Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
540 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mary Of Nazareth School 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a parent
Our family has been at MON for 7 years and I can honestly say it has been one of the best decisions that we have ever made for our children. The school has a top notch rigorous academic curriculum. It's a great environment for high performing students. Most importantly though my children love their school and we have made great friends there.

Mary Of Nazareth School 1

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
The staff suffers no consequences for lying. No discipline for kids who steal from the other children or bully the other children. A lot of students only last a few years before they get fed up with the Principal. The values being taught to the children do not meet core "Catholic Values". Many parents have had their children struggle after leaving due to poor academic requirements.


Mary Of Nazareth School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Academics are very weak and a lot of parents have had to hire tutors to get their kids up to speed when they enter high school.

Mary Of Nazareth School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
It sucks the life out of kids with their bizarre handling of bullying and theft. It leaves the good children demoralized and many have a hatred for their teachers and the Principal.

Mary Of Nazareth School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
The school is about conformity and inflating the Principals fragile ego. Kids learn to obey out of fear not respect. Question anything or complain that you are being bullied and your kid will be the one disciplined. Someone steals from you kid, do NOT say anything about it. Just remove your child like I did.


Mary Of Nazareth School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
This school is about conformity. Some parents have talked about the "great Catholic education" the school teaches. My experience has bee that "Carholic Values" must include lying, stealing and bearing false witness because that's what the school really teaches. They have a big bullying and theft problem there but don't complain or your kid will be the one punished!

Mary Of Nazareth School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Students that steal, cheat and lie are protected while kids who defend themselves are severely punished for it. The discipline policies there defy logic and reason.

Mary Of Nazareth School 5

Posted April 11, 2015
- a parent
We have been extremely pleased with our experience at MoN. We have sent multiple children, some still attending and some recent graduates. The recent graduates were extremely well prepared, receiving exactly what we expected . . . a rigorous academic challenge within a deeply faith filled environment. We have found the parent community to be both supportive and demanding, a subtle combination that holds the school to a high standard. The principal is very visible. He knows his students and families well and works hard to meet their needs. He leads a talented and committed faculty. We have and will continue to recommend MoN highly to families seeking a strong Catholic education and foundation for their children


Mary Of Nazareth School 1

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
My child won't be returning in the fall. Academics is lax, extracurricular activities are nonexistent and the amount of time they get for lunch, besides the poor quality of liunch, is unconscionable. There's a huge bullying and theft problem there which the administration has done nothing about for two years now. There's a lot of favoritism where a few heavily involved parents seem to run the school. Many of the parents have their little cliques and aren't receptive to anyone outsiders. Being around the parents is like being in high school again but the popular kids are really running the school. The principal lied to me about a problem with one of the students stealing from my child. He's very weak and bends to the rule of a couple heavily involved parents. Moreover, there are ALOT of kids who are not paying to go there who have behavioral problems. Save your money and send your child to a different school.

Mary Of Nazareth School 1

Posted February 11, 2015
- a parent
Very disappointed with the education but most importantly with the administration. One reviewer stated , "the Principal knew every kid by name", that must have been the only thing the guy was doing during my children's tenure. The 10 Commandments tell us Catholics that "we shall not bear false witness against your neighbor". I guess that doesn't if you are MoN administration.

Nearby schools

Mary Of Nazareth School
14131 Seneca Road, Darnestown, MD  20874
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (301) 869-0940
Last modified Mary Of Nazareth School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top