Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Phelps Luck Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and administration at this school are top notch. I have never come across so many talented educators under one roof. I am blown away after every parent/teacher conference by the level of care and encouragement my children get and how they are challenged to reach their fullest potential. I love that students have separate teachers for math and language arts -- the teachers get to specialize in a certain subject resulting in students receiving the very best level of instruction.

Phelps Luck Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2016
- a parent
I am not sure why the rating of this school is so low. Phelps Luck is a wonderful Elementary School. All of the teachers are VERY engaged. The administrative staff is on it and the Principal and Assistant Principal are very hands on as well and very easy to approach. I have a 6 grader now, who had been in PL from 1st through 5th grade and I also have a 2nd grader that has been going to PL since Kindergarten. We have nothing but great things to say. Both of my kids are above grade level in some of their classes and the school is fantastic about making sure that each child is being challenged at the level they need. May it be the kids that are ahead or the ones that may need a little extra help. Phelps Luck deserves 5 stars !


Phelps Luck Elementary School 5

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Phelps Luck Elementary is a fantastic school with great staff and wonderful children. The school has been recently renovated and boasts tremendous technology resources which always impress me. There are great after school opportunities that are provided to the children, including Chess Club and Girls on the Run, an afterschool running program for girls. We have been thrilled throughout our time at Phelps Luck with the open lines of communication we have had with the administration and the staff. We also have been very happy with the ability of the school to get our children above grade level work when necessary. Howard County Schools have consisitently ranked as 1st in Maryland, and our experiences at Phelps Luck Elementary show us why.

Phelps Luck Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2015
- a parent
I think our school rating is lower than it should be due to parents not taking the time to rank it. PLES offers a variety of programs ranging from Gifted and Talented to ESOL, and everything in between. It has a very diverse population of students, and a committed and wonderful team of teachers and administrative staff. My husband and I have been extremely satisfied with the education that our children are getting. The school building itself (although aging) has been recently remodeled. The surrounding community is very nice with mature trees, walking paths and modest, well-kept homes. With a few exceptions, PLES students will likely attend Bonnie Branch Middle School and Howard High school.

Phelps Luck Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are outstanding. They work with the children above and beyond what is usually expected.


Phelps Luck Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
The children are encouraged to work together and support each other in all areas. All cultures are respected and celebrated.

Phelps Luck Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
The teachers and Administrators are role models for the students in these areas. It is a multicultural school with vast economic diversity and the teachers respect and support all students regardless of their ethnic or economic status.

Phelps Luck Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
it's time to remove the 2011 reviews. They do not reflect the current administration of the school or the teachers. The principal is one of the most committed and caring school administrators I have ever run into. He know all the children by name and has introduced a new and innovative curriculum into the school. The children have an opportunity to learn a language- Spanish- as well as a musical instrument along with a strong math, social science and English program. There are plenty of opportunities for students in the GT and AP programs. The school reflects the multicultural nature and economic diversity of the community and the administration and teachers recognize and support each child. Phelps Lunch is an outstanding elementary school


Phelps Luck Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2015
- a community member
My three grandchildren attend Phelps Luck Elementary school Their mother, my daughter, attended the school when she was a child. It is an outstanding school that offers foreign languages,art, music, including musical instrument education, in addition to an excellent math program, science, and the liberal arts . The teachers are exceptional and really care about the children. The curriculum is equal to any at private schools. The Principal appears to know every child at the school as well as their parents. The students as well as the faculty are representative of the community which is diverse and multicultural; as a result the children learn about many cultures and customs. This school should be rated much higher than a six out of 10.

Phelps Luck Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school that needs to be rated higher! I have two children at this school, and I think they are getting an excellent education. The teachers are wonderfully supportive, the administration is stellar, and the community around the school is inviting. Whenever someone comments about our school's ratings, I tell them that they are simply too low. If you are looking to move into the area, I highly recommend it.

Nearby schools

Phelps Luck Elementary School
5370 Oldstone Ct, Columbia, MD  21045
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. (410) 313-6886
Last modified Phelps Luck Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top