Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-6
Public
District Heights, MD
Students enrolled: 521
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a teacher
A great school where there is collaboration, building up of each other and safe environment for teaching, learning and development of students, staff members, parents and all stake holders of public education.

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Francis Scott Key Elementary School 1

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attended FSK from Kindergarten to 5th grade. The only reason she left is because we relocated. The school is exceptional in all aspects of the word. The academic curriculum as well as human morals of the staff are gratifying. Enrolling her in FSK is one of the best things I could have done to assure that her education experience is a success.

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2006
- a parent
My grandchild has gone to FSK for 2 years, 5th and 6th grade. FSK is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The teachers are the greatest. They treat each child as if they were their own. You never see children running in and out of classrooms or disobeying the teachers. They make learning fun. The principal, is the best. She greets parents everyday and takes time to talk with them. Everyone greats you with a smile and the people in the office always have nice things to say. I will miss seeing them as my she graduates this year. Thank you FSK for bringing out the best in my granddaughter and giving her the encouragement and confidence she needed. Because of you all, she received the President's certifcate of achievement this year.


Francis Scott Key Elementary School 3

Posted August 16, 2005
- a parent
When I first moved to this area years ago I was very concerned after looking at the test scores. However, Ms. Gilchrist is making things happen there and is setting a positive, goal minded tone that is clearly picked up by the studens and staff. Like a lot of schools in PG there is little parent involvement, however the staff has worked hard over the years to change that and it seems to be working.

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 2

Posted July 30, 2005
- a parent
The first grade teacher my son had was very good with his first grade class. however, the adminstration is terrible. i was never notified about conferences and phone calls were never returned by the office. the principal might as well have been AWOL beause she was never there to answer questions. FIND ANOTHER COUNTY!!!

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Francis Scott Key Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2005
- a parent
Top notch public school in the district - school has won awards. A gem in the neighborhood (Palisades) a unique area of Washington, small town feel which reflects a bygone era when schools were warm and accepting environments - has excellent program for the hearing impaired. Pricey neighborhood which attracts high achieving and creative types - the parents are very involved and down to earth. Principal is wonderful and really knows every child individually, it carries through the rest of staff - Some of her teachers run around like chickens without heads scared the sky will fall.

Francis Scott Key Elementary School 4

Posted October 07, 2004
- a parent
My son attends and he is in the 2nd grade. His teacher this year is from the District. I like her approach with the children. The school is wonderful. The teachers work together with the children. I think the challenge for them everyday is what is being done at home, reflects on the child at school. If the parents are not involved, than how can we expect the teachers to put so much forth without any cooperation. Overall, I love this school, some of the children just need some guidance. My son to be included, he loves to talk. You can't talk and listen & learn at the same time. The building is presentable, well-kept and very clean. The teachers are very professional. Mrs. Gilchrist stays on top of things.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Francis Scott Key Elementary School
2301 Scott Key Dr, District Heights, MD  20747
(301) 817-7970
Last modified Francis Scott Key Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Francis Scott Key Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top