Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Paint Branch Elementary School 5

Posted August 24, 2015
- a parent
Our child was in kindergarten last year and we had a wonderful experience. The new partial Chinese immersion program is remarkable and we are so glad that it will be extended to 1st grade as well. Most importantly, our kid can speak mandarin and understand quite a lot! Class sizes are great (~18-20) and having two teachers per class(English + Chinese) is just wonderful. The schools infrastructure is quite old and the city should invest more on schools within the neighborhood to give a new look. Also, with more revenue generating from new developments around college park should definitely help the schools infrastructure. The University of Maryland president is expecting the staff and faculty to move closer to campus and we really expect the University to chime in and give a facelift to Paint Branch Elementary, because, great school in a neighborhood is the sweetest honey nectar and bees start flocking automatically. All said, we love the school and hope the administration and teachers will keep up their great work and make it a great school.

Paint Branch Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
Paint Branch has failed my expectations from the very beginning of my child's kindergarten year ( currently in 2nd grade). Teachers are rude, lazy, unorganized and unqualified! Don't expect any form if communication or any respect for being a concerned parent. Current Principal is on the same level as the faculty...could care less about your concerns, makes derogatory statements "I know what's best for your child" & fails to properly follow-up/correct his staff on their mistakes and unprofessionalism. Take a look at their failing reading/math scores...Paint Branch is just another poor example of where our tax money shouldn't go & gives more reasons to homeschool!


Paint Branch Elementary School 1

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
This school is one of the worst schools, that my kids had ever attended. There isn't really much that I liked about it. The kids are not properly supervised at arrival or dismissal. The teachers are not visible when the kids arrive, I really think that they should stand at their doors. There is not much organization with this school. The teachers seem like they really do not care to be there. They need new doors the school is so old. The location of the school is not good. There is to much traffic as far as walking trails, community center and doors that can't be lock due to fire hazard. The lunch menu isn't good and the cafeteria staff is so ghetto. I think they just need more staff that cares and need they to be more involved.

Paint Branch Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2011
- a parent
This school by a principal who aims high for student success. All signs are present that the students are learning and enjoy what they learn. Teachers engage their students and inappropriate behavior is at an all time low. My child enjoys school and I visit the classroom unannounced from time to time and like what I see. As a parent who was about to give up on the school system and home-school, this school's innovative ways changed my mind. I too love this school environment for my child. Thanks Paint Branch!!!!

Paint Branch Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2010
- a parent
Test scores continue to go up. Faculty is very stable and has a strong partnership with the University of Maryland. Parental involvement in school activities are at all time high.


Paint Branch Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
Because the principal is a very good leader, he find other ways to teach, with trips to other countries with the best students, parents and staff and this travels open the mind and the way to see the world of all of us, there are a lot of needs, books, but the money in the hands of a good leader, make it very useful, thank you.

Paint Branch Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
This school was on track to offering students a variety of opportunities for a 'whole-child' development until the new principal showed up and with his micro-management took away all that was good about the school, set up his own agenda and shows no support for excellence and innovative thinking.

Paint Branch Elementary School 4

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
The teachers at this school are very focused on the education of children. The adminisration of this school has tried to put many new things in place only to be shot down by a handful of digruntled parents (who were used to running the school with the old quasi-administrator) and not supported by central office staff. I think that this is a great school and has a potential for more if this small group of parents with their own personal agendas would let the principal and staff do their jobs.


Paint Branch Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
Most teachers at this school are entry-level teachers (lack of teaching experience). Class rooms are getiing crowded. My child's teacher does not care much about teaching her students. She is lazy and absent many times. This school used to be OK but not anymore.

Paint Branch Elementary School 2

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
The principal and most of the teachers are focused on bringing the very large English as a Second Language students to a point where they can perform adequately on the SOL tests. If your child is average or above this school has little to offer. Active participation in the PTA is pitifully small.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paint Branch Elementary School
5101 Pierce Ave, College Park, MD  20740
(301) 513-5300
Last modified Paint Branch Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Paint Branch Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top