Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clinton Grove Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 369 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2013

I had been a student at Clinton Grove for 5 years and I must say,the school is 50/50 for me.Your kids probably won't be bullied there unless there is a given reason.The staffs are more friendly then you think.At the end of the day,they indeed do really care about us and I really appreciate it.It takes time to get used to the environment but if you get on good terms with the staff of CG then you're on the right path.Some teachers helped me with getting connections for my passion such as writing.A lot of teachers go a long way for the kids,the school is old and may look deary and old.But my,it holds a bunch future nation leaders.You can't judge a book by it's cover and the quote certainly goes with this school.


Posted May 7, 2013

I am very unhappy with this school and the only reason why I won't transfer my son is because he has created a lot of friends. The school sends most documents last minute or with very little notice. By the time my daughter is ready for school, I will be enrolling her in a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

I am very dissapointed in Clinto Grove . The facility is aged, dimly lit, uncheerful, gives the appearance of being diry. The bathrooms never have enogh soap and paper towels. Our children deserve some much more than what they are getting right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

Even though I am moving away, I still think Clinton Grove is a very nice school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2007

I had 3 children attend Clinton Grove. 1 is now in middle school and the other 2 remain. This school is extremely unorganized and the student teacher ratio is down right ridiculous.(extremely over crowded) My daughter went on to 7th grade without knowing how to write in cursive. This school can stand to improve in every area. There are too many kids to 1 teacher, causing the teacher not to focus on each individual child. This will be our last year in the area......like the area, can't stand the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

This is my son's first and last year attending this school. I find the administration staff unconcern regarding the childeren growth and learning. My son attended a private school (Kindergarden)last year were he was on a 3rd grade reading level and a 2nd grade math after attending this school for 6 months, he has become lazy and not interested in learning. I have sent message after message to his teach so we could discuss and evaluate this problem and have not gotten a response yet! So, I guess I will have to take off my job and go up to the school in order to resolve this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

3 of my children attended this school and this year I feel the school has improved a great deal as for having enough teachers and parents to assist the children in their assignments and the program is getting better. I do feel like this school needs top get a gym and start having sport activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2005

My son has attended clinton grove since second grade he is now in the sixth grade. Nevertheless, i am most distraught at how the discipline levels have drop drastically. When mrs. Greenburg was principal, (unfortunately she retired over two years ago). She kept the kids in order and maintained discipline in the school. One of the school's main focus was on peace. She was very adamant about keeping peace in the the school. At the entrance of the school there was a sign posted as to the number of days of peace since the start of the school year. Each year the peace days became higher and higher. I thought this was a wonderful idea. Once again, the 2004-2005 school year has brought us a new principal, vice principal, various new staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
41%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2014.

47 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 84% 35%
Hispanic 8% 12%
White 4% 42%
Two or more races 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9420 Temple Hill Rd
Clinton, MD 20735
Phone: (301) 599-2414

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Tayac Elementary School
Fort Washington, MD


Hopewell Academy
Clinton, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT