Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sequoyah Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 402 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2014

I am a parent of two children who recently attended Sequoyah ES. The school provides an absolutely welcoming environment. The school does a great job of creating and maintaining a positive learning environment. We were impressed by the professionalism of all of the teachers we worked with. The principal and staff were wonderful about meeting with me to develop solutions to meet the learning needs of my children. The PTA is well-organized and worked with parents and staff to provide information forums, as well as the fun events that create a sense of community. My children thrived there academically and have since enrolled at a highly gifted center. I truly miss our 'home' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My child attends Sequoyah Elementary School. It's a wonderful school with fantastic staff. The parents are always welcomed and involved with the childs performance. My daughter loves her teachers and really enjoys learning. She is excited to go to school every day. She is excelling in all subjects - if she needs pushing in one area (including social skills), the teacher notifies me. I am extremely happy with our experiences with Sequoyah!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

My child is a current student at the school and has been for several years now. Not only the principal but the new vice principal counselors and teaching staff have left not only myself down but they have let down my child. My child has fallen behind and it has not been communicated by the staff to me the parent. Several requests for meetings as well as weekly communication was ignored. Several times throughout the year I have requested help in making sure my child got on grade level or close to it. The teachers have refused to allow my child to leave less that 30 minutes early without coming to the office to discuss a personal matter about my child. My child cries going to school daily and can not wait until she does not have to attend there anymore until then it is a daily battle with the staff. The school also prides themselves in being the best school handling the very large issue of bullying however my child has been bullied since she started there and nothing has been done to make sure that my child is safe secure and happy. I've been very disappointed in the school yet the county will not help me to move my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

My son is a Kindergarten student and has been attending Sequoya Elementary for the last week and a half. I have to say that I am very happy with the school. The principal, teachers, and staff care about their school and it looks that they are dedicated to helping every child succeed along with the PTA. Everyone has been doing an outstanding job and my son loves it. The principal is very professional and charming and open to help us with any concern that we have. Look forward to a great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2013

Hello.... My Name Is Allieu Kanu...My First Visit At This School Was Outstanding..... There Were Smiles All Over The Faces Of The Vice Principle And The School Secretary's Face... What A Great Experience.... My Stay Was Very Satisfactory And That Makes My Day...


Posted February 22, 2013

This school has a very diverse population, yet the staff have high expectations for learning and behavior for every student. Each team of teachers works hard to ensure the success of the students. The leadership team does a good job of soliciting and reflecting feedback to set and reflect on goals. I've been at this school for several years, and I can certainly testify to the dedication and compassion of the teachers here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 10, 2012

Great principal and good dedicated teachers make it a great place to learn. And committed and dedicated PTA is another plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

The principal is absolutely wonderful. She's very open to find the best solution to making sure your child loves school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Good dedicated teachers makes it a great place for the students to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

We have a great staff, exceptional PTA, and outstanding students. With over 50% of students low income families in a fairly oppulent county, we have a great number of challenges. But we work together as a team to make Sequoyah a safe, challenging, fun, and interesting part of our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

The great principal, the great teachers, parent volunteers and of course - the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Sequoyah Elementary School is great school that reflects the diversity of the community and provides its student body with an excelent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Sequoyah has the best staff and students! They genuinely care about the students individually and collectively. Dr. Jasper-Principal, you're great too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I love the dedicated staff and the great parent involvement with the PTA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

This was a wonderful elemntary school. My 13 year old son went from kindergarten thru 5th grade. Now my grand-daughter has been for kindergarten and now 1st grade. Ms. McGuire is AMAZING!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I love Sequoyah Elementary School for doing what they do best, and that is making the children feel important and that they can achieve anything they put their minds to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

I think the school is awesome! It is a very warm atmosphere for students/parents/teachers ... I feel included in everything and also feel that the entire staff at every level cares deeply about my children. Every effort has been made to give my 'special' child the specific needs that he has. A+ for sure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

I was a teacher a sequoyah and stuck it out 1 year with Dr. J. The teachers are great and do the best with what they can. But, it is true Dr. Jasper has ruined the atmosphere of learning and teaching for the students and staff. Expect big changes in the staff every year if she remains at Sequoyah. A large turn over school reduces the success of each student. A school should be where parents feel welcome and she discourages parents to visit.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 19, 2005

I have had two children at Sequoyah for six years now. While Dr. Graham was there it was an inviting, warm, stimulating atmosphere were the kids and teachers were happy to be there and excited for each day. Unfortunately, when Dr. Jasper took over things changed drastically. After the first year of her leadership, fourteen staff members left. Before this had been a school with little turnover. This creates an atmosphere of tension, frustration and stifled creativity which filters down to the children. We still have great teachers and kids and a strong parent support system but I am afraid that the school will continue on the decline. We have already lost many strong teachers and children to private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2014.

73 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
85%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 41% 12%
White 29% 42%
Black 17% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 6%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17301 Bowie Mill Rd
Derwood, MD 20855
Phone: (301) 840-5335

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Covenant Life School
Gaithersburg, MD


Pep - Itinerant
Rockville, MD



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT