Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 905 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2013

This is a great school with great faculty. Gets a bad rap like everything in Prince George's County. I have many acquaintances who graduated from this school. They have wonderful professional careers now.


Posted August 10, 2011

I have just graduate from Central although I am not going to college Central has given me the tools I need to go out in the real world. My GPA was a 3.625 and without the help of the staff that would not have been possible. GO CLASS OF 2011!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 27, 2008

As a former student in the International Baccalaureate program, I would say that Central definitely does not provide adequate preparation to attend a top-tier university such as the local University of Maryland. There are some outstanding faculty members at Central that have a great impact on students' lives, but there are not enough of them. However, this school is great at building character. My experiences at Central have shaped who I am today and I will never forget them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 29, 2006

I am a recent graduate of Central High School and my time there is something that I will never forget. I loved Central. It gave me the tools I needed to move on to college. I just want to thank all of my teachers and administrators for everything.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 27, 2006

I myself is a student in central senior high school and as a first year junior I was so terrified, but as I learned to coupe with the situation I learned that it's not the teachers although we have a GOOD staff of teachers and administrators, central is a little school and by stuffing all those students in that little space, who could work in an enviroment such as that? what student will be able to learn in a class room when they cant even get some form of one on one attention with the teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2005

Central High School has begun to make improvements this year. Largely in part to the appointment of new principal Fletcher James. My daughter is currently a junior at Central and has had 3 different principals each year. Mr. James is making strides to ensure that proper actions are taken upon those students who are disruptive to the learning process. There are also less students roaming the halls. During previous years this has been a big problem. It is my hope that Mr. James will remain as principal for years to come to instill some type of stability with the leadership of the school. Also, parents at Central need to take more active roles in their children's education and support their extracurricular activities. We need to step up to the plate. It's easy to pass the blame onto the administration, but we as parents also have to be accountable as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

Central High School needs serious improvement. Chidren are setting fires, robbing one another, involving themselves in group fights and threatening each others lives. I just think that more security or caring security should be gven to the school to help control these numerous problems. Also teachers should be evaluated on their teaching skills by an administrator every two weeks or something close to it. If the teachers don't care, neither will the students. I would have to say that this year, Prinipal Fletcher James is determined to change the school. I want to congratulate him and thank him for not giving up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

Central High has many good programs such as French Immersion and Humanties, IB, but they are brougth down because of the lack of organization within the building. Central is a fire hazard. The kids light fires and disrupt the learning process. This is not only stoping the learning process but is dangerous. The school require better security measures to be taken.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2004

My daughter attends Central High School as a 12th grade Humanities and International Studies student. She has commended Central for the great programs they have, and how great the teachers are. Acedimically, Central is an excellent school, but the lack of respect that many students have for the teachers has given the school a bad name.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2004

My son did well in the IB program (which Central is now losing in the most recent shake-up?) and has profited in college from the credits. However, it was unevenly administered and the courses unevenly taught as far as teacher ability and understanding of the IB tenets and foci. Everyone involved was supposed to be trained, but that was not the case. That he succeeded is a testament to his work ethic, a few particularly astute teachers, and being pushed by me to succeed despite the school's downsides. Overall, the administration was terrible all four years (he graduated in 2003) and I found the school to be far from inspiring--a 'ghetto' approach as his friends and he referred to it. As a parent, I was always very involved; still, I did not particularly feel welcomed in the adminstrative offices although lip service to the desire for parent involvement was made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2003

I feel overall my teenager has not been prepared for her future academically. Some of the class sizes are over 30 students and noisy. Some of the teachers are not committed to teaching. If I had the finances, I would have placed my teenager in private school or home schooled. The students are getting a mediocre education from the public schools. My teenager struggles with writing essay papers and this has been a skill I feel should have been taught by an earlier teacher and has yet to be mastered.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
45%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 89% 35%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
White 1% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Cabin Branch Rd
Capitol Heights, MD 20743
Phone: (301) 499-7080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Visions Academy
Capitol Heights, MD



Fairmont Heights High School
Capitol Heights, MD




Suitland High School
Forestville, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT