Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lycee Rochambeau French International School

Private | PK-12 | 1050 students

 
 

Living in Chevy Chase

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $800,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

Lyc e Rochambeau offers an educational experience that is unlike any other in the Washington, DC area. The student body, administration and teachers are truly multicultural and diverse. My American children have students of all nationalities, religions, socio-economic levels in their classes and gain from the worldly perspective that the student body and academic program provide. The academics are extremely rigorous and the k-12 experience is well thought out from a content perspective. In addition, the school does not do enough to highlight the extraordinary value that is provided by its multi-tier French and English program. Each year has multiple English and French sections providing personalized tracks where each child is grouped with students of similar capabilities and taught the material they need to progress. Is the school (or any school for that matter) perfect? No. The administration needs to put greater emphasis on teacher accountability and the customer service US parents and students expect and deserve. They are doing a better job of communicating about their exemplary college admissions results and some other areas, but they have a long way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

This is a great school : the academic level is very high, the teachers are among the best and the opportunities for the students huge. We are very satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2014

Excellent school with rigourous and demanding curriculum, great teachers and the only truly international environment in the metro DC area. My kids joined in Elementary for one and high school for the other. The elder was failing in a public high school and the level of attention and rigourous approach of the school helped him to graduate with high grades. My younger daughter would not go anywhere else. Her friends are from all around the world and by the age of 10 she was fluent in Spanish, English and French. She has now started Latin and is likely to take on Arabic after that. My older son was given the truly unique opportunity to go to college pretty much anywhere around the world. He chose to go to Europe, but some of his friends went to Stanford, Harvard and Cambrige. One is in Singapore and several went to top Canadian and american universities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

I would highly advise against sending your kid to this school unless for some reason you desperately need to. The school is a total mess. There are some very good teachers but plenty of bad ones who stay for years and for whom nothing is ever done. The directors and many of the teachers and administration come from the French public school system where they really should have stayed because they understand nothing about what it means to teach in a private school where standards are high and parents expect an above average level of teaching skills and service. Please spare yourself the time and go visit the excellent public schools in the greater DC area or a private school that really knows what it is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

From the reviews I've read, a few things are clear coming from the dissatisfied parents: either your kid doesn't have what it takes to excel in this rigorous milieu that surely doesn't hand out medals to every kid, or you have a problem with management because they repeatedly ignore your pleas. The former is frequent and a lot of kids end up in american school not because the curriculum is lacking (on the contrary, it is top notch - just compare it to any american school) but because their kid could not keep up. The latter is unfortunately encountered in virtually every establishment - good luck getting your voice heard in an american school with 2932093 students and parents in it. This is just my two cents but I am continually impressed with the quality of the students and teachers that this school consistently churns out. My daughter went to McGill, and is now accepted to medical school. My son got an offer from Georgetown coming from 1ere. Although they've begged me to be transferred to American school when the going got rough, today they frequently mention how this french system helped them blossom into the people they are today: smart, driven, competitive and highly educated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

Before you select this school, request that they send you the annual report that is sent to all parents, which summarizes the school's performance over the past year. It contains the # of graduating students who were accepted by various universities, the percent of students passing the Bac (100%), and the number who took the SAT (very low - only a handful of students) as well as their average score (disappointing - not high enough to get in to University of MD). I have 2 sons who attended the Lycee Rochambeau from 1st grade until graduation. Both earned grades that either met the class average or exceeded it every year, and both did very well on the Bac. But their low scores on the SAT limited their college options to universities in the French school system. Their scores may be due to a language barrier (hard to quickly interpret complex English sentences when you read only French text books and literature), a lack of adequate teaching of math skills and analytical reasoning, or an overly lax and forgiving grading environment. English is the universal language of science and business, and US universities are excellent - and they are now out of reach for my sons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

I'm French and my son is now at the local elementary school. We are in the BEST school district in the country and why would anyone put up with their "holier than thou" attitude for 20k/yr is absolutely beyond my comprehension... and I'm French! This school should be called "World Bank/IMF school" because that's their bus. model. Cater to people who are only staying a couple of years will go back to a Francophone country and need a continuum in the curriculum (notice I didn't say France). If that's you, knock yourself out. Teacher turnout is high as is admins, this is the worst. My son was utterly miserable there and got tortured, bullied daily with no one caring whatsoever. Horrible place especially for any kid needing an IEP/504!!!! These kids get put down by teachers and admins and peers on a daily basis among general indifference because "it's their own fault". The difference once I left was life-changing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

One thing that's clear from reading these reviews, you either really love this school or really hate it. I really love it. I am American and my 3 kids have attended the school for 5 years. I have never seen or heard of anything resembling the negative experiences below.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

