Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rock Creek Forest Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 578 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2014

RCF is our neighborhood school and has seen positive changes over the last 5 years. We have 3 kids and volunteer a lot - we have personally witnessed the transformation that is taking place. Our new principal has been a fabulous addition to our community. She connects with parents, children and staff in a way that makes everyone want the school to thrive. Our school has a strong, generous, loving community that exposes kids to many different cultures and opinions while instilling good values. Our older kids are at the middle/HS and I can honestly say they are ready for real world experiences, are able to think/work independently and appreciate the many people we live among. They have made friends from the other elem schools and are performing well in the highest level classes - so clearly their foundation was solid! Our community is filled with solid citizens and just nice people who go out of their way to make a difference. And coming January 2015 - a brand new building!! It is going to be fabulous!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Hello, I am a parent considering moving to the neighborhood from DC. We have a 1st grader at Lafayette, and we're very happy with the school, but we may be moving to MD for other reasons. I am wondering if there are any RCF parents by chance who may have had experience with Lafayette or another DC elementary school who can compare it to RCF. It would be very helpful. Thanks!


Posted April 14, 2013

will be undergoing a much needed renovation in 2013-2015. I had 3 children go to this school and it was great. It has the Spanish immersion and a regular English education component. I would not hestiate to send my children here. The school is what the parent make it also. This school has very involved parents and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

I had children here for 4 years and served as PTA Vice-President for 3 -- and I will say unequivocably NOT to send your children here if they have any special needs. (Ask around -- there's a wide consensus about this.) I'd be cautious about sending other children as well -- I pulled my "normal" child out as well and only regret that I waited as long as I did. Behavior management is very poor, and quiet children like mine often get ignored. For this reason, I am not surprised that they failed to make AYP in 2010-2011.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

I have had two kids go through the English Academy (the neighborhood school) and have been really impressed with the level of teaching and dedication of the staff. My son hit a rough patch in 4th grade and the staff and teachers really rallied around him to make sure he was supported. Going WAY above and beyond. The principal has committed to ensuring that both program (the English Academy, or regular school, as I like to call it, and teh immersion program) have rigorous standards. Since one child is already in middle school, I can tell you, she was really well prepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2010

I have three children in RCF's English Academy (EA) and I couldn't be happier with the quality of their education. My children have been taught by 80% of the current EA staff at one time or another, and they are all top notch. Many teachers have attained or are currently pursing advanced degrees and this commitment to further education is evident in their classrooms. Additionally, due to the small catchment area of the school's community or EA program, most EA classes are smaller than the county average. The small catchment area also means that most EA students live very close to the school - which facilitates a strong school-community feeling. (I love that I see so many of my neighbors at drop off and pick up!) RCF is known for its (entrance by lottery) Spanish Immersion program - but its English Academy (or community program) is one of MCPS's hidden gems!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I agree with the parent who posted the message regarding RCF curriculum. My son has been attending RCF since kindergarten and everything was excellent until he finished 2nd grade. He is in the Spanish Immersion program. Around that year the school got a new principal, who has done many changes to the curriculum. My understanding was that starting 2nd grade the students in the Spanish Immersion will start learning English. My son brought a weekly packet and he was enthusiastic to be able to read and write in both languages. Then, in 3rd grade he didn't bring any more English homework. Now he is in 4th grade and hardly brings homework, even in Spanish. I am not too happy about this so I am looking to transfer him to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

My son has been attending RCF since the 3rd grade and I must say that teacher involvement with the children is outstanding BUT as far as their curriculum, I think it should be more competitive. My son hardly ever brings homework and I feel that he may not be prepared for Middle School when its time for him to attend. He is now in the 5th grade and I will be transferring him due to lack of having him prepared for the next level. Overall the school environment is GREAT but the curriculum should be more competitive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

Rock Creek Forest has a very active PTA and strong parent support, especially in the immersion program. The principal has been there many years and adds a sense of continuity and stability to the school. The atmosphere, in general, is friendly and welcoming and the teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2004

Please note, this school services children from the local community as well as being a magnet school for 'total' Spanish Immersion. Children are admitted into the Immersion program by lottery. For additional information go to: http://www.mcps.k12.md.us/curriculum/lang/FLinMCPS/immersion.htm
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2003

Very respectful of diversity and strong student encouragement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2003

It's a great school!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 42%
Hispanic 29% 12%
Black 15% 35%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8330 Grubb Rd
Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Phone: (301) 650-6410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Woodlin Elementary School
Silver Spring, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT