Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Phelps Luck Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Wonderful school that needs to be rated higher! I have two children at this school, and I think they are getting an excellent education. The teachers are wonderfully supportive, the administration is stellar, and the community around the school is inviting. Whenever someone comments about our school's ratings, I tell them that they are simply too low. If you are looking to move into the area, I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2014

We have had three children attend PLES (the youngest will graduate in 2014). We can't say enough positive things about this school. The current principal is fantastic, and the teachers and staff are wonderful. The PTA is active, and are involved in a variety of activities. This neighborhood is a hidden gem, given the relatively low housing costs, when compared to some nearby upscale neighborhoods. We have found that our children remain top of their class as they continue to middle school (Bonnie Branch) and high school (Howard). I would say that the PLES educators have done an amazing job preparing our children both academically and socially. And the part that I think is invaluable - is the cultural diversity of friendships they have developed while at PLES. As our family income grew, we were financially able to move to a different neighborhood. However, we chose to stay at PLES and have been pleased with this decision!!! Welcome to the neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

My son is just about to complete 5th grade at PLES. He has attended PLES since Kindergarten. This school has been absolutely phenomenal! Every single teacher he has had, from Kindergarten through 5th grade, has been awesome! I can't say enough about their genuine efforts, dedication, and individual attention to each and every one of their students. The curriculum is always current for teaching methods and lessons. The interaction and communication between parents, the school, and the teachers are extremely open. Events at the school are well planned, and parents are always actively invited to participate. The PTA is great! In addition, we have had a special education plan in place for our son, and we have been so impressed with the level of dedication and concern for his quality of education. Plus, the school's new principal is doing a fabulous job. Every staff member that we have dealt with over the last six years have taken their job seriously, and gave 100% plus of their time to ensure that our son was taken care of. If an issue arose, it was always addressed right away. I can't say enough about PLES. This school is a "10" in our book! - TC
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2013

Phelps Luck Elementary School has been a great experience for my two kids. We feel like they are getting the education they deserve. The school has been under construction but that should be completed this Summer. They added more classrooms, closed up all the pods to make individual classrooms, expanded the parking lot and will expand the media center to make it bigger. Most of the portables will be removed once the construction is completed. The Principal makes it a high priority to set the student/teacher ratio to about 21 per classroom. He has even brought in more teachers to stay around that number. The PTA is actively involved and has the support of the teachers and the Administration. The Principal backs all the PTA functions, like Science Fair and Bingo night. This school was recently redistricted and will have approximately 165 less kids next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

CHECK MSA TEST SCORES BEFORE CONSIDER THIS SCHOOL!!! I am sending my 3 kids to PLES and not really satisfied with academic programs and some teachers. Compared to other schools in Howard county, the students are not academically challenged, not enough homeworks are given and no adequate feedbacks from some teachers. I have to supplement extra workbooks at home to be challenged and to prepare for the middle school. Check out their MSA test scores for science 45% vs 67% state avg for 5th grade in 2011!!! EVEN BELOW STATE AVERAGE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

School curriculum is horrible! School started since the end of August. It is now October and my child just started receiving homework. I feel as if students are not learning much. This is my youngest second year in this school and, hopefully the last. The test scores explain a lot. I would not recommend this school. You're better off teaching your child yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

Phelps Luck is a very nice school. The teachers and staff are welcoming and friendly. They encourage parent participation. The front office administration is organized and helpful if you call with questions. I find it truly significant and noteworthy that the school leaders make regular rounds visiting the classrooms and talking with students throughout the day at all grade levels. The PTA is active. The school hosts a variety of different actcivities for students and their families throughout the school year. Currently, the school is under construction, which means lots of portables and absolutely no parking. In the long term, the construction will pay off as this area in Howard County continues to grow. Not sure if anything can be done about the parking, but it certainly should be reviewed by county leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

The Great school rating is wrong. My child is thriving in this school and every teacher she has had has gone above and beyond for her and her classmates. The new principal has done a great job. His staff and students come first. I am proud to say that my child attends PLES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

Someteachers are great. Principal has hidden behind an awesome asst principal, but now that AP is gone and I have dealt with the principal and seen what she is about. She dismisses parental concerns with the stating staff "are the experts" on my child. If you are unfortunate to have a teacher who follows the principals lead, your child may be in a bad situation. It is luck of the draw on what teacher you get and you do not have an administrator interested in ensuring the safety or wellbeing of the children. Because I had previously dealt only with the asst principal, and had minimal needs, in the past years I would have said this school was good. This principal seems to have no compassion or concern for the children. A couple examples- no contact to the family of childen in her school when their baby passed away or concern when a child is so upset that they don't want to go to school. I strongly recommend parents observe and ask for examples of what staff is doing for your child, rather than simply accept what is stated due to integrity issues. If I knew what I know now, with the current adminstration, I would not buy a house in this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Teachers and administrators are great and we have been very pleased with our son's progress at Phelps Luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2009

The teachers are wonderful and the school has programs for the slow learners, average learners and the gifted learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

hello,teachers,parents and students iam a parent of three boys that attend phelps luck i have a 10 year old a 7 and a 6 year old very good kids who love there new school me being a over the top parent for excellence for my children i actually fell in love with this school the school counselor ms graham is excellent the assistant principal ms leader is excellent never really had direct contact with the principal the entire staff is good exspecially ms seldom ms smith and ms stout so keep it up phelps luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2008

Administration is on board with the kids'. I've seen extra effort given to the kids that need it. I feel the test scores don't accurately show the 'real' school. There is a population of 'transient' kids, so they don't test well. They either leave before testing or start school in the middle of the year, so they don't learn everything they need for the test. Very happy with my kids' education-3rd is about to start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

My son went to Swansfield from kindergarten to the 2nd grade. It did take him awhile to adjust to Phelps luck, Ms McCoy made it so easy for my baby. Now hes in the 4th grade and loves the school, he thinks his teacher Ms Emond is great and fun, he loves music because of Miss Rose.Phelps Luck is a great school, sure its had its bumps but what school has'nt. He is getting more involved in things at school , hes in the recycling bunch and i think that's a great start. The staff from what I have seen really do care and you should have seen the attendance on back to school night, it was great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2007

I have been a student at Phelps Luck since Pre Kindergarden and the teachers are so kind and caring to you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2007

I was shocked to read the bad reviews of this school. My son is in Mrs. Koza's first grade class, and I have been extremely thrilled with the quality of time the teachers spend with each student. My son was behind in reading and was invited to participate in a new program that has increased his reading and his trust in his teachers. It is true that the schools with predominantly white students score better than those with varied races in the DC/Baltimore area. I can only speculate that those areas are the most expensive and therefore pay more in taxes to provide better equipment and higher pay for their teachers. This is a great school that continues to improve. Rich snobs shouldn't give it a bad rap because it isn't a private school. The teachers and faculty care, and you can't buy that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

My daughter started at PL after a long-distance move. I worried about the adjustment and the comments on this sight. After reading the negative comments I looked at private schools but decided to give this one a chance. After putting her into a summer program that turned out awful I was even more hesitant, the kids were terrible and the there was no supervision. I'm glad I gave Phelps Luck a chance. Adjusting to the area was harder for her then adjusting to her new school. My daughter was terrified to start a new school and I kept a very close eye on her and the school . The kindergarten staff is exceptional. My daughter loves going school now and is learning so quickly it's hard for me to keep up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

There are better schools in Baltimore City! I am not happy with this school and my child will not attend this school next year. I may have to pay for a private school next year, but it will not be done without a protest. This is an expensive area, but my children are getting a low budget education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

As a parent, I am extremely dissapointed and dissatisfied with this schools' curriculum or lack thereof, as well as the lack of a clear vision for the students. The test scores are horrible when compared to other schools in the howard county school system. We moved here thinkin this school system was superior to any other county in Maryland. We were shocked and dissapointed to learn that unless your children attend schools like Centennial, Ilchester or Northfield to name a few, then your child is not getting the same education. Howard County is an expensive area to live and its a crying shame that unless you live in the most expensive, mostly white areas and so called elite sections of Howard county; you have to settle for inferior schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 35%
Hispanic 21% 12%
White 21% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 8% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5370 Oldstone Ct
Columbia, MD 21045
Phone: (410) 313-6886

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT