Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Shore Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

South Shore is an amazing school. Love that the school is a PYP candidate school. The staff is warm and welcoming. The principal seems concerned about each child. The PYP coordinator takes time to answers questions families have about the program, and is always accessible even though she is not here each day. She is a former teacher at South Shore so she seems to get the school and the kids, and is very easy to talk to. Classroom teachers teach by questioning. We love that inquiry is a such a big part of the pyp program here. The cultural arts team is amazing. My child comes home excited each and every day. Could not be more thrilled for her elementary school experience. I only wish that each elementary school was like South Shore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

fantastic staff, small classes, friendly kids, close-knit, active parent group...reminds me of a private school. love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

South Shore is a great school. It has smaller classes than average for Anne Arundel. The teachers and administrators are top class. There is strong parent participation and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

great school with excellent pricipal and teachers..students were involved with different activities and excellent academic. we're hoping South shore elementarywill build a middle /high school as well in the future.it will be great......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

As good or better than a private school. Our neighbors all have their kids in private schools. My son is at the same level or better in his level of learning. I look at the progress of my son has made in Kindergarten. He is reading full books, adding and subtracting, and able to do logic problems. I'm %100 pleased with his progress. The principal is fantastic. She takes a interest in all the students. When my son began Kindergarten they decided there were too many children for 2 classes and created a third class. Not many schools do that today. They just cram them together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

A hidden gem! We're fortunate to be part of this exceptional school community where our child thrives. Teachers here are creative, committed, and caring. Small classes and a small student body, plus active parental involvement all add up to a vibrant school central to its community. Great learning environment--we can't imagine being anywhere else!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

What's not to love? Great teachers, responsive staff, a top-notch principal and well-educated kids. A great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My grandkids attend - The teachers are very hands on, creative and enthusiastic. Principle Ferrara is also hands on and takes the time to know the students. This school also thrives to be a Green school, teaching the children to respect the Earth.


Posted April 9, 2009

I think this school is great i am a 24 year old mom of 2 and i went to this school as a child and now my son goes there and i think that they are very hands on in allowing you to participate in you childs education and i love that
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

This is my son's second year 2008-2009 and I couldn't be more thrilled...left private school to come here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

We are pretty new to South Shore and while we love the small class size and how the staff know your children by face/name and are very friendly, I am somewhat dissapointed that there is not more help for children who are having difficulty in certain areas. My son is struggling with math but there is not after school help available to him at South Shore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

We have two children at SS and ccouldn't be happier. This is like a private school with small teacher/pupil ratios, rigorous academics and teachers that care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

My husband and I have four children that attend South Shore Elementary school. I cannot say enough about the quality of teachers and their interest in teaching and guiding my children through their elementary school years. All my children play instruments musical, and are involved in many of the extracurricular activities the school offers. My oldest is graduating South Shore and moving to a local middle school. Both my husband and I are very sad to see her leave. It is truly a wonderful school and a wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2004

My child has only been attending south shore elementary for a short time. However, in that time frame, my special education student is receiving quality services by a knowledgeable and compassionate special education teacher. His regular education classroom teacher works very hard to accomodate his needs. She is implimenting strategies that my third grader was never before allowed to utilize in school that make a tremendous impact on his learning. I am completely thrilled with the education staff that i have come in contact with at south shore.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 42%
Black 6% 35%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Hispanic 3% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1376 Fairfield Loop Rd
Crownsville, MD 21032
Phone: (410) 222-3865

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Indian Creek School
Crownsville, MD


Rockbridge Academy
Millersville, MD






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT