Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
College Park, MD
Students enrolled: 405
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Paint Branch Elementary School 1

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
This school is one of the worst schools, that my kids had ever attended. There isn't really much that I liked about it. The kids are not properly supervised at arrival or dismissal. The teachers are not visible when the kids arrive, I really think that they should stand at their doors. There is not much organization with this school. The teachers seem like they really do not care to be there. They need new doors the school is so old. The location of the school is not good. There is to much traffic as far as walking trails, community center and doors that can't be lock due to fire hazard. The lunch menu isn't good and the cafeteria staff is so ghetto. I think they just need more staff that cares and need they to be more involved.

Paint Branch Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2011
- a parent
This school by a principal who aims high for student success. All signs are present that the students are learning and enjoy what they learn. Teachers engage their students and inappropriate behavior is at an all time low. My child enjoys school and I visit the classroom unannounced from time to time and like what I see. As a parent who was about to give up on the school system and home-school, this school's innovative ways changed my mind. I too love this school environment for my child. Thanks Paint Branch!!!!


Paint Branch Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2010
- a parent
Test scores continue to go up. Faculty is very stable and has a strong partnership with the University of Maryland. Parental involvement in school activities are at all time high.

Paint Branch Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
Because the principal is a very good leader, he find other ways to teach, with trips to other countries with the best students, parents and staff and this travels open the mind and the way to see the world of all of us, there are a lot of needs, books, but the money in the hands of a good leader, make it very useful, thank you.

Paint Branch Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
This school was on track to offering students a variety of opportunities for a 'whole-child' development until the new principal showed up and with his micro-management took away all that was good about the school, set up his own agenda and shows no support for excellence and innovative thinking.


Paint Branch Elementary School 4

Posted June 29, 2009
- a parent
The teachers at this school are very focused on the education of children. The adminisration of this school has tried to put many new things in place only to be shot down by a handful of digruntled parents (who were used to running the school with the old quasi-administrator) and not supported by central office staff. I think that this is a great school and has a potential for more if this small group of parents with their own personal agendas would let the principal and staff do their jobs.

Paint Branch Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
Most teachers at this school are entry-level teachers (lack of teaching experience). Class rooms are getiing crowded. My child's teacher does not care much about teaching her students. She is lazy and absent many times. This school used to be OK but not anymore.

Paint Branch Elementary School 2

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
The principal and most of the teachers are focused on bringing the very large English as a Second Language students to a point where they can perform adequately on the SOL tests. If your child is average or above this school has little to offer. Active participation in the PTA is pitifully small.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Paint Branch Elementary School
5101 Pierce Ave, College Park, MD  20740
(301) 513-5300
Last modified Paint Branch Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Paint Branch Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top