Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Atholton High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2014

Easy transition, friendly kids, safe environment, plenty of opportunities to find your niche in sports and clubs. We are a military family that has moved often and atholton did not disappoint. Worth the higher housing costs! Your kids will have a good education and easily fit in with welcoming admin & parents. Diverse, articulate, kind, fun student body. It's been two years, one child entered as a freshman and the other a junior, two different personalities and interests, great choice for both.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I currently have one child who is a senior at Atholton. Most of the GT and AP classes are fast paced and they expect the students to come to class knowing most of the material and all of the basics. It's not just Atholton, but prevalent among all the schools, through all the grades, that the focus is on testing and on teaching. The kids are expected to learn at home with the parents, that is why parent participation is so emphasized. The JROTC program is one of the better programs in the county. However, in many instances, it is very disorganized. Although the seargents and colonel are exemplary people, they tend to reward the outstanding performers and leave the rest alone as long as they don't make waves. Their sports program was very disappointing. I wanted my child to to join a team to learn the sport and to feel a sense of belonging but instead, they only chose the "outstanding" player. They are worse than the professional teams. The coaches only showed interest and inclusion for those they deemed are or will be stars. I must agree with some of the others in that there are many lazy teachers, (I use the term loosely). But some are actually excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

I have two daughters currently attending Atholton. Both are very smart, taking full loads of GT and AP classes. Unfortunately, the teachers don't seem to keep up their end of the job. Oldest daughter was very excited to take (GT) biology and chemistry, but teachers who only read their slides every day and don't know how to explain things just totally ruined her on science. Her math classes haven't been much better. Some of the teachers must be better, but why would the GT and AP classes have such bad teachers? I hope my younger one has better luck. But AHS and the teachers should be ashamed at the poor quality teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

The school has a diverse group of students that come from various econonmic backrounds. It is made up of good families who care for their childs education. It has active parent groups. Students are non judgmental, caring and driven without the the bias we may see in other schools. It is a comfortable environment that promotes education and well rounded students. People feel at home no matter who they are. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2013

terrible school with a biased and lazy administration and guidance staff. Teacher tend not to give students their full effort. If you are a student at this school, you will be judged on your looks and race.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

I have had 2 children graduate recently from AHS. Reading the other reviews I agree the school may overstress sports, but the students have alot of school spirit and parent are very involved! Both my children were accepted into very a very respectable university and were academically prepared to meet the challenge. They both have very fond memories of their high school years, and so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

The principal and staff are exceptional. Fantastic kids overall. I volunteer to be a hall monitor and I am always surprised at how well-behaved the kids at this school are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

I was a student at Atholton High School for a good period of time. I am now in the U.S. Army as a Cadet training to earn my 2nd Lieutenant Rank. The JROTC program at Atholton made me who I am today. My success in life was all thanks to Atholton High School
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

This is a Great high school! political correctness is at the bottom where it belongs and High Academics, Honor and straight forwardness are at the top, where it should always be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

I'm a sophomore at AHS and I love it. The principal, Ms. leonard, is amazing. She's very hands on, and knows a lot of what's going on. Not much gets past her, and she's very good at handing students. Anyone who doesn't like her is just bitter because she caught them at something. As for teachers, it's about even good v. bad v. neither, like any school. You're not going to find a school with all good teachers, so whatever. It's smallish, easy to navigate, and there are no big problems. Little harassment that I see, a nice community, and the drug problem isn't on campus, unlike what we hear about other schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2007

I am a current senior at AHS. I'd say that it's above the average in just about every area as far as academics and activities go, especially the music & drama departments. Most of the athletics programs are strong, there have been varied state championships recently. The building itself is old and overcrowded, and needs a renovation on the soon side. There is also a big gap between the student population (the majority of which are white and affluent, even though they may not know it) and the real world. I'm in mostly AP courses and my teachers are all excellent at what they do, but I get the impression from my friends in lower level classes that it can be luck of the draw. The parent boosters programs stay involved at the school, and the administration does what they do without any big problems. I feel lucky to go here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

this school is not a good school. it is very un organized. the way they arrange things is terrible.they put to much stress on the students who attend this school.they are way too focused on there sports team and school spirt.this school needs to come up with more easyer ways for the students to have fun
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

Parents feel that it is a great school but it is not. There are few, to no good teachers. The school is to focused on its sports teams to worry about its academics. The school itself is rather dingy and dirty. It needs to be renovated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 1, 2007

great athletics, drama, and band... but nothing else. hardly any outlet for artistic students, insufficient racial diversity, and very few solid teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2005

I am a parent of a student who currently attends Atholton High School. I have to say that the JROTC program run by Colonel McGrory is excellent! Although she is having some trouble in her studies, JROTC is helping her to be accountable and is helping her self esteem as well. Kudos to Atholton High and Colonel McGrory and Sargeant Searcy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2005

Atholton High School is THE Best in the county!!! The JROTC program run by the great and wonderful Colonel McGrory and Sargeant Searcy is by far the best! My child attends Atholton and has improved in self esteem. This school is on the ball people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

I attended Atholton High School for the entire 4 years. I cannot tell you how much this school has positively affected me during my quest to receive a higher education. They definitely prepared me with the tools to succeed in college and my adult life. This age group needs caring adults to help mold youths into productive society members...THANKS TO YOU ALL!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 15, 2004

The thrid of my three children is presently attending Atholton. The school has provided a great environment for each of my children. The principal, Ms. Connie Lewis, is great. She creates an inviting atmosphere while maintaining expectations about behavior and performance. She really knows the kids. The GT program is very good. Two of my sons benifited from it (one is now at Brandeis U, the other in still at AHS). My other son has a learning disability and he received great support. Went to the community college almost entirely on grants and is now at Towson U. The Music program is excellent. The band, orchestra, and choral group all have been outstanding over the 6 years we have been in the school. We are pleased with this school and recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra

The state average for Algebra was 84% in 2013.

355 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 83% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
English II

The state average for English II was 83% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland High School Assessments (HSA) to test students in English 2, Algebra, and Biology upon completion of each course. The HSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. Students are required to pass the tests in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Black 17% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 6%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6520 Freetown Rd
Columbia, MD 21044
Phone: (410) 313-7065

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hammond High School
Columbia, MD




Homewood School
Ellicott City, MD


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT