Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilde Lake Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2014

I read the review posted below on July 27, 2014 and wondered for a minute if I wrote it. That was exactly our experience and now we are now sending our child to private school for 7th & 8th grades despite living in Howard County with this "wonderful school system". In my opinion, the primary issue was a total lack of leadership. The principal was as unengaged as any I have come across. She did not attend school events, return phone calls, or get involved when issues came up. She has no business being in this role. With a strong leader, many of the issues at WLMS could be overcome. I'd be interested to see statistics on how many kids start at WLMS and leave for private school. I feel badly for the kids who do not have the option to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2014

I would not advise sending your child to this school if you have any choice in the matter. It is a dangerous place where my son was bullied and nothing was done about it even after written complaints and a filed report. Part of the problem is about 40% of the student population, which is a rough, violent crowd that is not or cannot be controlled by the staff. The other problem is that most teachers have given up on the students. My son will be going to a private school after 7th grade so that he can catch up, recover, and be ready for high school. I never felt that my son was safe at WLMS. It was a very stressful environment for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

I like Wilde Lake Middle School I can't wait to go there yes I'm a 5th grader who is going to Wilde lake soon. Although You have to take 7 classes it's awesome. Wilde Lake Middle School is unique that's what I really like about it . Another school you may like is Running Brook Elementary School.


Posted February 21, 2014

Go to the test scores tab above and look at the 6th grade and 8th grade scores. You will see the trend of score decreasing as children matriculate through this school. This downward trend from start to finish says it all. The staff is too worried about controlling bad behavior and if your child is a minority, watch out ---he/she will automatically be "labelled" as a trouble-maker (demonstrating the lazy-minded mentality of the administration -- who ironically are minorities themselves). I had my son transferred (after fighting for 2-years) to Clarksville Middle School and have found the learning environment to be the polar opposite of WLMS. The byproduct of spending nearly 3-years at WLMS is that he is now FAR behind his peers at CMS (but at least we escaped Alcatraz). Glad that WLMS is now in my rear view mirror...don't make a mistake and fail to research this school (unfortunately like I did, relying solely on the reputation of Howard County). I may have to reclassify my son back to the 8th grade due to the academic "damage" done by having him in this horrible and "radioactive" learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

WLMS is an underrated school, particularly for kids who take lots of GT classes. Teachers are excellent and dedicated, on the whole. Sure, there are a lot of students in the school who get subsidized lunches, but it will certainly not hurt more privileged kids to meet classmates who were not as fortunate. We know of several parents who opted to pay for private school because they were afraid of the school's reputation for discipline problems. In our experience, that was a waste of money. WLMS provides a good education in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

I am a parent of a student that will be progressing to high school from WLMS this year. I love Wilde Lake. The teachers and administration really care about the children. There have been some social issues just like in other schools; however, they were all immediately addressed. My daughter did very well at this school, and the diversity is awesome. I see the Great School score is a 6 and this is based mainly on standarized testing. Now, that's another topic of discussion by many. My child, as well as her friends did quite well at this school and their test scores were above average. We are preparing for WLHS in the fall. I believe that WLMS gave her what she needed to be ready for high school and layed the foundation for college in 4 years. This school is not a bad choice. Raise your children at home, and stay involved with the administration and your child will do great at WLMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

My son is new to Wilde Lake and is on an IEP for a previous ADHD diagnosis and mood disorder. The Special Education staff are very involved and the teachers very supportive of his educational needs. We did not experience much bullying either which is a plus given the population they serve. I feel my son gets the help he needs and would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

The problem at WLMS is more the student population than the teachers and administrators. I have met many very dedicated and hard working teachers at this school. The principal and vice principal and guidance counselors are all doing their part to try to make the school a positive learning environment. Unfortunately, we do not feel that the school is a safe environment for our children. Our child was the victim of bullying at this school and was choked by a peer during a class activity. He has also witnessed violent attacks on other students and overheard a lot of language that made him feel uncomfortable. This papast year a girl was expelled for beating another girl with a belt- it was at least her 3rd attack on another child during the school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

I love WLMS my teachers are highlariouse they make me understand. WLMS also has super kids my friends all make easy to make 8th grade next year I enjoy wilde lake and I DON'T want to leave
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2009

I have to be honest I went to the school when it was going through its rough times and I am now in the 8th grade with the new principal and I can say to anyone the it is a safe good and well put together school. Students including parents cannot decide that it is a bad school based on the actions in the past. We are working to exceed the low expectations that were set on the school by others. You now cannot not judge the school without seeing the steps we are taking to come out of the bad times and finally get the respect that the school now deserves.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

I have just moved to Columbia. I have been very impressed with the staff and administration at this school. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2009

As all schools in Howard County must try to reach the high level of excellence that is expected from reputation, Wilde Lake will continue to struggle until parents dedicate themselves to be more involved with their child's education and insist that needs be met. There is a great amount of talent and dedication in the staff that combined with parental involvement is invaluable to educating in this age group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

WLMS is an excellent school, with a talented and dedicated group of teachers. I have sent 3 children through the school, and if given an opportunity to chose an alternative school, would decline. Every school has specific issues to be addressed, and WLMS is no different. The diverse population has been a tremendous benefit to my older kids, who credit WLMS and the high school with affording them the opportunity of learning to work and relate to those with different backgrounds. The students are challenged and encouraged on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

I think this school needs lots of work. The principal leadership is poor, as well as student behavior. There is also little discipline
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2009

I am a student that went to Wilde Lake Middle School last year and I miss going there SO SO SO much! The teachers are VERY friendly and the school is WONDERFUL. I thank the world for having wlms with out that school I would be going to a bad school somewhere else. I LOVE WLMS! oh p.s. the classes doesn't have packs of kids in one room so that is good you learn faster :) and you get help when ever needed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

My son attends Wilde Lake Middle School and he is in the IEP program. He was diagnosed with emotional disorders before moving to Wilde Lake. My son previously attended Clarksville Middle which is a great school. However, after enrolling my son in the Wilde Lake Special Needs class, he excelled. He made new friends and has come out of his shell. He even joined an after-school program for the yearbook. The parents are wonderful and the school is very supportive. This has proven to be a wise move for my family and my son loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

This is the worst school I have ever been to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2008

For a child that's just starting out in a middle school, and wants to get a great experience....I would highly recommend Wilde Lake Middle School! The curriculum is challenging and the opportunities are out of this world amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

This school simply has a bad reputation. In reality it's a great school and surrounded ith wonderful people. A a student, I was involved in some wonderful extra curricular activities in which I found great interest in and I am sure will help me later on in life. The only con I have for this school is the principal. He is not as involed in the school community as he possibly could be. He needs to apply himself more. Otherwise, this is an excellent school any student should consider.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2008

i go here and i love it. its so fun and the teachers are so nice. who cares about test scores..
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

189 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 35%
White 31% 42%
Hispanic 12% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 6%
Two or more races 7% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10481 Cross Fox Ln
Columbia, MD 21044
Phone: (410) 313-6957

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Homewood School
Ellicott City, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT