Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Cheverly, MD
Students enrolled: 225
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Ambrose Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
St. Ambrose is absolutely wonderful. Excellent principal, teachers and academics. They operate on a higher grading scale which gives the children a better challenge.

St Ambrose Elementary School 5

Posted February 23, 2011
- a parent
I graduated from this school in 1982. I went on to attend DeMatha HS until our family relocated to Virginia. It was a great school then and is a great school now. Given the current environment of PG County Schools a parent would have be completely irresponsible or poor to send their children to PG County Public Schools. The schools are unsafe and the teachers, administrators, parents and students are mostly apathetic. They are also openly or covertly hostile to people of other races and backgrounds. PG County may not only have the worst school system in MD, but possibly the US. The only quality school in Cheverly was Cheverly Tuxedo Elementary which the school system closed about a dozen years ago and turned into some kind of weird experimental learning center. If choose to live in PG County, MD do not send your kids to public school; you will regret it.


St Ambrose Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2011
- a parent
Excellent School. The Principal is awesome - she really takes an interest in every child. Discipline is doled out when needed and fair. Teachers are also very engaged in the school and provide a very good education. Art, Music, Library, Spanish, and PE are offered every week. There are also extra curricula activities that further round out the students education, including, band, choir, karate, cheerleading, basketball.. not to mention that St. Ambrose was the CYO Track and Field champions last year. Parent involvement is great - yes their is a mandatory number of hours - but parents step up with pride and pitch in when needed! If you are looking for a new school, take a look.

St Ambrose Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
St. Ambrose School is a great place for young students to build self esteem and get prepared for and accepted into the competitive high schools in the Washington, DC metropolitan area. Pre-K through 8th grade. The rich curricula of music, art, competitive athletics, and physical education provide a well rounded education for these young students.

St Ambrose Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 16, 2010
- a community member
My basis on whether an elementary school is great or not is their graduation rate. I visited St. Ambrose on March 8, 2010, and heard the Principal announcing a myriad of scholarships that were awarded to the 8th grade students and the high schools they would be attending. Well, St. Ambrose has a 100% graduation rate, with 8th grade students receiving scholarships to attend well-known high schools, Georgetown Visitation, Gonzago, St. John's, etc. Principal leadership, teacher quality, extracurricular activities, parent involvement, and safety and discipline has to be more than above average when an elementary school's graduation rate is 100%. This is my bottom line; and I am happy that my boys attend St. Ambrose Elementary School. Facilities are nice; and I rate St. Ambrose 4 stars.


St Ambrose Elementary School
no rating

Posted February 07, 2010
- a parent
Excellent adminstration, strong family environment, high academic excellence

St Ambrose Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
My sons are thriving at St. Ambrose. The curriculum is on point with the appropriate grade level. My oldest is excelling in his classes and consistently proves to me that he is learning great information. My youngest has transitioned well into their Pre-K program and has excelled as a class leader. The staff and administration focuses daily on providing a quality education to the student population.

St Ambrose Elementary School 3

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
This school has educated caring teachers and a awesome principal who has a vision of success for every grade.


St Ambrose Elementary School 4

Posted September 21, 2008
- a parent
I would rate it 4 stars, although it does depend on which teachers you get. My daughter has been fortunate. She has had very excellent teachers for the most part. The curriculum is above average. The school can benefit from a more selective admission standard, attracting and retaining higher-caliber students.

St Ambrose Elementary School 2

Posted March 07, 2008
- a parent
I am disappointed with this School. At the open house last year I was given the impression that it was a loving and nurturing environment with small class sizes. When school started I was very disapointed with the large class size and temperament of the teacher (which I think relates to the classroom being over crowded). Now I just learned that next years Kindergarden class will have 30 students! Additionally, the school facilities need to be upgraded.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Ambrose Elementary School
6310 Jason Street, Cheverly, MD  20785
(301) 773-0223
Last modified St Ambrose Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Ambrose Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top