Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westowne Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
Both Mr. Boyd, the principal and Mrs. Menton, my grandson's kindergarten teacher They both appear to be people who care about children.

Westowne Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
So far, I am highly impressed with my grandson's teacher and look forward to seeing him do well there.


Westowne Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
I haven't seen enough yet to know this but I am in touch with my son regarding it.

Westowne Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
I have seen this reinforced by my grandson's teacher. She had her hands full with over 20 students in class and still did a great job.

Westowne Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
I have seen very respectful relationships between my grandson's teacher and her students and they appear to be with one another.


Westowne Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
My grandson appears to be doing very well there and I've seen very good examples of kindness and patience in his kindergarten teacher.

Westowne Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
I like what I have seen so far. The teachers certainly appear to be good role models.

Westowne Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a community member
I am very impressed with Westowne. I have a very good opinion of Mr. Boyd, the principal and my grandson's teacher, Mrs. Menton. Recently, we had a wonderful time there for Grandparents Day and my grandson appears to be doing well there. The atmosphere is friendly, supportive and the quality of teaching, judging from what I've seen is high.


Westowne Elementary School 3

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
I too have found terrible inconsistencies in the quality of teachers, grade level standards, and school rules. The principal does not provide the leadership that is needed. Parents can be involved as long as it's with PTA activities and things that generate money. Start asking questions about curriculum, classroom management, and school policies and you are stonewalled. The school population is ethnically diverse, but the administration is not - definitely a red flag. If your child needs special education services, like a 504 Plan or an IEP, be prepared to advocate quite strongly to make sure your child gets what he/she needs. The only way to get results is to escalate concerns outside of the school i.e. the BCPS Superintendent. If I could afford private school, I would have pulled my kids out of Westowne.

Westowne Elementary School 3

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
Westowne Elementary School is hit or miss with regard to teacher quality. Some teachers are incredible. Others are absolutely terrible. The principal does not appear to make an effort to improve the situation and parents have had to go to the district level to see changes made to ensure consistency among teachers within even the same grade. Parental involvement is not encouraged in most classes and starting in the 2012-2013 school year, parents must get the principal's permission to be in the school building. There are no room parents in most classes nor are class lists standard. The first after school activity in many years has just been added. This is a Lego Robotics Club. Unfortunately it is a pricey activity.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westowne Elementary School
401 Harlem Ln, Catonsville, MD  21228
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (410) 887-0854
Last modified Westowne Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top