I just discovered this website, and can't agree more with the disatisfied parents. Management, teachers, admin staff are the worst you can imagine. End of school year will be a relief for our children. And our decision is made : they will go to a local high school and they will pass their "bac" as "candidat libre". Good luck if you decide to enrol your child here, you will pay a fortune for an average education. Not worth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

I have been thrilled with the quality of education provided by this school. All of the teachers that my daughter has had have been outstanding. I have had no issues with the administration; they have been supportive in all cases. I think what I find most amazing is the level of rigor and student behavior at the middle and high school levels. Before making any decision, I'd highly recommend touring the school. The contrast between this school and an American one is dramatic. We are driving everyday for an hour to go to this school and it's worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

Teachers are good. School management is incompetent possibly due to the fact that they are politically appointed French civil servants sent to the US under 2-3 year contracts without any prior knowledge of or experience in the US. In the end, decisions are arbitrary, depend on who the children or the parents while management decision process is largely opaque. Also, as already pointed out by other parents, this school is much too conflictual to represent a good learning environment. I would not recommend this school. An unsatisfied parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

The Lyc e Rochambeau is unfortunately not the best option in the area. Nope. And, as a parent it is so much difficult to engage with the management and the teachers. Forget the PTA. Curriculum is good indeed, but teachers here do not empower your children, do not help them to build up their self confidence which they will need in our competitive world. Still wondering if I did the right choice for my children.Day after day, doubt is bigger. Especially when I compare within my neighborhood in Chevy Chase.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

This is a great school but the cirriculum is very demanding with significant homework in the higher grades that is the reason why it is not a school for everybody. The level of english is excellent and my children know English sometimes better than their friends in American school! Also the school started teaching Spanish to 3rd graders. But even more telling, most students get their high school degree with honor ( which is quite difficult in French schools) and get admitted to the most prestigious colleges in the Us and worldwide. Most of them can even start college directly in 2nd year because the level of education is so high. My children had none of the experiences described by certain parents, on the contrary, the teachers are great and it is well rounded education and they have not been bullied at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

In this school, my child learned how to curse thanks to his Kindergarden teacher that was shouting the whole day. And this year, I'm trying to alert the management of the Rollingwood campus on a bullying case. But they do not react, respond, to the concerns of the family. I'm not paying 17 grant per year to get that kind of teaching. Looking forward to be at the end of the school year. I will register him in another school within the area (they are not more expensive than this low quality institution).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

We are a blended family with one francophone and one american parent. We have two kids in the maternelle school and have been pleased so far. The teachers for both of our kids are very thoughtful and have dynamic lesson plans. The school is much more diverse than most area private schools and significantly less expensive. An added benefit is the IB track. It has been a very good choice for us thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

Why pay a private education for a service that is much below that provided by some public schools in the area? Although some teachers are good, management is problematic, unresponsive to parents' needs and internal conflicts abound. The number of school days is much below average while the classes are overcrowded. This school provides an average French public service at a cost of a private American education. You do not want your kids to be there. A dissatisfied parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2011

The worst experience ever. I'm currently looking for another option in the middle of the year. My 3.5yo child has a crazy teacher. The management does not want to listen to me or find a solution, the parents association rep. is of any help... A nightmare. For such a fortune!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

Interesting to see how people are starting to talk about this school which on the paper sounds good but in practice is a nightmare. Especially in Kindergarden. Message pour les parents fran ais : si vous venez pour 1 ou 2 ans, et que vos enfants sont jeunes, mettez les a l'ecole US, ils auront une vraie initiation a la langue anglaise. C'est un autre point noir de Rochambeau. Vous venez a DC pour du long terme, mettez vos enfants dans le systeme US, ils seront mieux integres. Public schools in MD or in VA are among the best of the country. Why would you want to pay for a low-level education system?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2011

I can only agree with the previous review. Coming from Europe I was expecting a top high quality from this French school in the USA. But our kids got the worst. This is now enough, and after a few years we decided to enroll them in another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

A French school in the USA, close to the Nation's capital... That sounded great. We were expecting to get the best of the two worlds for our kids. But we just got the worst. Especially when it comes to the Management team and the way they address bullying cases or any concern you could have with the way your kids are being treated by their teachers... The administration and faculty would prefer to bury their heads in the sand, turning a blind eye on you and your kids, just expecting to get to the end of the school year without having to address your concerns. So If you're considering enrolling your kids there... don't. This is a French school, where even some administrative staff do NOT speak English, behaving like they are extraterritorial... This school is for French people that do not want to be part of the US melting pot. This school does not welcome or know how to respond to Americans that want to introduce their kids to another culture. Arrogant and unprofessional, that's what they are. A very disatisfied parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 45%
Two or more races 27% N/A
Hispanic 5% 10%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 1% 40%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Catherine Lévy
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (301) 564-5779
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 Woodbine St
Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 530-8260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT