Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Swansfield Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2014

My school is a vibrant and welcoming place for all students, whether as part of the Gifted and Talented Program, or whether they need an extra push to help them get on grade level. The parent participation and sets us apart from all the schools in the county! International Night celebrating the diversity among us is just one example of how the school and PTA embrace our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

We have been a part of Swansfield for 4 years and have had nothing but great experiences. Mrs. Ketter for one is amazing. It is apparent that she truly loves being an educator and working with children. Every member of the staff has ensured my son has everything he needs to be successful in elementary school. Every year I am impressed with the amount of parent teacher communication. Keep it up Mrs. Ketter and Swansfield!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2013

We have had a very good experience at Swansfield. This is our last year there with our youngest son, and we will miss it next year. The school population is very diverse and the teachers are wonderful. We have experienced the GT programs and special needs programs, and in both cases the teachers have been caring and responsive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

This schools staff seems to be very rude and arrogant. They do not return phones and you need to call them back at least 3 times to do get the information that you need but you get different information everytime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

I am shocked to hear that a parent can say this for Ms Ketterer.She is an amazing Principal and the best thing that has happened to Swansfield.The Teachers are amazing and so are the administrators!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

the teachers we have are wonderful this year. the principal leaves alot to be desired. alot of prgress needs to happen there. they love music and art classes. and really learn a broad spectrum of music and appreciation for various types of art as well.


Posted August 12, 2012

worst experienc e last 3 years with ms ketterer. defintiely needs alot of work. leaves alot to be desired to adress issues . felt ignored quite often and avoided, so as not to adress issues at hand. teachers are awesome! but the leadership in this school needs alot of work!!!!!!!!! can not rate any stars because do not feel any are deserved at this time.......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

This is a great school to work with, everyone is kind to each other, and the teachers pay special attention to each and every student, disable or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The staff care about every single child in the school. There are many programs available at the school to support the students and their families. It has a wonderful environment in which to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

The Swansfeild School experience is really good. Our daugther enjoyed going to school and specially the class. Mr Werdesheim seems to quite experienced and talented teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

We have had a very good experience at Swansfield. It is a very diverse school, and the faculty is excellent. In particular, our son's math teacher last year (third grade)was fantastic. We will miss principal Davis, but the new principal comes highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

Well,I couldnt disagree more with the great reviews.Our child fell behind at this school after we moved here and the teachers kept wanting to place blame on our child being 'lazy' instead of recognizing he had a learning disability! The school might be ok if your child is advanced,but if your child needs extra help,forget it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

Wonderful and very professional and competent teachers and administrators. Warm and loving environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

We love swanfield. My daughter went there fromn 1st through 5th grade. My son is in 4th grade. The GT program is very challanging. The school is very diverse. The classes are relatively small and the teachers are wonderful. It is a secret gem. Because of the the student mix people think that it would not be a good school. Nothing is further from the truth. It has been a great experience for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

This is a very involved school on all levels. It is fair to say that the entire staff,principal and assistant principal are dedicated in meeting all the academic levels of their student population. The staff makes an effort to combined their staff resources to help their students to over come any challenges they may have and help them to believe in themselves! One needs to be mindful of the multicultural population and economic needs are influence the total child and for this I give them a ten. Academically for test scores reflect the total effort on the behalf of student- and their parent involving in the learning process. If a parent or legal guardian does not take the time due to economic and or new students coming from another country that needs to be taken seriously with fairness and not to punish the school but to look at the entire picture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

The teachers and staff are wonderful. It seems that they all know the names of each student! Very happy to be apart of his school. Johnathan Davis is a wonderful principle, seems deeply envolved in every aspect of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

Fantastic elementary school -- great administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2006

So far Swansfield has been a good experience he is only halfway through kindergarten and is already starting to read. Ms. Mason is a wonderful teacher. His bus driver also seems to be a very caring person whom I definitely feel comfortable with. The extra-curricular activities are great as well as the opportunities for family involvement. I also think the artwork is some of the best I have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2004

The school has been doing consistently bad for last couple of years and now in the improvement list. What can I say?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2004

Swansfield is not just a school but a family. They all go above to make sure that the children learn everything they need. They have great support through out the school. You will never find a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 41% 35%
White 27% 42%
Hispanic 15% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Two or more races 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5610 Cedar Ln
Columbia, MD 21044
Phone: (410) 313-6907

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT