Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 48 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wilde Lake High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
I am grateful for Mr. LeMon's leadership, the principal of Wilde Lake. He has created a great atmosphere in the school for the students, parents, and teachers. He is a good listener and always responds to concerns.

Wilde Lake High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
For the academically oriented kids, there is a lot of homework but it pays off in the long run. The AP teachers assign a lot of extra work but it really does help them do well on the AP test.


Wilde Lake High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
The administration does not put up with disrespectful kids. The students learn to act properly during ninth grade.

Wilde Lake High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
The school has a very diverse population and frequently sponsors activities for the students that highlight their various backgrounds.

Wilde Lake High School 5

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
My daughter graduated from Wilde Lake last year and had an excellent selection of colleges from which to choose. She was academically challenged, had the opportunity to play multiple sports, was well prepared for her college experience, and was involved in numerous extra-curricular activities. The administration, lead by an outstanding principal, is among the best in the county. The AP teachers are excellent (Wilde Lake AP scores are generally number 1 or 2 of all the county high schools). The diversity of the school was a great part of her school experience. I have heard kids from other Howard County schools say that they want to go to a college that is diverse because their high school was not. I say go to Wilde Lake High School where you can have it all!


Wilde Lake High School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
We have had two boys go through Wilde Lake, it is diverse, supportive, accepting, and academically challenging, all in one package. Most of the teachers are excellent, with the exception of a few weak links, but for the most part excellent. The administration is phenomenal. Period. LOVE the principals and vices, and even the arts are excellent. We had the experience of mostly honors, GT and AP classes, so I cannot speak to the quality of the on-grade classes. The diversity of Wilde Lake and Columbia is what brought us to Columbia 18 years ago, when we craved a diverse area to raise our family and Wilde Lake is truly a testament to what James Rouse had envisioned when he designed Columbia. We have neighbors whose children have gone to through Wilde Lake and ended up at Duke, Harvard, Columbia, you name it.

Wilde Lake High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Mr. LeMon, the principal is amazing and runs a tight ship. He is a very effective leader and communicator, if you are considering moving to the Wilde Lake area, set up a time to meet him, he is excellent.

Wilde Lake High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
I can mostly speak for the Honors, GT and AP, but after having two kids go through Wilde Lake, there are only maybe 2 we felt were not as affective or gifted in the art of teaching as they should have been.


Wilde Lake High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
We have to! It is tough on an athlete to think they are going to lose since the majority of our sporting teams do not have uber trained athletic kids that have had 15 years of coaching, but you know what? Our kids actually get to PLAY sports and not just sit on the bench wearing a jersey. Amen to learning a sport, staying active and being part of a team.

Wilde Lake High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Our school is extremely supportive of all types of diversity, be it race, culture, economics, religion and even gender preference. We are a great community for kids that may not be considered cool elsewhere, but they learn to shine and come into their own at WL.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilde Lake High School
5460 Trumpeter Rd, Columbia, MD  21044
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. (410) 313-6965
Last modified Wilde Lake High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top