Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenwood Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 545 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2014

This school is good as far as the teachers are concerned but the climate is terrible. The teachers are not supported by the principal. The principal is unsupportable of staff and students. This woman is the worst principal in the history of the school. You can feel the air of unhappiness when you walk through the front door. Greenwood is not a welcoming place, for students, teachers, or staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

Great school teachers. Worst principal ever, she is the kind of person that promise something to 6 years old kid and in the end she''s proud of not doing it and even talks about what she did, and after says don't talk back you are not allowed to talk back. If she is a good principal ... good luck! I would be ashamed . Next time get someone of your own age to talk too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

I agree worst principal ever! For her only some are good the others are not considered! Rated less than zero.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

Very unhappy due to the administration. The principal comes across as a bully. She is unwilling to see other peoples point of view. The teachers are great considering they have a such a horrible principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

I have had children in Greenwood for several years now and couldn't be more pleased with the teachers, environment and administration. This school has helped my children excel and thrive. My children earn high marks and are working well above grade level with much thanks to their good teachers and a fantastic PTA and community of volunteers. Greenwood ES is truly a top notch school. Without hesitation, I would recommend this school and its cluster to anyone looking for a great school and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2011

My daughter is Currently in 2nd grade here and we are very happy with the school. Even when we were having some issues with a teacher the principal was very responsive. The have a great readin n accelerated math program! My daughter is overall very happy here. I do feel that PE could more games, but overall we are very satisfied with the school and we will be sending our youngest there for kindergarten next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

My child finished kindergarten and we are amazed at what she has learned. There is a warm, safe and scholastically challenging environment fostered at this school and the kids are responding. This is a top notch school and a big part of an excellent school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

My child is struggling to learn. When she began Kindergarten I was impressed with most of the team who came together to get her what she needed. However, all the great elements of that team are gone and I no longer feel as though we are partners. The principal has been a non-player. Her teacher is non-communicative. No, I do not think this is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Teachers seem dedicated and interested in the children. There is not a whole lot of differentiated instruction, but the kids are learning. There is no follow-through from the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Our first-grade son loves school. The environment is welcoming for the kids and parents. I'm always impressed at the amount of parent involvement and volunteering at Greenwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

My second grade son has really struggled in school and all of his teachers have been phenomenal. Their dedication far exceeds any of the private schools I attended as a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

When our daughter was a 'bit' behind, the admin staff really pulled together with us and fixed the issue. Being in education, I can tell you this is one of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

My daughter had a great experience at Greenwood. The teachers were great. The administration was okay. The prinicipal was new. The VP was not very helpful when we had a problem. Although the teachers made up for any problems we had with the administration. I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 43%
Asian 10% 6%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Black 6% 36%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3336 Gold Mine Rd
Brookeville, MD 20833
Phone: (301) 924-3145

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT