Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thunder Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 382 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

the staff do not treat you well especially when you are outgoing and always "out there". Also if your parents are not American citizens. Most of the time the teachers will teach well but they think students should keep quiet and be respectful all the time. I think students should be allowed to express their feelings.


Posted November 6, 2013

This school is a hidden gem. The teachers are very caring & want your children to succeed. I had two children attend from K-5, one had an IEP and the other was in GT classes. They both were successful. It shows that this school can meet whatever needs you place before them. I'm great flu to the entire staff. The parents are very active in the school & there are always opportunities to volunteer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

Excellent school with great administration and staff. The after school program is an excellent addition to the already stellar environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

One of the best! Tied for #7 in the entire state of MD!!! We love the teachers, staff and principal at THES! To the previous reviewer... No, they are NOT nixing the G/T program! It's wonderful! My kids have had the bet experiences here! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

I wouldn't wish this terrible school on anyone. There is horrible leadership and poor academic programs. I've even hear they are nixing the GT programs next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2011

Thunder Hill Elementary is a small tight knit school full of parent involvement. The principal is excellent and a great motivator. We have two of our children currently enrolled and our third will be starting Kindergarten in a couple years. We couldn't be more pleased with the education our kids are receiving. The teachers and staff are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

THES is the best! Exceptional learning experience from the basics to fine and performing arts. My daughter transitioned just fine from private school and greatly improved her skills under the exceptional guidance of her teachers. Mrs. Parsons is a wonderfully gifted and caring teacher. Thanks to you and all the great teachers and admin staff at THES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

Thunder Hill has it all- excellent teachers, administration and staff. My children are achievers because of this school's dedication to its students. It's a small school, which allows opportunities for parents, teachers and administration to communicate effectively. The PTA is terrific, too! Thunder Hill is a 10+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2007

great education and nice teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2007

I have one child in Thunder Hill and another that will be attending next year. The school is a wonderful place to have children attend and all of the students, teachers, and staff are very courteous. There is a good mix of diversity and the emphasis on education is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

Thunder Hill is a supportive and nurturing environment. The staff is dedicated to the children and thee are many opportunities for parent involovement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

This school has been wonderful for my son. He has received all extra help he has needed and all of his teachers have been excellent. A+ school all the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

81 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
91%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Black 16% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 6%
Hispanic 8% 12%
Two or more races 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Football

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9357 Mellenbrook Rd
Columbia, MD 21045
Phone: (410) 313-6922

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT