Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
651 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Indian Creek School 5

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Our child entered Indian Creek as a sixth grader and could not have been welcomed more warmly. The school does an excellent job of making sure new students get acclimated and are making friends. Never have I witnessed a faculty more engaged or happier. As we are closing in on the end of seventh grade, I find our child in advanced classes in algebra and literature, with guidance and accommodation in all areas. The performing arts and sports programs are excellent and well supported. More importantly, regarding any issues one might have, and they do come up in Middle School often, I have found the administration to be proactive and actively involved in speedy resolutions. We could not be happier with Indian Creek School.

Indian Creek School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Indian Creek School offers top notch middle school faculty who clearly love what they do.


Indian Creek School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
Yes, they also understand that middle schoolers still haven't figured everything out. They encourage students to lead by example, and set high expectations for all.

Indian Creek School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 23, 2016
- a parent
In every corner of the school: It is Kind? Is it true? Is it necessary? The school is actively engaged in community service events throughout the year and promotes self awareness and personal growth across the curriculum.

Indian Creek School 3

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
I have mixed feelings about the Lower School. My child was there and I found the environment very caring, but lacking in true ability to adapt to different learning styles. They will make some accommodations, but not necessarily what is needed for your child. I saw no implementation of "All Kinds Of Minds" although they send a few teachers to the training. AKOM is really a marketing ploy to get you there. It is expensive, but they are very communicative and seem to really attempt to educate the children that they can. However, for a college preparatory school at this price point, they should have methods to educate the children they enroll well defined. This is not the case. My child needed structure and consistency and got neither. My child was labeled and then asked to leave. Now in public school with structure and minimal accommodations, my kid is a different child and solid academic performer. Summary: They are caring. They play favorites. They will label. They aren't as flexible or accommodating as you would expect. They don't understand ADHD or autistic kids, unless you come from a "preferred" or wealthy family. You will be disappointed if you are looking for this for your child.


Indian Creek School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a student
I have attended this school for four years and cannot not say better things about it. The teachers and class sizes are beyond accommodating. Indian Creek has an overall positive community.

Indian Creek School 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Our family has experienced lower, middle, and high school at ICS with our children, and give high ratings to all. Students are absolutely academically challenged and also supported and encouraged. Our children previously attended another area independent school, but we strongly prefer the philosophy and innovative methods of ICS.

Indian Creek School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
Respect for the individual is paramount in ICS's philosophy. Students are not prejudged or limited in their experiences here - students are encouraged to take boundary-expanding risks.


Indian Creek School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
ICS has a strong character-building program beginning from the youngest ages and continuing through high school.

Indian Creek School 3

Posted August 24, 2015
- a community member
I was an invited guest speaker and have never met such a disrespectful group of students. Except for a couple of students who were struggling to stay engaged despite the diatractions, the group was out of control. I felt bad for the teacher who was visibly upset. Kids showed up well past the start time, and many draped their legs and bodies over the chairs in front of them as if they were chilling in their living rooms on front of a tv. I was shocked by the scene.

Nearby schools

Indian Creek School
680 Evergreen Road, Crownsville, MD  21032
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (410) 923-3660
Last modified Indian Creek School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top