Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Somerset Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 509 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2013

I have been a parent at this school for 10 years. It's a great school and all of the teachers and specialists have always been superb (despite the old principal who was awful but since she left in 2011 the school has been on the right track with the current principal) ... There are lots of wonderful school activities throughout the year (my children especially adore the P.E. and art teacher, field day, and the daily outdoor recess/line-up). I wish that the school system would have specials (art, P.E. and music) more than once a week: two areas of improvement could be 1- the friendliness of the office staff, and 2- the lunch and recess aides- my children and their friends have consistently expressed concern that some just don't seem to care about some of the playground stuff -so rather than taking the time to get to the bottom of an issue they end up punishing the whole group rather than the few culprits who end up ruining it for the majority - perhaps they are just not as well-equipped as the teachers are to deal with children... like I said teachers are great and my three children have/are receiving a great education. We are very happy there ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2013

The principal is political and cold. His office is very cold for people need to transfer in from other districts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

Incredible school! The teachers are beyond compare! I couldn't be happier with my child attending this school. Furthermore, Somerset Elementary School hosts a great summer camp -- Camp Summerset! Everyone should check it out - my children have been going there for the past 3 years!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

Exceptional school. The new principal is awesome. The PTA is very active and there are a lot of family events organized by/at the school (doughnuts with dads, reading night, ice- skating, dance party, musical production,...). The level is excellent with lots of opportunities for students to learn more and thrive. We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

Great school in a great community. Truly diverse - one in four students is foreign born. The school is the heart of the community with great teachers and very involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

This school has no leadership, as the principal quit mid-year. The new "acting principal" is incapable of controlling the teachers, and the teachers therefore have no oversight and, in some cases, have become downright abusive, since they know they can get away with it. The other parents deserve what they get, as they gang up to squash any hint of dissent. They don't care whether the children receive a decent education, or even decent treatment, as long as the reputation of the school remains intact. These people repeatedly have my reviews removed from this website -- all to support their property values, I'm sure. The bottom line is that this place has no substance. The curriculum is disjointed, inappropriate and bizarre (they demand k's identify and label the "rectangular prism" for example). The teachers have no oversight or discipline, so the children are also undisciplined. Dissenters are attacked, so nothing can ever improve. This place is a mess.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

My daughter is in Kindergarten at Somerset Elementary and we have been so impressed with her teacher and the quality of the learning instruction she has received. We couldn't have asked for a better teacher, she's superb, or a more desired first learning experience for our daughter. I can't think of one complaint about the wonderful year we've had at the school. We feel very lucky to be part of the Somerset school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

This is a fabulous school! We moved to the neighborhood so that we could send our children here and are very happy with our decision. They have received the personalized instruction that they need. The staff is very communicative and are readily available to provide additional guidance on how we can help our children learn new skills. In addition to the excellent instruction, my children are also get the benefit of a very diverse student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

Love the school. I think the last 4 or so reviews are by the same person. Seems that way. I wonder if they have the correct school? Teachers do not seem fake and appear to be good to the students. I've heard that many parents, like I did, move to this neighborhood just so their child can attend this particular school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

"This place is all about appearances" Absolutely right! The staff is pretentious and cold. Their smiles are wide but fake. No communication between the parents and the teachers. Everything is formal and disorganized. I would not recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

Do not credit the school for the kids' test scores -- the scores are due to outside tutoring. A school that has its own foundation, that can spend $10k/year on mulch (beyond all the free and donated landscaping services), but that can not spring for $2 easy-reader texts for the kindergarten is not a place that prioritizes teaching. This place is all about appearances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2010

This school is no better than an other elementary school in Montgomery county, MD. Its reputation is not justified. The high rating in the educational performance of this school is inflated by the extra help that many of the students there obtain by other private means.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

Somerset Elementary School one of the best in Maryland. I recommend to all parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2006

It is a great school. My two children attend it and they are very happy. Many cultures, many friends, many activities. Teachers are friendly, parents are very active. Good atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2004

I attended Somerset and got a good start there when Sylvia Cohen was principal. I remember having an excellent grounding in spelling and handwriting and learning quite a bit about the animal kingdom, as well as Alaska and Mexico. Some reading problems I had were noticed, but no one told me what to do about them, and I had at least one teacher who was very good for teaching math. She understood, for example, division by fractions, very well, as well as percentages. It was a nice school because virtually all children attending lived in the neighborhood, which was helpful in making friends. I had a great experience with FLES French there with a native speaker. I went on to major in French Literature in college, so you can see how valuable that was to me.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 6%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Black 4% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5811 Warwick Place
Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Phone: (301) 657-4985

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Concord Hill School
Chevy Chase, MD



Oneness Family School
Chevy Chase, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT