Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


47 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hammond High School 1

Posted November 05, 2014
- a community member
It has fights and drama, the teachers don't care about you the students are bullies there's crowded hallways and people can't mind their own business or mind their manners. There only a few good teachers. Other then that my two years at Hammond High were horrible

Hammond High School 2

Posted April 07, 2013
- a teacher
Good teachers, but lack of administrative control - student behavior and hence learning in many classes is poor. Too much emphasis on athletics rather than scholarship


Hammond High School 5

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
My child graduated from Hammond in 2012 and received a 4 year academic scholarship for college. The school has a lot of support for students identified with learning disabilities and the Ms. Leonard is awesome...very involved in all school related activities

Hammond High School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
My son did better in that school than in his new school he got A's and B's now he has E's and F's

Hammond High School 4

Posted October 09, 2010
- a community member
Because, even in all the chaos, there are people. People that are honest, loyal, and have good honest values that this poor world seems to be lacking as of late.


Hammond High School 4

Posted September 27, 2010
- a parent
Due to a retirement, Hammond High has recently (summer '10) acquired a new principal, Marcia Leonard. She is experienced, and comes to us from another nearby high school that now rates a 10 on this site. Many in the community credit her leadership as a key to the improvements there. Her arrival and first actions seem to have sparked a very positive energy at Hammond among students, faculty and parents. She has certainly impressed the parents in the interactions we have had so far. She is dynamic and positive, yet grounded with real life experience. As a parent, I think parent involvement could be greater than it has been, but suspect it is about to increase substantially.

Hammond High School 4

Posted March 28, 2010
- a student
I am a class of 2010 senior, have gone to hammond all four years, and i have really liked it there! all the teachers enjoy their jobs and are there to help and stay after school if a student needs help with something. The school isnt too big or too small so it is IMPOSSIBLE to get lost and the classes are the same. if you are just moving to the area and want your child to fit in hammond is that place. hammond is so diverse and cultural that newcomers are always welcomed and never shunned because we welcome every kind of background. Im picking my colleges and things and I feel like hammond has prepared me to go to college :)

Hammond High School 3

Posted March 12, 2010
- a student
Hammond has great teachers that are dedicated to keep their students engaged and challenged. Unfortunately the majority of the student body are kids that are rude, disrespectful, and immature. The reason why the school is not the best is simply because of the students and lack of parent involvement, not the teachers. As for the administrators, I'm not sure there doing an effective job to reduce the number of violent incidents that occur here at Hammond.


Hammond High School 1

Posted February 15, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hammond High School 3

Posted December 03, 2009
- a student
I would recommend this school to students who are self-motivated to succeed and have a great desire to get involved. It is possible to be very successful at Hammond, but you can't expect the teachers to do it all for you. If you love school spirit and are avid in attending sporting events and shows, then this is the school for you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hammond High School
8800 Guilford Rd, Columbia, MD  21046
(410) 313-7615
Last modified Hammond High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hammond High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top