Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whitehall Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 464 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

My daughter just finished her Kindergarten year at Whitehall. I must say that I my husband and I have been more than pleased with instruction lead by the teacher, classroom aides, principal leadership and overall parent involvement. If I had any questions or concerns they were always treated with high importance and followed up promptly and professionally. Moving to the area was definitely one of the best investments ever made! Whitehall Elementary and Principal Campbell you rock! Mr. Campbell please never leave this school you and your staff are awesome!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

First year at Whitehall Elementary and I could not be happier. It's an outstanding school with outstanding teachers and staff. My kids love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

I was always a big fan of privates schools so was really nervous about sending my daughter to a public school. She has gone to private schools for most of her life and the one year she had to spend in public school was a nightmare. I must admit that Whitehall put all of my fears to rest. It is the best school my daughter has EVER attended. (public or private)! The faculty and staff are wonderful and it is reflected in the students. She has always been an honor roll student but I used to worry that she was being "given" good grades (although very smart) because she is likable. I have no doubt here that she EARNS EVERY "A" she receives. She is challenged and learning a lot. Yet still makes honor roll. My daughter was really sick earlier this year and tried to FAKE being well because she didn't want to miss school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

My son attended Kindergarten last year at Whitehall. I was very nervous as Prince George's County Schools do not have the best reputation. I was wowed by the teachers, staff and the school. This school really teaches positive values and respect across the board. My son loved his teacher (Mrs. Wellner) and there were tons of opportunities for parents to be involved and so many are! The only reason I considered staying in this county was based on Whitehall's "great schools rating" and it has lived up to every bit of the "10" it maintains. Looking forward to 1rst grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2011

Whitehall is a great school. The only negatives are the band teacher, who is unfriendly and rude on her good days and the librarian, not pleasant. Other then that it is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

This is our first year to in PG County and in a public school and we are so excited about our daughter's academic and social development and progress. She is a star and we attribute some of that to what she has learned/obtained as a student at WHITEHALL where children are educated beyond expectation. We are very pleased with everyone in the school and look forward to her continued growth and development as a Whitehall Wildcat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Whitehall just added a drama program. Some of the drama students performed The Boy That Cried Wolf for the Mothers on Muffin for Moms Day (a celebration of Mother's Day) and they did an incredible job. I just love this school and so does my daughter who is in Kindergarten and looking forward to 1st grade. You rock Whitehall Elementary!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

Whitehall is an excellent school. Knowledgeable and dedicated teachers, excellent school building, very good learning atmosphere, outstanding communication between teaching staff and parents. The school cares for not only the gifted and talented children, but identifies and special attention for children who have difficulties as well. My son is studying in this school for 3 years and he loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

We love whitehall elementary. Our daughter is in kindergarten and she loves her teacher. She is very eager to do well and learn all she can which is encouraged by her teacher. They recently went on a field trip where she was able to milk a cow and pet a baby pig. It is obvious this school focuses on great academics as well as positive self-esteem. The teachers, administrative staff and principal are very nice and always helpful. We are very happy to say my child goes to a great school in pg county!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

My 3rd grader is having a very good year at Whitehall. He transferred in from a private school and has a wonderful teacher and is learning a lot (and has the good grades to show for it!). He is enthusiastic about learning -- he really likes his school. The school does all it can to get parents involved; the front office staff are pleasant; the principal, guidance counselor and teachers respond quickly to requests for help/meetings. I'm glad my child attends Whitehall and am looking forward to another great year when he enters 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

Whitehall is an excellent school in Prince Georges county MD. The teachers and staff are excellent and very helpful. My sons kindergarten teacher is very willing to help him and answers my emails the same day. The school has a music, art and PE program as well. The school was also rated the highest in the county for the MSA scores. The parent involvement is tremendous, with about 90% PTA membership. This shows that the parents want their kids to do well in school regardless of the county the live in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 46% 35%
White 34% 42%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3901 Woodhaven Ln
Bowie, MD 20715
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 805-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT