Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Catonsville, MD
Students enrolled: 445
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Mark School 5

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
I have been really thrilled with the faculty at St. Mark. They are not only truly dedicated to each student and their academic progress, but are also very involved in extracurricular activities, fundraisers, movie nights, and tons of other community building events. We very happy to be part of such a great community.

St Mark School 5

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
Teachers are wonderful and take care of all of the students needs. I feel that they are very prepared with a rigorous program. Super sense of community between the faculty, staff, and HASA association.


St Mark School 5

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is just in kindergarten, so we've only seen this first semester, but I've been thrilled with the school and the community already. They've quickly accepted me, my wife, and my daughter into the community and the other parents clearly care very deeply for the school and its success. The kindergarten teacher my daughter has is so full of life and energy, and is often having a "special" day to help break any monotony that might set in for my daughter, for whom this is her first year in full-time school. As a Redskins fan, I could do without the Ravens pride here--this school practically bleeds purple--but it seems the kids enjoy the enthusiasm for the Ravens especially now during the playoffs. Most importantly, my daughter enjoys school, which to me is the most important thing at this stage in her academic career. It would be horrible for her to start off at a place that turned her off to school. Just this morning, while asking my 5-year-old daughter for her prayers of thanksgiving in the car, she said that she wanted to thank God for her school--out of the blue! I was so excited that I had to come and write this review because I knew I'd made the right choice.

St Mark School 5

Posted December 17, 2012
- a parent
Great school! Faculty and Teachers truly care about the whole life and education of the children. Many experienced and engaging teachers keep children interested, focused, and make learning fun. Great math, science, and reading/english/literature teachers and programs. The Catholic nature of the school helps our children feel safe at school, keeps learning wholesome and friendly, and helps filter-out some of the cultural craziness that cannot be filtered-out at public schools, while still keeping the curriculum up-to-date with modern science and current events. Tons of parental, family, and parishioner involvement make this parish school feel like one big family. Many of the teachers were once students at St. Mark, have children that are either alumni or current students, and a few have soon to be students, making the teachers highly invested in the educational quality and overall enviroment of the school. An involved home-school association keeps parents a say in the schools daily events. The online resources, such as "power school" help parents track their students daily progress and classroom performance. Siblings discounts make it affordable for large families.

St Mark School 5

Posted October 19, 2012
- a community member
nice lunch and all kinds of not just one kind.Also its a catholic school. And a great every kid that goes there graduates and goes to a good high school like mount st joe or mount ta sales or mercy and i.n.d


St Mark School 2

Posted June 26, 2012
- a parent
St. Mark has diminished greatly in the last few years. The principal was out in 2010-2011 and returned for 2011-2012 with a greater emphasis to sweep problems under the rug. Enrollment continues to fall due to the administrations reluctance to deal with problems. While some teachers may modify their lessons due to the students' excitement, they were few. They just got rid of a teacher who did challenge the students without overburdening them with worksheets. They continue with the same lessons for years. If you have several kids, keep the older child's homework and tests, because it will be the same. Call the school and ask what the retention rate is for 2012-13 compared to 2011-12. Enrollment may be skewed due to new people enrolling who are basing St. Mark on reputation and not current reality.

St Mark School 1

Posted June 07, 2012
- a parent
Clueless teachers and ineffective admin plus ridiculous tuition increases makes this the perfect school to stay away from, in Catonsville, me and several other families have moved to better schools in the past 6 months thanks to the sheer drop in the quality of the education. It has now become a business and all its stands on is its reputation from days gone by. Nothing else! You have been warned.

St Mark School 3

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
This is a mediocre school charging a premium price. If you choose to send your child here, be prepared for relentless tuition increases of nearly 10% per year. I wouldn't feel as bad about that if they could point to the places that are being improved, but they won't (or can't).


St Mark School 5

Posted January 09, 2012
- a teacher
This is an amazing community school with teachers who ask about the students long after they have gone on to the next grade or graduated. As a faculty member, you couldn't ask for a more caring community to work in. I am constantly impressed with the new teachers and their commintment to quality education, and their flexibility and willingness to work to the best interests of each child. The current principal is caring, professional, and dedicated to making this school the best it can be.

St Mark School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
We are very pleased with the quality of education offered. There is attention to character development which is important to us. The fundraisers are on par with public schools in this area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mark School
26 Melvin Avenue, Catonsville, MD  21228
(410) 744-6560
Last modified St Mark School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Mark School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top