Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Burtonsville, MD
Students enrolled: 686

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Burtonsville Elementary School 2

Posted March 30, 2011
- a parent
We moved out of PG County to get the Montgomery County School experience. Two years later, it has been very clear that Burtonsville is not nearly far enough away from the county line...it is only slightly better than actually being back in a PG County schools. So, even though it means I am about to start driving over an hour to get to work each day, we are moving back to Harford County to make sure our kids have quality schools to attend.

Burtonsville Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Burtonsville Elementary School has the best principle in the world! She loves each and every one of the students that attend her school, and wants the best for every last one of them. She is so involved, and works so hard for these children; she knows who every child is by face and name. She is a remarkable woman! And wants the best for all of her students, as well as her school!


Burtonsville Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Burtonsville Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
when we moved into the Washington DC area I picked this neighborhood because of this school for three reasons staff, leadership and results. All are very good. Mrs Goff the K1 is teh Michael Jordan of kindergarden and Mrs Renfrew is to reading what the Wayne Gretsky was to hockey.BES gets results that defy logic. It is the only school I know that has a rising diversity rate but maintains increasing test scores. How do they manage to teach so many ESOL student to read above the average? Of all the things I think we can indicate as the reason BES excels truly much of it has to be leadership. Ms Smith is both inspiring and disciplined. BES is the bes

Burtonsville Elementary School 5

Posted September 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Burtonsville Elementary School 5

Posted July 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Burtonsville Elementary School 2

Posted April 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Burtonsville Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2008
- a parent
Before my first child began attending this school, I was obsessed with its scores, which were not bad, but not the best. Now -- three years later with THREE children there -- I don't even check. This school is AWESOME. The PTA is active, it has a marvelously diverse population, the teachers are committed and caring and the principal is one of the most loving, straight-talking, committed women that I know. I used to shrug off assertions that test scores don't tell the whole story, now I've experienced that adage and know it to be true.


Burtonsville Elementary School 4

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Burtonsville Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burtonsville Elementary School
15516 Old Columbia Pk, Burtonsville, MD  20866
(301) 989-5654
Last modified Burtonsville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Burtonsville Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top