Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
Having just moved to the area we've found the community to be very friendly and support of the school. The teachers overall seem to be great no matter the grade. The class sizes do seem large, but that's Montgomery County Schools for you. HUGE PTA presence and TONS of parent involvement. Principal is fine, but the Vice Prin. is AWESOME!

Greenwood Elementary School 2

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is good as far as the teachers are concerned but the climate is terrible. The teachers are not supported by the principal. The principal is unsupportable of staff and students. This woman is the worst principal in the history of the school. You can feel the air of unhappiness when you walk through the front door. Greenwood is not a welcoming place, for students, teachers, or staff.


Greenwood Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
Great school teachers. Worst principal ever, she is the kind of person that promise something to 6 years old kid and in the end she''s proud of not doing it and even talks about what she did, and after says don't talk back you are not allowed to talk back. If she is a good principal ... good luck! I would be ashamed . Next time get someone of your own age to talk too.

Greenwood Elementary School 1

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
I agree worst principal ever! For her only some are good the others are not considered! Rated less than zero.

Greenwood Elementary School 1

Posted July 21, 2013
- a parent
Very unhappy due to the administration. The principal comes across as a bully. She is unwilling to see other peoples point of view. The teachers are great considering they have a such a horrible principal.


Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2011
- a parent
I have had children in Greenwood for several years now and couldn't be more pleased with the teachers, environment and administration. This school has helped my children excel and thrive. My children earn high marks and are working well above grade level with much thanks to their good teachers and a fantastic PTA and community of volunteers. Greenwood ES is truly a top notch school. Without hesitation, I would recommend this school and its cluster to anyone looking for a great school and community.

Greenwood Elementary School 4

Posted February 19, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is Currently in 2nd grade here and we are very happy with the school. Even when we were having some issues with a teacher the principal was very responsive. The have a great readin n accelerated math program! My daughter is overall very happy here. I do feel that PE could more games, but overall we are very satisfied with the school and we will be sending our youngest there for kindergarten next year.

Greenwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 26, 2009
- a parent
My child finished kindergarten and we are amazed at what she has learned. There is a warm, safe and scholastically challenging environment fostered at this school and the kids are responding. This is a top notch school and a big part of an excellent school system.


Greenwood Elementary School 2

Posted March 12, 2009
- a parent
My child is struggling to learn. When she began Kindergarten I was impressed with most of the team who came together to get her what she needed. However, all the great elements of that team are gone and I no longer feel as though we are partners. The principal has been a non-player. Her teacher is non-communicative. No, I do not think this is a good school.

Greenwood Elementary School 4

Posted February 13, 2008
- a parent
Teachers seem dedicated and interested in the children. There is not a whole lot of differentiated instruction, but the kids are learning. There is no follow-through from the principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenwood Elementary School
3336 Gold Mine Rd, Brookeville, MD  20833
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (301) 924-3145
Last modified Greenwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top