Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Warren Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 403 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 13, 2013

Warren elementary school is going down after the new principal stepped in. She doesn't have love with children at all, she just takes the principal position as a job, that's it!!! Also she has two faces, be careful!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

My daughter was there last year and she loved the school. The teachers were great and the office staff was terrific. My daughter was a straight A student, but I wish there was a more challenging curriculum available. She was in GT. The US Educational system is poor at best, so I can t just blame the school. Some parents were involved and the PTA did a good job. Maybe because of the many diverse cultural backgrounds explains the sometimes lacking parental involvement. I hope my daughter's experience in Cockeysville Middle is at least as good as Warren. It really is what you make of it and how you help your child shape their values and habits with your parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

I wish that there were a way to give zero stars, but I'll have to settle for one. This school is a nightmare if your child needs anything other than the accepted educational standards. There is absolutely NOTHING to be offered to the gifted child at school, despite the fact that they insist that they have a "GT" program. This school also is the only school in the area that offers no extra-cirricular activities, so if you need before or after school care, your child will be sitting around with nothing to do - the environment is so chaotic that they can't even do their homework. I am moving my family just to get away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

I love Warren because they pull the teachers, parents, students and whole community together to emphasis the importance of a quality education. My son who is the first grade is learning foreign currency. I couldn't believe it. I feel my son is getting a private school education in a public school. I am also impressed how fast my son is learning to read. His vocabulary has expanded so fast is such a short period of time. The principal and faculty are always so friendly and seemed to love teaching. The environment at Warren is so positive. I couldn't ask for anything more as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

I have three wonderful children, all elementary age, as a family we spent one year here, due to the difficulty in working with three different grades, this school was incredibly!, we still miss this place! my children still as i do will always remember our learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

I am a student at this school and i wanted to say that this school is the BEST! It has the Best techers and an awesome Principal. We learn fun things and also have a great BAND and ORCHASTRA and our intrumental music techer is so nice and funny and really helps you learn. This school is the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2005

I have 3 children, all of whom have attended Warren. They have had some remarkable teachers, and an amazing principal who really cares about the school and the children. The parents are all hands on. The school is like an extended family. The teachers and faculty always go above and beyond the call of duty. You need to be a part of your children's educational process. Get involved! Be and advocate for your school and child. The core classes have been exceptional. You can only do so much when you are limited with the amount of teachers at each school. Warren will soon start their full day kindergarten. Kudos to Warren! I am proud to be a part of the school family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2003

I have a special needs child at Warren, and I can't say enough about this school. The teachers my child has had thus far have all been wonderful. Everyone works together as a team and each child is made to feel special. My child's social and academic skills have developed so much during the past school year. As a parent who is actively involved in her child's education, I can tell you that Warren is an excellent school. When I see the children going into the building with smiles on their faces each morning, and the rapport between teacher and child, there is no other school I'd rather have my child attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 43%
Black 35% 36%
Asian 9% 6%
Hispanic 9% 12%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 Bosley Rd
Cockeysville, MD 21030
Phone: (410) 887-7665

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Epworth Childrens Center
Cockeysville, MD


Villa Maria School at St. Vincent's
Lutherville-Timonium, MD





St. Joseph's School
Cockeysville, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT