Excellent school.


Patuxent Montessori School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
I highly recommend this school!! I have visted numerous schools and this one was very impressive and highly maintained. The atmosphere was conducive to learning, very clean and well maintained. The children seemed to really enjoy the learning environment.

Patuxent Montessori School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Both of our children attended Montessori schools, and this was by far the best! Not only were the academic standards high, but the expectations for parent cooperation and support on the home front was there as well. All parents have equal access to their child's teacher, and the communication lines are always open. This school has a loving & supportive community approach with a staff that is dedicated to helping parents become better parents!

Patuxent Montessori School 3

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
This is a very good school in terms of its education, however beware - there are many conflicts of interests in how it is run. The founder is also president of the board of directors is also the elementary directress. Her husband runs the school with her and her daughter and daughter in law are the other two teachers. Should you have any issues with the school, understand that there is no recourse. Checks and balances do not exist as it is run more like a dictatorship. The founder has incredibly strong view points and that she will not take well if you challenge them. Approach this school with much caution. If you want an excellent education, but don't mind being controlled in every way, shape, or form.


Patuxent Montessori School 4

Posted May 26, 2007
- a parent
My two sons attended Patuxent Montessori in Bowie, Maryland (son#1-2001-05; son#2-2003-2007.) Academic standards are very high; children spend six hours in 'time on task'. It is a pure Montessori school, expecting cooperative learning among students and long attention to 'work'. There are 100 students ranging from 2-14 years (pre-school through 6th grade). The headmistress/proprietor is extremely serious about the moral climate of the school, and is a gifted teacher in math and history. While there have been many skilled and devoted teachers, there is high turnover of teachers. Perhaps typical of smallish private school. Parents sometimes feel denied real participation in what their child is learning- a regrettable Montessori tendency. The business side is well run by the husband of the headmistress. The costs are on the low side for a private school in the D.C. area. All in all, this is an excellent school, and my two sons thrived and benefited

Patuxent Montessori School 3

Posted January 10, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Patuxent Montessori School 0
no rating

Posted March 04, 2006
- a parent
This school is very small and 'family-like' and offers a wonderful Montessori cirriculum. The classroom are spacious, well-equiped and very clean and orderly. They are ,however, difficult to get into because they are very small and do not have many openeing each year. They also strictly adhere to the Montessori principles so parents should be informed about Montessori education if persuing this school.


Patuxent Montessori School 0
no rating

Posted November 30, 2004
- a parent
Their rule is that your child must have already been in a montessori setting by age 3. This is very limiting! I've heard of exclusive but this is rediculous!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Patuxent Montessori School
14210 Old Stage Road, Bowie, MD  20720
(301) 464-4506
Last modified Patuxent Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Patuxent Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top