Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Burtonsville Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2011

We moved out of PG County to get the Montgomery County School experience. Two years later, it has been very clear that Burtonsville is not nearly far enough away from the county line...it is only slightly better than actually being back in a PG County schools. So, even though it means I am about to start driving over an hour to get to work each day, we are moving back to Harford County to make sure our kids have quality schools to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Burtonsville Elementary School has the best principle in the world! She loves each and every one of the students that attend her school, and wants the best for every last one of them. She is so involved, and works so hard for these children; she knows who every child is by face and name. She is a remarkable woman! And wants the best for all of her students, as well as her school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

when we moved into the Washington DC area I picked this neighborhood because of this school for three reasons staff, leadership and results. All are very good. Mrs Goff the K1 is teh Michael Jordan of kindergarden and Mrs Renfrew is to reading what the Wayne Gretsky was to hockey.BES gets results that defy logic. It is the only school I know that has a rising diversity rate but maintains increasing test scores. How do they manage to teach so many ESOL student to read above the average? Of all the things I think we can indicate as the reason BES excels truly much of it has to be leadership. Ms Smith is both inspiring and disciplined. BES is the bes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Before my first child began attending this school, I was obsessed with its scores, which were not bad, but not the best. Now -- three years later with THREE children there -- I don't even check. This school is AWESOME. The PTA is active, it has a marvelously diverse population, the teachers are committed and caring and the principal is one of the most loving, straight-talking, committed women that I know. I used to shrug off assertions that test scores don't tell the whole story, now I've experienced that adage and know it to be true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

Safe, well run and excellent enrichment opportunites. Principal and Vice-Principal are outstanding. Seems to be great variation among teachers however.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Yes, I agree with the posting from Dec. 2005. The school is in flux. The adminstration has a great deal on thier plate balancing the needs of a diverse group of students. However, my sons seems very happy and well adjusted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

BES is in flux right now, as it has experienced almost a total turnover in faculty and staff in the past from 1998 to 2005. It is very diverse, and it is a safe place to be, but some kids feel less stable as there are few, if any, of their old teachers still around. There is a small core of parents involved, and it can be difficult to break into the inner circle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2004

Burtonsville offers a very safe and family environment. Activities are plentiful and parental involvement is outstanding. Burtonsville before and after school program provided by 'Kids After Hours' is loved by all its attendees.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 62% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 6%
Hispanic 11% 12%
White 7% 42%
Two or more races 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

15516 Old Columbia Pk
Burtonsville, MD 20866
Phone: (301) 989-5654

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Fairland Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT