Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mark School

Private | PK-8 | 445 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Catonsville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $234,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2013

I have been really thrilled with the faculty at St. Mark. They are not only truly dedicated to each student and their academic progress, but are also very involved in extracurricular activities, fundraisers, movie nights, and tons of other community building events. We very happy to be part of such a great community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

Teachers are wonderful and take care of all of the students needs. I feel that they are very prepared with a rigorous program. Super sense of community between the faculty, staff, and HASA association.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

My daughter is just in kindergarten, so we've only seen this first semester, but I've been thrilled with the school and the community already. They've quickly accepted me, my wife, and my daughter into the community and the other parents clearly care very deeply for the school and its success. The kindergarten teacher my daughter has is so full of life and energy, and is often having a "special" day to help break any monotony that might set in for my daughter, for whom this is her first year in full-time school. As a Redskins fan, I could do without the Ravens pride here--this school practically bleeds purple--but it seems the kids enjoy the enthusiasm for the Ravens especially now during the playoffs. Most importantly, my daughter enjoys school, which to me is the most important thing at this stage in her academic career. It would be horrible for her to start off at a place that turned her off to school. Just this morning, while asking my 5-year-old daughter for her prayers of thanksgiving in the car, she said that she wanted to thank God for her school--out of the blue! I was so excited that I had to come and write this review because I knew I'd made the right choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2012

Great school! Faculty and Teachers truly care about the whole life and education of the children. Many experienced and engaging teachers keep children interested, focused, and make learning fun. Great math, science, and reading/english/literature teachers and programs. The Catholic nature of the school helps our children feel safe at school, keeps learning wholesome and friendly, and helps filter-out some of the cultural craziness that cannot be filtered-out at public schools, while still keeping the curriculum up-to-date with modern science and current events. Tons of parental, family, and parishioner involvement make this parish school feel like one big family. Many of the teachers were once students at St. Mark, have children that are either alumni or current students, and a few have soon to be students, making the teachers highly invested in the educational quality and overall enviroment of the school. An involved home-school association keeps parents a say in the schools daily events. The online resources, such as "power school" help parents track their students daily progress and classroom performance. Siblings discounts make it affordable for large families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

nice lunch and all kinds of not just one kind.Also its a catholic school. And a great every kid that goes there graduates and goes to a good high school like mount st joe or mount ta sales or mercy and i.n.d


Posted June 26, 2012

St. Mark has diminished greatly in the last few years. The principal was out in 2010-2011 and returned for 2011-2012 with a greater emphasis to sweep problems under the rug. Enrollment continues to fall due to the administrations reluctance to deal with problems. While some teachers may modify their lessons due to the students' excitement, they were few. They just got rid of a teacher who did challenge the students without overburdening them with worksheets. They continue with the same lessons for years. If you have several kids, keep the older child's homework and tests, because it will be the same. Call the school and ask what the retention rate is for 2012-13 compared to 2011-12. Enrollment may be skewed due to new people enrolling who are basing St. Mark on reputation and not current reality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

Clueless teachers and ineffective admin plus ridiculous tuition increases makes this the perfect school to stay away from, in Catonsville, me and several other families have moved to better schools in the past 6 months thanks to the sheer drop in the quality of the education. It has now become a business and all its stands on is its reputation from days gone by. Nothing else! You have been warned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

This is a mediocre school charging a premium price. If you choose to send your child here, be prepared for relentless tuition increases of nearly 10% per year. I wouldn't feel as bad about that if they could point to the places that are being improved, but they won't (or can't).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

This is an amazing community school with teachers who ask about the students long after they have gone on to the next grade or graduated. As a faculty member, you couldn't ask for a more caring community to work in. I am constantly impressed with the new teachers and their commintment to quality education, and their flexibility and willingness to work to the best interests of each child. The current principal is caring, professional, and dedicated to making this school the best it can be.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 3, 2009

We are very pleased with the quality of education offered. There is attention to character development which is important to us. The fundraisers are on par with public schools in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

When one places emphasis on money rather than the children & placing their wellfare first change schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

This school is very well-run with a caring principal and a dedicated faculty. They have the resources and use them effectively to serve the students. It is obviously a Catholic-based school where the children learn values and morals. The children are generally well-behaved and are challenged to learn. The principal is an intelligent, responsive person who is dedicated to the success of the school and listens to the parents' needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2005

It is a wonderful school for children who can easily comply and do not have any learning difficulties. If the child does show signs of behavioral/learning difficulties the teachers are too quick to request that the child be tested. The school is inflexible or unable to alter its teaching methods. The school is well run and the children are well-rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Black 15% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Hispanic 1% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Baltimore
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26 Melvin Avenue
Catonsville, MD 21228
Phone: (410) 744-6560

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Paul Lutheran School
Catonsville, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT