Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Columbia, MD
Students enrolled: 1,487

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Atholton High School 5

Posted May 17, 2014
- a parent
Easy transition, friendly kids, safe environment, plenty of opportunities to find your niche in sports and clubs. We are a military family that has moved often and atholton did not disappoint. Worth the higher housing costs! Your kids will have a good education and easily fit in with welcoming admin & parents. Diverse, articulate, kind, fun student body. It's been two years, one child entered as a freshman and the other a junior, two different personalities and interests, great choice for both.
1 person found this helpful

Atholton High School 4

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
I currently have one child who is a senior at Atholton. Most of the GT and AP classes are fast paced and they expect the students to come to class knowing most of the material and all of the basics. It's not just Atholton, but prevalent among all the schools, through all the grades, that the focus is on testing and on teaching. The kids are expected to learn at home with the parents, that is why parent participation is so emphasized. The JROTC program is one of the better programs in the county. However, in many instances, it is very disorganized. Although the seargents and colonel are exemplary people, they tend to reward the outstanding performers and leave the rest alone as long as they don't make waves. Their sports program was very disappointing. I wanted my child to to join a team to learn the sport and to feel a sense of belonging but instead, they only chose the "outstanding" player. They are worse than the professional teams. The coaches only showed interest and inclusion for those they deemed are or will be stars. I must agree with some of the others in that there are many lazy teachers, (I use the term loosely). But some are actually excellent!


Atholton High School 3

Posted September 22, 2013
- a parent
I have two daughters currently attending Atholton. Both are very smart, taking full loads of GT and AP classes. Unfortunately, the teachers don't seem to keep up their end of the job. Oldest daughter was very excited to take (GT) biology and chemistry, but teachers who only read their slides every day and don't know how to explain things just totally ruined her on science. Her math classes haven't been much better. Some of the teachers must be better, but why would the GT and AP classes have such bad teachers? I hope my younger one has better luck. But AHS and the teachers should be ashamed at the poor quality teaching.

Atholton High School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
The school has a diverse group of students that come from various econonmic backrounds. It is made up of good families who care for their childs education. It has active parent groups. Students are non judgmental, caring and driven without the the bias we may see in other schools. It is a comfortable environment that promotes education and well rounded students. People feel at home no matter who they are. Great school.

Atholton High School 1

Posted March 24, 2013
- a parent
terrible school with a biased and lazy administration and guidance staff. Teacher tend not to give students their full effort. If you are a student at this school, you will be judged on your looks and race.


Atholton High School 5

Posted May 21, 2012
- a parent
I have had 2 children graduate recently from AHS. Reading the other reviews I agree the school may overstress sports, but the students have alot of school spirit and parent are very involved! Both my children were accepted into very a very respectable university and were academically prepared to meet the challenge. They both have very fond memories of their high school years, and so do I.

Atholton High School 5

Posted November 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Atholton High School 5

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
The principal and staff are exceptional. Fantastic kids overall. I volunteer to be a hall monitor and I am always surprised at how well-behaved the kids at this school are.


Atholton High School 5

Posted July 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Atholton High School 3

Posted May 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Atholton High School
6520 Freetown Rd, Columbia, MD  21044
(410) 313-7065
Last modified Atholton High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Atholton High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top