Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Shore Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
South Shore is an amazing school. Love that the school is a PYP candidate school. The staff is warm and welcoming. The principal seems concerned about each child. The PYP coordinator takes time to answers questions families have about the program, and is always accessible even though she is not here each day. She is a former teacher at South Shore so she seems to get the school and the kids, and is very easy to talk to. Classroom teachers teach by questioning. We love that inquiry is a such a big part of the pyp program here. The cultural arts team is amazing. My child comes home excited each and every day. Could not be more thrilled for her elementary school experience. I only wish that each elementary school was like South Shore.

South Shore Elementary School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
fantastic staff, small classes, friendly kids, close-knit, active parent group...reminds me of a private school. love it!


South Shore Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
South Shore is a great school. It has smaller classes than average for Anne Arundel. The teachers and administrators are top class. There is strong parent participation and support.

South Shore Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2011
- a parent
great school with excellent pricipal and teachers..students were involved with different activities and excellent academic. we're hoping South shore elementarywill build a middle /high school as well in the future.it will be great......

South Shore Elementary School 5

Posted June 10, 2010
- a parent
As good or better than a private school. Our neighbors all have their kids in private schools. My son is at the same level or better in his level of learning. I look at the progress of my son has made in Kindergarten. He is reading full books, adding and subtracting, and able to do logic problems. I'm %100 pleased with his progress. The principal is fantastic. She takes a interest in all the students. When my son began Kindergarten they decided there were too many children for 2 classes and created a third class. Not many schools do that today. They just cram them together.


South Shore Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
A hidden gem! We're fortunate to be part of this exceptional school community where our child thrives. Teachers here are creative, committed, and caring. Small classes and a small student body, plus active parental involvement all add up to a vibrant school central to its community. Great learning environment--we can't imagine being anywhere else!!

South Shore Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 23, 2009
- a parent
What's not to love? Great teachers, responsive staff, a top-notch principal and well-educated kids. A great place!

South Shore Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
My grandkids attend - The teachers are very hands on, creative and enthusiastic. Principle Ferrara is also hands on and takes the time to know the students. This school also thrives to be a Green school, teaching the children to respect the Earth.


South Shore Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2009
- a parent
I think this school is great i am a 24 year old mom of 2 and i went to this school as a child and now my son goes there and i think that they are very hands on in allowing you to participate in you childs education and i love that

South Shore Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
This is my son's second year 2008-2009 and I couldn't be more thrilled...left private school to come here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Shore Elementary School
1376 Fairfield Loop Rd, Crownsville, MD  21032
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (410) 222-3865
Last modified South Shore Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top