Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Columbia, MD
Students enrolled: 510
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Harpers Choice Middle School 4

Posted October 22, 2014
- a community member
This school is truly amazing , there are some really good teachers like ms.Smith, ms.dymek,mr.sylor and more. They are all really supportive.P.S. I go to this school

Harpers Choice Middle School 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
HCMS is a great school. All three of my children have attended this school and have received a great education. The atmosphere is welcoming and engaging.


Harpers Choice Middle School 4

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
We have been at HCMS for 5 years (2 children). Our overall experience has been very positive. We attribute this to the wonderful and committed teachers. We have only had one terrile experience with a teacher -- Mrs. Prendergast. Some of the exceptional teachers are Ms. Kelly, Ms. Dymek, Mr. Mitton, Mrs. Burnett, Mrs. LaSota, Ms. Miranda and Mrs. Crandall (now retired). Mrs. Flores is also a great counselor! While we have had 3 principals in our 5 years, each has brought certain strengths to HCMS and we have been pleased with all 3.

Harpers Choice Middle School 4

Posted February 12, 2012
- a community member
I love this school. I understand that HCMS isn't the best, but the new principal is outstanding and is taking care of these problems. This school has a lot of potential and I can see that the new admins. are trying to bring it out. Many of the students and very bright and the music department is great. Some of the students are also working hard to bring in new extra-curriculars and it's awesome. I love HCMS and can't wait to watch it grow and succeed.

Harpers Choice Middle School 1

Posted January 14, 2010
- a student
My parents had to move me from this school because they did not give me the correct education and some of the persons there are very rude.


Harpers Choice Middle School 4

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
My child has been here 2 years and it is a nice school. There is a great variety of activities to be involved in (even for shy children). The teachers have been great but I do miss the last principle as he was very hands on and accessible.

Harpers Choice Middle School 5

Posted October 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Harpers Choice Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
I am just relocating from NC and the staff has been great in assisting me with the transition and i love the curriculum it will really challenge my sons as well as myself as a parent to assure that i stay involved and on top of their curriculum..I am so glad that i chose Howard County to educate my children


Harpers Choice Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a student
I've been going to this school for about 3 weeks now and its seems to be a really nice school the teachers are nice and I stilll have the same great friends but I get to meet new people too!

Harpers Choice Middle School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harpers Choice Middle School
5450 Beaverkill Rd, Columbia, MD  21044
(410) 313-6929
Last modified Harpers Choice Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harpers Choice Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top