Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Waterloo Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Mrs. Pleasant. Mrs. Pleasant truly loves teaching and makes each child feel appreciated and loved. I'm thrilled my daughter has Mrs. Pleasant this year.

Waterloo Elementary School 5

Posted April 20, 2016
- a parent
I'm so glad we moved into the Waterloo ES district. The teachers and leadership team are top notch at this school. My favorite part of Waterloo is the number of curriculum extension units (CEUs) that challenge students in so many interesting areas. Also the orchestra has been amazing. Great school!


Waterloo Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Sloan. This is our first year at Waterloo, and I feel like Erin has really made my son's transition to public school and amazing experience.

Waterloo Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
Our son is in Kindergarten, and he gets 1-2 worksheets per week, has one poetry journal to do each week, and has to read an assigned book (that he reads again in class). I feel this is very manageable and that his teacher does a lot of hands on projects (love the STEM projects) in class.

Waterloo Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
The school teaches all children to be their Waterloo B.E.S.T. and reinforces this on many levels throughout the year.


Waterloo Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
I heard good things about this school. It had been around for a very long time.

Waterloo Elementary School 4

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
I'm a parent of a 5th grader and I think the school is great. Good teachers that communicate well with parents. Principle and other staff are friendly and approachable. Great supportive environment with a well behaved student body. My daughter has done well here and has good grades

Waterloo Elementary School 5

Posted June 21, 2012
- a parent
Waterloo fosters excellent academic preparation. Furthermore, the principal and every teacher I've met have been warm, caring people who are truly interested and supportive of my children's growth and development. Hooray for Waterloo!


Waterloo Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
My son started Waterloo preschool 2 months ago and it has been amazing! The staff is very supportive and makes everyone feel welcome and special! I have not encountered any member of staff that did not offer assistance. The Principal, Mrs. Webster is truly great, very involved and fosters a positive atmosphere within the school.

Waterloo Elementary School 5

Posted May 22, 2011
- a parent
Waterloo is a very good school. I have 3 kids here and they love it! The principal, Mrs. Webster is very kind & dedicated. She is present at all the after-school events and is also very active at these events. I have subbed a few times at Waterloo and the staff & teachers are friendly. I am pleased with the quality of education my kids are getting. There are so many fantastic teachers from Mrs. Bray, Ms. Yakscoe-Markle, Mrs. Kuegler, Mrs. Billey, Mrs. Pleasant & Mr Fellin to Mrs. Cutick, just to name a few; who are doing a wonderful job of adding value to our kids. Thank you to all the staff & teachers at WES. God bless you all!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Waterloo Elementary School
5940 Waterloo Rd, Columbia, MD  21045
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (410) 313-5014
Last modified Waterloo Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top