Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pointers Run Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 616 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2013

We were redistricted this year and could not be more pleased! The staff and administration are fantastic and really care about their kids! We love all of the extra activities such as Walking Wednesdays, end of year picnic, family reading night, pizza bingo to mention a few. This is a super school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2013

This school is great! We were redistricted here this year and have been VERY pleased with the Administration (both Mrs. Fila and Mrs. Nimich are great!!) and all of the teachers seem to truly care about the students. My child has been getting extra help in Reading and is doing well. We have been very happy with all the after school activity options offered. (PE Fun, Drama, Cooking Classes, Family Reading Night, Walking Wednesdays etc.) And all the fun programs, specials and activities they add throughout the school year is so enriching to the children's learning. I will say that Howard County, in general, is known for their excellent schools. This being said, there is a high academic emphasis that goes along with that. I would definitely recommend PRES to someone looking for a GREAT Howard County Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

What a wonderful school!!!! This is our first year at Pointer's Run and we love it!!! The involvement by Parents/Teachers is amazing. Our son came from a private school and loves going to PRES. I would recommend this school to anyone considering moving to the Columbia/Clarksville area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

I have been very pleased with Pointers Run ES. They provide an excellent education and have created a wonderful learning enviroment for young children. My experience with the administration has been positive. I think the principal creates this positive atmosphere that enables the rest of the staff to excell at providing a top noch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

Seems good but we are concerned that my daughter is making straight A's ... every grade .. all of them .. every one .. AAAAAAA but ... she was below average on reading skills according to state tests (3rd grade). I feel mislead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

My son is in the 4th grade and I think the teachers are excellent. There is a very positive atmosphere upon walking through the doors and teachers always say 'hello'. I do agree that the principal is reclusive.I can't remember the last time I saw her but she must be doing something right...the students are submerged in a rich,learning atmosphere.I loved his 1st grade teacher and his current teachers are very caring and hard working. We're lucky to live so close to this school and I'm proud to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

This to me is one of the best schools I have been to in a very long time. The students love to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

This was our 1st yr. at PRES. It is a large, well laid out school with plenty of staff. The teachers are nicely in-tuned to the children's needs and abilities. The parent involvement is very high. The PTA does a wonderful job all year long. The downside falls on the administration. They need to learn the student's names. They should be at the door greeting the children as they walk in the door. The principal doesn't know most of the staff or the students. She is not personable or even friendly. She isn't mean. She just isn't much of anything. It is a shame. I do recommend this school because most of the teachers are quite good and they have plenty of assistants to help make sure everything gets done in a timely manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
99%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 23% 6%
Black 8% 35%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6600 Trotter Rd
Clarksville, MD 21029
Phone: (410) 313-7142

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Louis School
Clarksville, MD







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT