Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Little Bennett Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

My daughter started K the 1st year this school opened and we have been very pleased. I have had two kids now get promoted through the school. Great principal, great teachers, great programs and rules. Outstanding elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

We have one son who has been at Little Bennett from 1st through 4th grades and another one entering 1st grade this coming fall. The school has been one of the few things that actually work well in Clarksburg Town Center. The principal is very serious and dedicated, as are the teachers. Any inquiry we have had has been answered promptly and the quality of education is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

Little Bennette is awesome school and have great curriculums. Teachers is very communicative and make thing easier for the students and parents. Compare others county/public school system and could't ask for better place for my family.


Posted November 5, 2012

Little Bennette Elementary school is excellent. The teachers is highly superb. Always keeping in touch / follow up with the parents aboute the student programs or progress. My kid always looking forwards spending his day at school. The principal is awesome and the staffs is just amazing. Always have great curriculums and great programs. I highly recommended for patents who love the children get good starter / foundation for the children future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

The School is EXELENT. The staff are nice to my child, my child never got bullyed, and is always excited to go back to school. The principal is strong in leadership, and the school is clean, so if you are looking for an elementary school that is up to your standards, then stop looking. What you have been searching for is found.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2011

LBES is an incredible school. I have moved around the country multiple times, have had my children in 4 different elementary schools, Little Bennett by far is the best! Incredible committed teachers, great principal in Mr. Miller and wonderful parent involvement. This school is a gem for the community of Clarksburg Town Center.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

This will be my child's third year attending Little Bennett. While I agree with the parent that praises the school's ethnic diversity, what I have always had a problem with is the lack of diversity among the TEACHING staff. There is not one African-American teacher. The assistant principal and the PE teacher are Black though. But for this level of diversity, I have always been surprised that this school has no Black teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

My oldest son started 3rd grade at Little Bennett Elementary School. Now my middle son is entering 2nd grade this coming school year. We have been very happy and greatful that we have such a wonderful staffs and teachers. Everyone is very nice and supportive. Both my son are reading and doing math in advance level. So far our experience at the school has been awesome and I love to go in and volunteer at my son's classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

LBES is an excellent school. My kindergartener has learned so much this year. He has learned to become more responsible as well. Mr. Miller is a very active principal, which keeps the school on track. For the parent who has the bored child- I'm sorry that you feel this way, but you should of had your child placed in first grade if they are beyond the K level. The classes DO offer various levels with reading and they are already learning first grade math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

It is a very good school with decent groupings and work allocations. My son and daughter joined this school from another MCPS school and I can see this school is as good as the other school with more Discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2009

I completely disagree with the parent who gave LBES a relatively low rating. In my opinion, you cannot judge how good/bad the school is by only looking at the kindergarten and I am amazed at the effect of a single opinion negatively affecting the rating of our wonderful school. Yes, LBES is a great school with dedicated teachers and staff, and of course, the principle. Especially, I like the fact that the school is ethnically so diverse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

So far, it has been mixed. In my opinion, the teachers (in kindergarten at least) don't seem to be able to provide challenging work for kids who can already read, write, add and subtract. They do the same repetitive ABC, 123 drills as kids who are just learning these skills, so that is very de-motivating for the kids. I understand that the teachers have a difficult situation because they have such a mix of abilities in the classroom. However, other schools provide better grouping for longer periods to make sure all children are engaged and learning at their proper level. Instead, at LB the smart kids are expected to bring the others up to speed. I hope my child will be less bored in first grade. Otherwise we will have to find a private school. On the positive side, it is a nice building and people are relatively friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

The staff is amazing! I was really surprised by the technology the teachers are using, even at the lower grade levels. It's really Awesome! The school is so diverse and it's so nice to be able to send my child to a school who's population is representative of his community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

I do like this school.I am satisfied with overall administration of this aschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I do think it is excellent. I am very impressed with how much time the teachers spend with each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 35% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 28% 6%
Black 19% 35%
Hispanic 10% 12%
Two or more races 8% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

23930 Burdette Forest Rd
Clarksburg, MD 20871
Phone: (301) 540-5535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



William B. Gibbs Jr.
Germantown, MD





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT