Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Paul Lutheran School

Private | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Catonsville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $238,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2009

My 2 daughters, one a sophomore in college, the other a senior in High School, both attended St. Paul's and I feel certain that their academic successes are directly related to the excellent foundation they received at St. Paul's. The academic curriculum was superior, preparing them for Middle School , Honors and Advanced Placement courses in High School and The collegiate Honors Program. The teachers and staff were caring, nurturing and grounded in the love of Jesus. I have maintained a relationship with the school and am excited about the new principal, a dynamic, caring, unifying person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

We love St. Paul Lutheran! The individualized attention my children are receiving is priceless. There is a true sense of community and fellowship and my children are thriving. We made the right choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

This is a school of dedication, service, and commitment. The teachers and staff are accessible and attentive to each and every student. Both of our children attend ST. Paul and we feel blessed to have them there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

St. Paul was without a doubt the best choice for all three of my daughters. The staff is so well trained and caring. They were quickly able to identify the academic strengths and weaknesses in each of my girls and address these on an individual basis. The administration was always so supportive with a concentration on open communication between parent, student, and teacher. My children were part of a family at St. Paul that encouraged them to strive to learn while making it fun and engaging. The Christian environment and concentration on God's teachings was a blessing to all of us and has provided a strong foundation for my daughters to cope with the world they live in today. Each of my girls went on to academically challenging, college preparatory schools after leaving St. Paul and excelled there thanks to the foundation they had received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

St. Paul is an outstanding school with incredible and caring teachers. We have been a part of the St. Paul family for 14 years and all 3 of my children have attended. Our children are shown the love of Jesus while achieving an outstanding education. Our children at St. Paul consistently score well above average on achievement tests. This is a well rounded, thorough and loving community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2008

The curriculum is wonderful and most of the teachers are too but they are leaving...this is a hint. If the school had a better administration that was fair to all, not afraid of change, concerned about it's students and their problems and had integrity, and worked in partnership with parents then the school would flourish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2006

Excellent school for grades Preschool through 5 grade. My daughter has attended there for all 7 years and has scored well above average each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2003

Small, nurturing, loving Christian environment with high academic standards. Students routinely score above grade level in reading. Strong Church. School relationship. A 'family' atmosphere. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Black 23% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 19% 6%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 Old Frederick Road
Catonsville, MD 21060
Phone: (410) 747-1924

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St Mark School
Catonsville, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT