Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hammond High School 5

Posted July 27, 2016
- a parent
Spent four years here, and although the facility is on the older side I met some of the most dedicated teachers of my career as a student. School is what you make it, and this particular school and a handful of exceptional teachers certainly prepared me for college as an engineering student at Virginia Tech. Apply yourself, and you will be fine...regardless of the institution.

Hammond High School 5

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
Principal Leonard is amazing and so are many of the teachers my student has had. Dedicated, kind, flexible and understanding. Students are respectful and the clubs and athletics have been inclusive. We've had a great experience so far and look forward to the future.


Hammond High School 5

Posted March 15, 2016
- a community member
Hammond is a really good school. They really work hard to try to work hard to make me feel special. Its really hard not to feel special there. You'll feel at home. Good list of after-school clubs, sports life and the undeniable school pride that we are known for!!:) Go Hammond Bears :)

Hammond High School 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The school administration and staff are generally VERY helpful and responsive. The strong leadership of Ms. Leonard and many others there has had a great effect on this school. Nearly all the teachers help the students outside of class, and the number of extracurricular activities supported by the teachers is phenomenal. There is Homework Club and several other support programs, as well as tutoring provided by honor society students. The parent involvement is strong: the PTSA, Boosters, Music Boosters, and other organizations/volunteers put in hours and raise funds to keep the numerous activities going. The students show all of this in their school involvement: as only one example, the students get truly excited about Spirit Week (before Homecoming). The diversity of the student body is a plus. I have not looked to the test scores lately but can say my neighbors' families and my family's experiences with this school have been very positive.

Hammond High School 4

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
Any school is better then Howard High. I find the teacher at Hammond willing to work with the students after school to make sure they pass.


Hammond High School 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a community member
It has fights and drama, the teachers don't care about you the students are bullies there's crowded hallways and people can't mind their own business or mind their manners. There only a few good teachers. Other then that my two years at Hammond High were horrible

Hammond High School 2

Posted April 07, 2013
- a teacher
Good teachers, but lack of administrative control - student behavior and hence learning in many classes is poor. Too much emphasis on athletics rather than scholarship

Hammond High School 5

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
My child graduated from Hammond in 2012 and received a 4 year academic scholarship for college. The school has a lot of support for students identified with learning disabilities and the Ms. Leonard is awesome...very involved in all school related activities


Hammond High School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
My son did better in that school than in his new school he got A's and B's now he has E's and F's

Hammond High School 4

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
Because, even in all the chaos, there are people. People that are honest, loyal, and have good honest values that this poor world seems to be lacking as of late.

Nearby schools

Hammond High School
8800 Guilford Rd, Columbia, MD  21046
(410) 313-7615
Last modified Hammond High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top