Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Davidsonville Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2016
- a community member
Amazing staff, environment and education for all ages. This is a wonderful school that really makes a change in education for young children.

Davidsonville Elementary School 5

Posted July 12, 2016
- a parent
Excellent student focused environment! The nourishing environment creates a great foundation for life. The staff is extremely engaging!


Davidsonville Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I have 3 children in DES. All three are doing extremely well and are on the Principal's list. All 3 love their teachers and there is an amazing amount of parental involvement in this school. The community, schools and extracurricular activities like Davidsonville Athletic Association (which shares the School's mascot) have a so much to offer. I'm so happy we moved here and chose this school.

Davidsonville Elementary School 1

Posted June 07, 2014
- a parent
I have a special needs child and am amazed at how clueless the school is in dealing with my child's special needs.

Davidsonville Elementary School 3

Posted May 16, 2014
- a community member
Davidsonville Elementary. My granddaughter attends DE . I feel she is getting a better than average education. The staff and teachers are helpful and concerned. There is a lack of observance of student behavior ie: bullying. And when reported, the staff does not seem to be interested in investigating the incidents. There is a lukewarm concern given to individual reporting. There is a lot of gossip and talk about bullying but no real action or education of teachers and staff. I plead with you to exercise the guidelines that are given to your school on bullying and not ignore them. A concerned grandparent.


Davidsonville Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
Teachers are fantastic, parents are very involved and the speed and complexity at which learning takes place is perfect.

Davidsonville Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2011
- a parent
Our two girls have been at Davidsonville for the past three years and absolutely love it. They are both outgoing, advanced academically and thriving at DES. We have not had a bad teacher - in fact, they have all been amazing. And, the school has been highly responsive to any concerns or questions that we have. The school itself is beautiful - very modern, clean and bright. The biggest concern we have is where to go next, as we are not thrilled with Central Middle School.

Davidsonville Elementary School 1

Posted December 10, 2010
- a parent
If your child falls in the autism spectrum do not dare place your child in this school. We found this school to be decades behind in providing services to children affected by autism compared to other schools in the region. The staff lacks basic understanding or training in dealing with autistic children and are oblivious to special programs available for autistic children in their very own county. The county does it's best but unfortunately this particular school is stuck in the 70's in the area of educating children in the autism spectrum.


Davidsonville Elementary School 3

Posted February 13, 2009
- a parent
I have children in DES for 5 years now and while it has a lot of parental involvement from lots of stay at home mothers, I'm not overly impressed with the teachers or leadership and direction that they are receiving. A few teachers have been great but most just average. The emphasis is clearly on test scores and if your child doesn't score well, they are essentially left behind or pushed to produce better scores - not learn what they are lacking in. Too much homework, not enough communication with parents. And, my biggest pet peeve - the teachers spend way too much time telling the students inappropriate details about their own personal lives...TMI!! I often wonder when they get their work done. Overall, I have been disappointed but other than private Kindergarten, I have no other elem school to compare it with. It's ok but needs improvement!

Davidsonville Elementary School 5

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school! I moved to Davidsonville in large part because of the school's reputation, and I have not been disappointed! I've currently got three children there, and they all are thriving. The kids get great opportunities to learn in the classroom, the facilities are fantastic, and the fifth grade teachers are doing an especially good job challenging the students to think critically and creatively.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Davidsonville Elementary School
962 Central Ave West, Davidsonville, MD  21035
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (410) 222-1655
Last modified Davidsonville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top