Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Park School of Baltimore

Private | PK-12 | 835 students

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2014

Park School is characterized by wealthy, elitist families who like to think of themselves as liberal, pseudo-intellectualism, and catering to the children of faculty and administration. My child attended Park a year ago. My child was bullied, but since the tormentor was the child of an administrator, no action was taken. The faculty have minimal teaching ability, and the colleges to which seniors are accepted simply aren't top-notch. I really wouldn't Park to anyone ... But if you have an aggressive child, it's a fine school ... as long as you're wealthy, well-connected, or Park faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2014

The lower school has been fantastic. The teachers are well rounded and supportive and take each child where they are and teach them with such kindness and support. The lower school offers such a wonderful curriculum and fosters a love of reading. Park has a fantastic parent community and a wonderful philosophy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2014

Currently, no one is leading the Lower School - there is no vision for the lower school. The Lower School administration spends the majority of their time counseling families out, that is when those administrators are actually on campus. In 2014, 15 teachers across all divisions are leaving the school and the retention rate of families is at an all time low. Faculty is unhappy. Many parents are frustrated. Many accidents and incidents of bullying are happening at recess. There is little supervision and no accountability. The children of faculty members get into fist fights and bully other kids. Nothing is done. Children or parents seeking support are told that their needs are too great. It comes down to incompetence. The LS can no longer call itself progressive. Some people throw around the term "The Park Community." After many years at the school, we are leaving. Not one parent, not one admissions officer, not a teacher, not an adviser, not one administrator, not one board member has reached out to our family to wish us well or to offer to keep social connections with the kids. That is the current definition of community at Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

I have to second the two previous reviews. 14 teachers are leaving this year. The school in its current state would drive out any intelligent, competent person out. The administration should be ashamed of themselves, although I'm sure they never will be. And the bullying...the school is laughable in its attempts to blame the victim and deflect attention away from its own responsibility. They have a shockingly callous disregard for the well being and safety of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

Administration is obsessed with maintaining the Park image more than facing gaping holes in its academic veneer. Our son is leaving Park's lower school after the 2014 school year due to the complete lack of competent intervention or support from the admin on dealing with bullying and ongoing classroom behavior disruptions. Beautiful campus though- to walk off the frustrations you will experience trying to engage this administration to step up and take responsibility & action. Look elsewhere for your child's education, if academics and accountability in a well managed learning environment free of bullying rank high on your education list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

The Park School has, for the most part, a great lower school. And my son had a fantastic 3 years of middle school. BUT then we had Upper School. The head of school is nice but inspires zero respect in the US student body,hence, his leadership is ineffectual. The US administration is dysfunctional, ultra agenda driven and completely unable to deal with normal teenage behavior in a constructive, understanding but firm way. It is the perfect example of Political Correctness run amok. (And I'm a liberal!) There is one individual who is utterly unqualified for her position and who has wayyyyy too much power. She's even succeeded in having her relatives hired by the school. Hmm. The board of trustees would like to get rid of this person (who has caused a number of people to leave the school) but they can't fire her. There is even an independent consultant review of the situation going on to figure out how to right the situation. Unless your child has some kind of special need or syndrome RUN!! STAY AWAY!! They say they are "diverse" and want to educate "all" children but it's really the opposite. They only (US) want a student body with a very narrow mindset. THEIRS. Total hypocrisy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

A fantastic school for developing critical thinking, writing skills, and promoting discussion. Park's curriculum focuses around broad concepts and ideas rather than rote memorization of facts.


Posted March 11, 2011

As my son enters his last year of lower school at Park I have watched his joy of learning and his love of school grow with each year.The teachers are outstanding and the curriculum requires their students to analyze at a superior level than many other schools. If you want your child to learn by rote methodology and be spoon fed information for memorization this may not be the School for you.Park demands from its students a dedication to and true love for learning. Bright children can learn in any environment. However, it is evident to me that Park instills in its students the skills and innovative thought our children will need as our society moves forward and as traditional skill based learning is no longer sufficient for success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

Park has wonderful and caring teachers who help students to take personal responsibility for their learning. The teachers and administration respect individuality, and encourage creativity. Park has been the perfect fit for our child. They've really helped her discover her true self, and grow both academically and personally. I can't recommend this school highly enough. With that said, not every school is meant for every child. Your child must be willing to do her share. She will get out of it what she puts in. Park will not drag her by the hand, but if your child is motivated, the possibilities at Park are limitless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

We don't learn anything! I agree with a friend of mine, most kids get into good colleges because their parents are so rich! Give me a good education!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

I don't like it all that much going here. Two of my best friends are leaving next year. And around three or four are leaving in my class! I might as well be leaving (or so we have thought about) and all the time I have been here, I feel like I am learning very slowly compared to my friends in other schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2009

We are thrilled with the lower school at Park! The faculty is deeply committed to the school's philosophy, and the children are motivated and engaged in learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

It's true, Park will get you into a good college even if you're not that smart. I sacrificed that opportunity for happiness. It is like living in a bubble with no connection to anyone outside of your small community. It is not a diverse school either. I was not happy there, but that's just my opinion. Many people like it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2008

Park School has the most acedemically qualifed faculty in Baltimore. The academic program has been thought out in ways you cannot even begin to imagine. The entire faculty is engaged in an organized effort to help each individual student's growth. The diverse college placements at the best schools demonstrates that the Park is successful in meeting the varied intersts of each child. My child LOVES this school. This is a place where your child will learn to think, grow, and achieve at their highest level. I recently interviewed a person for a law position. They went to a prominent law school. They had a masters degree from an Ivy league school. They had a Bachelors degree from one of the best private colleges in the country. I hired them because they went to Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2008

The best school in Baltimore! Park provides an education focused on the needs of each child. Creativity, thinking, and questioning are valued. Students learn by doing, and projects are the most common form of assessment. My child loves evry day at Park School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

Park provides a nurturing as well as challenging environment in which students are deeply engaged and invested in their work. The faculty is, without a doubt, the most experienced and intellectually vibrant in Baltimore. Diversity (racial, socio-economic, religious) is a priority. College admissions are awesome, but the real benefit comes on a daily basis, as students and faculty create a rich and engaging experience day in and day out. We have three children at the school, each quite different from their siblings and each thriving at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Two or more races 8% 4%
Black 7% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 8200
Brooklandville, MD 21022
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 339-4154

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT