Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gladys Noon Spellman Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 554 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with the level of involvement and care given by principal and teachers. Moving to the area I was worry about public schools but I couldn't be happier. The school is great and offers amazing support to students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

It is wonderful! Our experience is limited to K and 1; both were fantastic and we wouldn't hesitate to keep our kids at Spellman longer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Our daughter is now in 1st grade at Spellman. There have been a few bumps with the curriculum, but Principal Holiday has been personally available and has been very responsive to our concerns. Our daughter is now getting a tailored, accelerated education that reinforces her love for school and learning. The teachers and specialists are top notch. We are very very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

We are having a great year at Spellman. Parental involvement is on the rise with the new Room Parent program and PTA leadership. We are also excited to start the new after-school Spanish classes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

Our daugther is finishing up 1st grade at Spellman, and she loves it. She feels challenged and has loved both her 1st grade and K teachers (just yesterday she asked to invite them to her birthday party!) The principal is excellent, and both she and the staff welcome parental involvement. The PTA is growing and doing some really great things. I would highly recommend Spellman to any family considering whether to send a child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

My son starting at Spellman this year and it has been great! We loves, as do we, his teacher. She is very caring and patient, yet very good at managing the students, which I see first hand as a parent volunteer. It appears to me that the principal, Mrs. Holiday, is very motivating and supportive of her teachers and staff and encourages them all do go above and beyond. The school has made great improvement under her watch. Another great aspect is that they encourage parent participation. I hope that others in the community will consider sending their children to Spellman. I definitely give them my parent approval.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

Our child is doing very well at Spellman this year. The coursework is appropriate for her age and she gets to exercise her creative side through art and music class. The teachers, principal and other staff are very communicative and caring. She is looking forward to moving up to the next grade and making new friends next year. The PTA is in a 'building year' but I am optimistic for next year as there are several engaged parents with energy and great ideas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

My daughter started kindergarten at SPellman this year and has had a great year so far. Her teacher seems top notch, the school is smooth and organized; the principal is approachable and responsive to concerns. My daughter is happy and excited to go to school each morning. She has neighborhood friends in her class; she's enjoying learning to write in her journal, having fun in PE and music, and even doing the simple, relevant daily homework. I get the sense that she feels school is a safe and friendly place. All in all I have been very happy with her experience so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

Well it's 2008-2009 school year and a new breath of fresh air at Spellman Elementary. Welcome to Mrs. Holiday, our new Principal and thank you for the planned and implemented improvements, I've seen so far throughout the school. You welcome and encourage parents participation and involvment with the administration. Parents, please review our testing scores on PGCPS website and see that we are amoung the top in the state, not only County. Mrs. Holiday, makes herself available for parent access and has vocalized this to her assistant, Ms. Carter and front office staff. We are blessed that our school has a small enrollment, which means the teachers can have manageable class sizes to be able to recognize individual needs and give attention and personalize their teaching. Hopefully, our school will not be affected tremendously with the rezoning of the bounderies to be announce soon. Stay supportive of change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

I when i come to the school i never got to sit and talk to the principal she was never there when I come to the school or unavailable when I call.The vice principal basically gave up on my child while other theacher's help me with him.I got no help from the principal or the vice principal.Glady's N.Spellman needs a new principal and vice principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

Parents need to become involved and ask Ms. Swan why she thinks the school is not scoring as parents would like. You can get individual scores for your child with regards to MSA testing. This school has many children coming from homes where English is the second language in their homes. These children have problems with the vocabulary on major assessments and more support is needed in this building. Ms. Swan is trying to raise self-esteem and self-efficacy with regards to students in her building and this is most imprtant if children are to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

I agree with the other reviews of Gladys Noon Spellman. I have lived in Cheverly for over 15 years and I have had sisters and brothers as well as all four of my kids have attended. Before Ms Swann became principal this was a school that always got praise as the most top rated elementary school in prince george's county. The math and reading scores were above average. I agree that parents should be a part of the PTA board but you have some parents as myself that are unable to participate in alot of the school activity because work. I care about my children and their education so therefore I make sure that I do my part at home as well. I have a daughter in Ms Slaughter's class and Ms. Iskowitz's class and they seem to care about their students as if they were their own children. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2005

I think that this school is just fine. If you are soooo concerned about the problem, then offer to assit. Make copies for the teachers, buy the materials needed for science themes. Also, if kids are unrully, how can the teacher teach? Stop complaining and join the PTA, get involved with the school. Stop putting down a school YOUR child attends!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2004

As a parent I think the problem with this school not performing up to standards start at the top, that means Ms. Swann the principal otherwise this school will go down academically.She has no idea on how to perform as a principal and that is the reason some of the teachers are horrible and should not be in a classroom.Overall this school can be saved but only if a more serious dedicated principal is at the helm to make sure the students have the right teachers for them to perform well and subsequently the school grades will improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

This school has really gone down since Ms. Swann took over. The test scores have dropped significantly. The school Board apparently is aware of this because they sent out letters to parents offering them the option of sending their child to another school with better leadership and test scores. ms. j. johnson, ms. p. johnson, ms. swann, ms. porter, mr. manahan and The best teachers there. If your child has one of these teachers he/she is in good hands. I encourage any parent that sends their child here to really stay in contact with the teacher to get a feel for them and make sure you talk to your child to see what is happening in class cause some of these teachers are horrible and should not be teaching!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 56% 36%
Hispanic 37% 12%
White 3% 43%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3324 64th Ave
Cheverly, MD 20785
Phone: (301) 925-1944

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






New Hope Academy
Landover Hills, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT