Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Columbia, MD
Students enrolled: 562
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Swansfield Elementary School 4

Posted June 29, 2014
- a parent
My school is a vibrant and welcoming place for all students, whether as part of the Gifted and Talented Program, or whether they need an extra push to help them get on grade level. The parent participation and sets us apart from all the schools in the county! International Night celebrating the diversity among us is just one example of how the school and PTA embrace our community.

Swansfield Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2013
- a parent
We have been a part of Swansfield for 4 years and have had nothing but great experiences. Mrs. Ketter for one is amazing. It is apparent that she truly loves being an educator and working with children. Every member of the staff has ensured my son has everything he needs to be successful in elementary school. Every year I am impressed with the amount of parent teacher communication. Keep it up Mrs. Ketter and Swansfield!!!


Swansfield Elementary School 5

Posted August 17, 2013
- a parent
We have had a very good experience at Swansfield. This is our last year there with our youngest son, and we will miss it next year. The school population is very diverse and the teachers are wonderful. We have experienced the GT programs and special needs programs, and in both cases the teachers have been caring and responsive.

Swansfield Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
This schools staff seems to be very rude and arrogant. They do not return phones and you need to call them back at least 3 times to do get the information that you need but you get different information everytime.

Swansfield Elementary School 4

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
I am shocked to hear that a parent can say this for Ms Ketterer.She is an amazing Principal and the best thing that has happened to Swansfield.The Teachers are amazing and so are the administrators!


Swansfield Elementary School 1

Posted October 28, 2012
- a community member
the teachers we have are wonderful this year. the principal leaves alot to be desired. alot of prgress needs to happen there. they love music and art classes. and really learn a broad spectrum of music and appreciation for various types of art as well.

Swansfield Elementary School 2

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
worst experienc e last 3 years with ms ketterer. defintiely needs alot of work. leaves alot to be desired to adress issues . felt ignored quite often and avoided, so as not to adress issues at hand. teachers are awesome! but the leadership in this school needs alot of work!!!!!!!!! can not rate any stars because do not feel any are deserved at this time.......

Swansfield Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2011
- a parent
This is a great school to work with, everyone is kind to each other, and the teachers pay special attention to each and every student, disable or not.


Swansfield Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
The staff care about every single child in the school. There are many programs available at the school to support the students and their families. It has a wonderful environment in which to learn and grow.

Swansfield Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
The Swansfeild School experience is really good. Our daugther enjoyed going to school and specially the class. Mr Werdesheim seems to quite experienced and talented teacher.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Swansfield Elementary School
5610 Cedar Ln, Columbia, MD  21044
(410) 313-6907
Last modified Swansfield Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Swansfield Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top