Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chevy Chase Elementary School 3

Posted August 26, 2012
- a parent
Average at best. Our experience is that teachers do the minimum and the facility is poorly maintained, Lots of testing, but they don't seem to do anything with the results of the testing. It doesn't seem a very academic place from the Principal on down. They have good scores, I think, because they have an extremely well-educated population. I feel that the school is free riding off of that. We are disappointed.

Chevy Chase Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2011
- a parent
The teachers at Chevy Chase elementary are exceptional. The kids are so excited to go to school, so motivated to do well. The school is organized and well run. I feel very lucky to have my kids there.


Chevy Chase Elementary School 1

Posted March 20, 2011
- a parent
As a parent, I am shocked by the reviews here. I've had children in three different elementary schools, and this is by far the least inclusive, friendly, and what's most important in the end academically supportive of my bright, non-trouble making children. A resistant principal who bullies students and parents alike, a PTA who is only concerned about the current districting issues, and a policy in which parents and caregivers are not allowed to enter the school after hours makes for one unappealing environment. Teachers who refuse to help students after school only add to the problems, and the 'green' policy that means that school communication is limited to the occasional email or robocall. Very pleased to be transfering out, like many of my sons' friends.

Chevy Chase Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 02, 2010
- a community member
Chevy Chase Elementary School is a great school. The learning environment is wonderful. The students are great and learning seems to be fun for them.

Chevy Chase Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 17, 2009
- a community member
I do not know of any other school that has its very own television station, and television crews formed by students, that makes broadcasts to classrooms every Wednesday and Friday.


Chevy Chase Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The school leadership was engaged in the educational process and the community. The parents formed a very active community. My son made some exceptional friends. It was a win-win situation for all!

Chevy Chase Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
A caring school , Teachers and parents and children all love this school

Chevy Chase Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2009
- a student
Chevy Chase is a great school. It includes Higly Gifted And Talented Center, and has edjucationms for grades 3-6.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chevy Chase Elementary School
4015 Rosemary St, Chevy Chase, MD  20815
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (301) 657-4994
Last modified Chevy Chase Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 3-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top