Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oneness Family School 5

Posted December 17, 2014
- a parent
My two children have attended OFS since they were 3. They are now in 4th and 6th grades where they have flourished in their individualized academics (read: follow the child) along with transcendence and reflection. They have been learning a foreign language since age 3 and all those early Montessori lessons learned in their education is coming together in the upper elementary levels. What Oneness offers is a very unique combination of academics and self development. It's a place you have to visit.

Oneness Family School 5

Posted November 08, 2014
- a parent
Oneness-Family School really teaches to the whole child. My middle school daughter found the love of learning here and it has carried her throughout her education. We need more schools like this one. I will always be grateful for all that she learned here.


Oneness Family School 5

Posted September 26, 2012
- a parent
OFS is an extremely unique and special place. We have two children, an almost 5 year old and a 2.5 year old, attending OFS this year. We have been with the school since the day our older child turned 2 and have been extremely thrilled with how gentle and nurturing yet firm the teachers are. The teachers are fully engaged and top knotch and have great suggestions for parents and family to help their children grow. The children learn self-awareness and conflict resolution. They are exposed to yoga, foreign languages, and partipate in many field trips even at this young age. We are so impressed with the knowledge and exposure our little ones already have. The community of families is also unique with many people from abroad as well as a locally diverse group of families. The children learn that they are part of a much greater world. Many parents have volunteered in the classroom offering additional exposure to other cultures. The OFS atmosphere is most positive and nurturing as well as challenging.

Oneness Family School 5

Posted April 10, 2012
- a parent
I can't recommend Oneness Family School enough. We have a 3.5 yar old there and our 2 year old will be starting in the fall. They have a great program for children age 2 through grade 8 (www.onenessfamily.org). The teachers are really engaged and nurturing. We love how diverse the student population is - full of culture and languages. Students preschool and older participate in many field trips around the DC metro area, as well as foreign languages, peaceful resolutions, outdoor education (field trips and overnights for older students), learning about oneself and embracing the differences that make us all unique and special. It is a perfect Montessori/Waldorf blend. Our son loves it and has really gained discipline and kindness that I know the teachers help encourage. More than the teachers, I love the other parents. Down to earth, interesting, diverse parents that all want their children raised in a positive, encouraging (yet challenging) environment.

Oneness Family School 5

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
Within minutes of our first meeting with Andrew Kutt, the Head of Oneness Family School (OFS), it was absolutely clear this was a special place. We visited several other schools before choosing Oneness yet Andrew was the only one to open our meeting by asking about our son. All the other schools opened and closed our meetings by telling us how wonderful they were. We got the company line. Not at Oneness. For example, during our meeting our son's teachers appeared (during their summer holidays no less) to visit with him, take him to his soon-to-be classroom, get to know him, engage him, make him comfortable, establish a connection. This same openness, creativity, collaboration, commitment to excellence, unwavering devotion to the child and to creating a demanding but entirely supportive learning environment are what make OFSl such a special school. Oneness offers high academic standards to develop outstanding students & a challenging curriculum focusing on community, conflict resolution & collaboration to develop broad-minded citizens of the world. With the active support of OFS, we are realizing our best hopes for our son's education & personal development. I highly recommend it


Oneness Family School 5

Posted March 09, 2012
- a parent
If you are looking for a school that works in partnership with the students and the teachers in learning, look no further. This is a school where the teachers help instill that love of learning and where the kids can be themselves, from age 2 through grade 8. OFS provides an unique environment that stimulates excitement for learning the academics, as well as communications (learning what it means to be a good listener or a friend), performing songs for school events, and taking the learning outside the school doors to the numerous field trips. We tried to move out to our great public school twice, once after Kindergarten and once after 3rd grade and both times, we moved my children back to OFS. Additionally, the parent community will immediately embrace you...support, friendship and volunteerism! You've got to visit.

Oneness Family School 5

Posted December 28, 2010
- a parent
What a gem. We have two children currently attending OFS. At one point we moved one of our daughters to the ("perfectly fine Montgomery County free local") public school. We moved her back after one semester. And by the way, it is possible to love yourself, your school, your teachers, your body, and your world when you are in middle school. You just have to choose your community carefully. We can't really afford it and we don't live that near the school, but it's worth it all because the school has a real culture of kindness, something pretty rare in the DC area.

Oneness Family School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
It is an alternative place of caring and attention.


Oneness Family School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oneness Family School 1

Posted February 26, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oneness Family School
6701 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD  20815
(301) 652-7751
Last modified Oneness Family School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Oneness Family School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top