Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-8
Private
Edgewater, MD

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Summit School 5

Posted November 20, 2013
- a community member
This National Blue Ribbon School, has an overall 4:1 student teacher ratio with 99.5% graduating from high school, and 85% graduating from college. It is a school for bright children with learning differences. The needs of the whole child are met in every hour of their day. Well -rounded programs from STEM infused programs in science and technology to performing arts and sports are offered . Students from other states and countries have attended. The Executive Director , Dr Mele-McCarthy, is on boards of national professional organizations and is a frequent presenter of papers and workshops. This ensures Summit's access to research in the area of reading, executive functioning, oral language and education policy. This cutting edge approach, combined with numerous national professional awards, makes Summit's 25 years of excellence most admirable.

The Summit School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
How do you define excellence in education? The Summit School. From the head of the school to the teachers and staff, we found a family. The Summit School is a school committed to finding the potential in every child. If your son or daughter is struggling in school, or refuses to even go to school, give Summit a call. We did. They forever made a difference in our child's life.


The Summit School 5

Posted January 18, 2013
- a parent
Summit School has changed our daughter's life for the better. She was struggling in school and feeling poorly about herself until Summit turned it all around for her. With their specialized teaching methods, they have been able to help her unlock her potential. The teachers are incredibly dedicated and the atmosphere of the school is very supportive of all the students. It is a first-rate experience.

The Summit School 5

Posted September 28, 2009
- a student
i love it there there are graet teachers

The Summit School 5

Posted December 02, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


The Summit School 5

Posted October 24, 2007
- a student
Summit is excellent. They help each student individually to their needs. I am graduating at the end of the year. You should cheak Summit out. Please it is a real good school.

The Summit School 5

Posted October 24, 2007
- a student
Summit is excellent. I am graduating this year. Please cheak it out.

The Summit School 5

Posted November 07, 2006
- a parent
Outstanding school for children with dyslexia. I only wish I had learned about it earlier. The program is flexible to meet your child's needs. They have a full time school psychologist to work with the students. They listen to the parents.


The Summit School 5

Posted September 10, 2006
- a parent
The Summit School is a wonderful school for children with learning differences. The faculty is highly educated as well as sensitive to the individual need of each student. The school has an excellent music instructor, art program and is beginning to offer after school sports. There is a strong parent involvement. Being apart of this school is like being apart of a family. The founder, principal and teachers are involved with each student, they spend time getting to know each one. Children gain self-confidence by being able to succeed.

The Summit School 5

Posted February 13, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Summit School
664 Central Avenue East, Edgewater, MD  21037
(410) 798-0005
Last modified The Summit School is a Private school that serves grades 1-8
The Summit School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top