Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Friends Community School

Private | K-8 | 211 students

We are best known for progressive Quaker education.

 
 

Living in College Park

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted September 29, 2010

As the Director of Admissions and Outreach at FCS, I would like to correct the erroneous categorical statement attributed to the director of admissions in the posting of July 12, 2010, and affirm the related statement in the posting of August 4, 2010. (It appears that the entire July 12 posting may refer to a situation of several years ago, before my time in this position.) FCS embraces students with a range of learning styles, and in so doing we are able to serve students with mild learning differences (as well as students with advanced abilities). However, we cannot accommodate students with substantial learning differences who need specialized services across the curriculum. Our teachers are excellent and well-qualified, but they do not have the credentials required for teaching students with special needs. I welcome inquiries, and urge all to attend one of our Open Houses, dates and times to be found on our website, www.friendscommunityschool.org. Connie Belfiore Director of Admissions and Outreach Friends Community School Connie@friendscommunityschool.org 301-441-2100 x129

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2014

Our daughter has attended Friends Community School (FCS) since kindergarden. We could not be more happy with the environment the school provides. She is being challenged academically, is learning to work collaboratively with other children, and is developing a sense of responsibility to care for the environment and make the world a better place. We value the school's richly diverse student body (reflecting diversity's many dimensions) and their extremely nice parents (it's sort of a chicken and the egg to figure out what came first nice parents or nice kids and how that relates to the school's magical ability to attract parents whose occupations and volunterism reflect the Quaker values of simplicity, peace, integrity, community, equality, and stewardship). We also appreciate the school's zero tolerance for bullying. FCS is selective and not everyone who has the money and applies can get in. There is, however, modest financial aid (up to half off) for those who do get in but cannot afford the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

After completing a tour of the school, I was extremely impress with its philosophy; administration; and small class sizes. Weeks after the decision deadline,I received an outdated template with the incorrect date, spacing and foreign characters; stating the applicant was on the wait list.3 days later I discovered the school was still recruiting for this program.I immediately called the school and determined it was a mistake.Weeks later I realized the website had the same information. After calling the school head,I was finally informed that she did not get accepted into the school.The reason for this review is to simply inform applicants/parents-if you do not meet a certain criteria or do not appear to be the perfect fit , you will not be accepted. The criterion is not related to education which should be an important evaluation tool.Although the school suggests it supports diversity;equality; respect; and integrity-failure to disclose truthful information to any applicant does not uphold these values the school so proudly promote! If you are a prospective parent and meet the predetermined criteria-you shouldn t encounter any problem; however, for those who do not, please beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Update on some of the comments made previously. As a parent who is known to throw temper tantrums when the school isn't doing what I feel they should be, I have looked at MANY schools for points of comparison. Guess what? We're still here. FCS has been on a continuum learning to balance their kind, open and understanding approach to kids with one of discipline. I can tell you first hand that this school year has shown DRAMATIC progress in this area, and discipline is much more effective. The school has put in place more formal guidelines for what is and isn't acceptable, and for what is expected of teachers in their treatment of kids who misbehave. The results are extremely noticeable. Also, with this year's addition of specific lower and middle school heads, FCS has had marked success in defining and enforcing expectations overall. Come visit...ask the "hard questions." You won't be disappointed. And you absolutely will not find a more kind, open, accepting, safe and challenging school in the county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

I have to distinctly disagree with the recent posts about bullying and lack of inclusiveness. I have two children at FCS, both of whom are thriving. I do understand the dynamics that the posters are referencing. A few of the classes seem to have a large number of very strong personalities, and because FCS is a small school the strong personalities can take some time and effort to balance. This is true of any small school, in my experience. However, FCS is markedly low on the human behaviors that I have seen everywhere in my life that would qualify as bullying or aggressive behavior. One of my children was bullied in another school; at FCS that same child has felt included from the very beginning. I have spent time working on projects with the students at FCS myself, including some of the students that anyone could plainly see have more dominant personalities. I have found them all to be accessible, good-hearted, and enthusiastic about their schoolwork. Given that this is accomplished in a school environment that grants all the students far more independence than many traditional schools, I find it to be a wonderful teaching model for skills that will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

I just ended my 7th grade year at FCS today and i feel so lucky to be going to such an amazing school. I began here in 2nd grade. Of course there are a couple teachers here and there with whom my learning style doesn't work so well, but my adviser/homeroom teacher is happy to help me in any way. The kids are so accepting and teachers feel like friends rather than teachers. This is the perfect school for me, and when my sibling was having some issues at school, they were willing to bend over backwards to help her and supported me so much just when I needed it. The academics program is wonderful. Pre-algebra was easy for me, so I got extra, harder work and I helped other kids. The teachers have prepared so many ways to accommodate learning styles in one class. I love the meeting partners program too, and how I'm allowed to read to the Kindergarteners at their lunchtime! They're adding a lot on to the school between this year and next---a stage, lockers for MS, new art room and LS science lab. I'm really excited for next year and sad it's summer...


Posted May 21, 2012

We witnessed this as well. Our child attended a trial day here and came back home complaining that a few kids simply dominated the class, walking around, shouting out, talking during classtime, interrupting, and the worst thing is that the teacher didn't succeed in doing a thing to stop it, like this is a normal occurrence. My child is normally pretty social but felt belittled and disrespected by the other students.


Posted April 29, 2012

Re: the november 22 comment. There isn't much in terms of physical bullying at fcs -- but i have to agree that the rough, loud kids do have control of the school. The problem is that there really is no repercussion for misbehavior in class. For instance, lets say a boys acts up and hits someone. He won't be punished... the whole class instead will be forced to stay inside for recess. The boy learns only that he will not be held responsible for his actions... and the other kids learn that they may as well misbehave too, what do they have to lose? So classes often start out with only a few bad apples, but within a few months the rudeness and aggressiveness have spread to the whole class. We've been lucky to have been in a class without any such problems, but we've seen other classes in the school suffer because the school refuses to do anything about disrespectful or disruptive behavior. I know several other parents who are leaving because of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2011

I feel compelled to respond to the parent posting of November 22, to address the statement that mean kids run roughshod over the more timid kids. We have a child with learning differences and have felt nothing but acceptance from the teachers, administrative staff and students. We see no evidence of exclusion, bullying or mean spiritedness from the students at FCS. I can't help but wonder if this parent tried to work out their differences with the teachers and staff . I wish them the best in their new school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

This school has so much potential but it never quite lives up to its lofty goals. While it deems itself as green, the kids hardly ever go outside for any time with nature (despite it being right next to Greenbelt National Forest). It claims to handle conflict resolution well, yet in many classes, the mean girls (and boys) run roughshod over the more timid kids, and our teacher didn't notice or care or do much about it. We left last year, so can't speak to the recent personnel changes, so maybe they are trying to improve things. There are some great teachers here, but overall, things could be better if they actually were as respectful, inclusive, progressive, and as green as they think they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

We are finishing eight great years at FCS and can testify that the school is both academically challenging and socially engaging. Students are taught the Quaker values of conflict resolution from first grade, and the academic environment thrives with a student focused education, instead of the teacher focused education found in local public schools. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

Our son is in his second year at FCS. We are very pleased with the atmosphere, staff professionalism, progressive teaching and individualized instruction that our son has received. This school is dedicated to celebrating each person as they are and helping them to reach their full potential. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

We are new to FCS this year, but feel like we have finally found a home, with integrity, true diversity, and an emphasis on ethics and values over the bells and whistles. We'll weigh in more as the year goes on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

Our children have attended FCS for 8 years now and we believe they have gotten an excellent education. The school is able to focus on meeting children where they are (academically) and urging them to reach new heights. We love the emphasis on Quaker values such as simplicity, integrity, peace and community. We know our children's friends and families very well and cherish the years we have spent at Friends Community School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

We are nearing the end of our 5th year at FCS. We have two children in the school and are very happy with it. It offers a well-rounded education for the whole human being, with a minimum of testing. It emphasizes cooperation over competition. The teachers and staff are very keen on helping each child achieve his/her potential in a positive, values-based way. The arts are given significant weight; concepts learned in the classroom are reinforced through projects, presentations and field trips; and responsibility for the earth is emphasized. While a brilliant child who is working several grades above his or her age level may not find the curriculum demanding enough, for the majority of children, this is a great school. The current head of school is such a blessing compared to the individual he replaced, and teachers seem genuinely happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

Quaker values are an important part of FCS, which really gives children a supportive and loving community to grow in. My child is in her 6th year at the school and has thrived there. All her teachers have been excellent. The school has a strong focus on experiential learning including many field trips and service projects and the academics are exciting. The kids often work together and an atmosphere of cooperation rather than competition is fostered. If you are looking for a place for your child to learn rather than constantly be assessed with standardized tests, where children are known and valued as unique individuals, you should be looking at FCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

The school has greatly benefited from the addition of a strong head of school in the last 2 years. While there were some issues with turnover during the transition to a new head, the staff has stabilized and are doing a wonderful job. I have had two children there for the last 3 years and they are progressing well in all areas. The small classrooms allow the teachers to accommodate a wide variety of learning styles including some special needs but they are not specifically a special needs school. They do encourage parents to participate in the classroom particularly at younger ages. I found this very helpful.there,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2010

It would be difficult to rate this school as "great" because there is such a wide discrepancy in teaching qualifications and aptitude from classroom to classroom. There have been many transitions in the first/second grade classrooms over the last several years, a grade level that needs confident and well-qualified teachers. There have been so many staff changes over the last 3-5 years, and it seems that many of the veteran teachers left and the school has had trouble filling vacancies, resorting to hiring a large percentage of parents as teachers. The school probably works well for easy going, bright students whose parents just want them to be happy, but when the director of admissions says that they are unable to accommodate students who need extra attention due to learning differences, as she did to us, she means it categorically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Both of my children have always been very happy at FCS. They have been there since kindergarten and are now in 5th and 3rd grades. They have always loved their teachers and they have thrived at the school. The Head is fabulous as are the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

We are very pleased with our Kindergartener's experience at FCS. It is such a nuturing school and we love the small class sizes. We are very confident our child will flourish here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

We have two children at this school and have been here ..this is our 5th year. This school is unbelievable - an amazing education delivered in a manner that ensures children develop confidence in their capacity to learn. The teachers and administration it top notch -- all this and a progressive environment with a diverse population. The kids all treat each other with enormous respect. You can't beat the critical thinking and writing skills at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Black 20% 35%
Two or more races 17% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Larry Clements, Head of School
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Friends
Associations
  • FCE
Fax number
  • (301) 441-2105

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • multiple sports in P.E.
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • multiple sports in P.E.

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Center for Young Children
Greenwood School

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Sidwell & Sandy Spring Friends
Field, Burke, St. Anselm's
Eleanor Roosevelt
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5901 Westchester Park Drive
College Park, MD 20740
Website: Click here
Phone: (301) 441-2100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Holy Redeemer School
College Park, MD


Berwyn Christian School
College Park, MD


Lamont Elementary School
New Carrollton, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT