Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Andrew's United Methodist Day School

Private | PK-8 | 300 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Edgewater

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2014

St Andrews has the perfect size classes and the school has a warm environment. The teachers and kids are happy (and it shows), the outdoor fields are great and the fact the Administration listens to parents and constantly tries to make the school better each year - appealing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

School provides structure and attention that my daughter needed. We have seen great improvement in her development since moving her to St Andrews. Fun and nurturing environment for the kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

We've been at the school for 3 years, and first learned of it 5 years ago, when touring all area private elementary schools, from the head of our child's then preschool. This respected administrator had 30 years in education, much of that in the Annapolis area, and she told us she heard excellent things about St. Andrew's program. Her advce has proved to be spot on! The academics are challenging. The faculty is engaged and caring. The overall environment is nurturing. The campus, with it's secure neighborhood location, distinct preschool, elementary school and middle school buildings, 2 libraries, beautiful chapel, outdoor class room, spacious fields, gardens, playgrounds, and animals, is delightful. The tuition is a bargain for what is provided. I'm on site often, and am struck by how engaged and happy the kids are. They are also respectful, and the families are supportive. Our child is thriving and loving school. I am a huge fan of St. Andrew's, and have recommended it to a number of friends. I do check back, and all those who have brought their children here are very happy as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

We have attended St. Andrews for a number of years - my oldest graduated last year (2011) and was fully prepared for the rigor of high school. We have been extremely happy and feel both our children have been challenged academically and at the same time very nurtured. I have recommeded St. Andrews to a number of families over the years and all that have attended have thanked me often for the recommendation. Extremely impressed with the Head of School, her passion and devotion to the children and school is evident every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

We have had 2 children at St. Andrew's since 1999 and we have been very pleased with the education that they have received. Our daughter is now in her 2nd year of high school at Archbishop Spalding and to say that she was prepared would be an understatement! Our son will graduate next year and is thriving as well. We can truly recommend St. Andrew's to anyone who is looking for a Christian based school with exceptional academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

One of my children attends St Andrew's and I'm very pleased with the school and teachers. After meeting parents with kids in the upper grades who rave about the advanced curriculum as compared to public schools, I received a copy of the St Andrew's 3rd grade curriculum. With my other child in 3rd grade at blue ribbon public school, I was astonished to see how advanced St Andrew's is by comparison. We're she not so well established, I would certainly make the switch. Teachers at St A's seem to be hired based on their proven history of success and/or ability to educate at a higher level and it show's. As a former student of public school, while I had many good teachers, poor performing teachers were also present and seemingly impossible to get rid of. St A's has no such restrictions, yet they hire well through a stringent process so removing teachers doesn't often seem to be necessary. Lastly, their certification as a "Green School" and focus on teaching kids the value of the environment and each other is an important distinction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2011

I went to St. Andrew's for middle school and it was great preparation for high school. Some of the St. Andrew's classes were even harder than my preliminary classes in public high school. The teachers were all very good, and it was a great experience overall. One thing that could be improved, however, is their math program; even though their math teacher is the best teacher there (everyone knows this), the math is not as fast-tracked as public middle schools. I made up for this by taking geometry and pre-calc together in one year, so it did not end up being an issue. I am now at an Ivy League school and I honestly believe that St. Andrew's instilled in me a great work ethic and appreciation for education. I definitely recommend the school!


Posted August 17, 2011

We are Paying $10,000 this year for our child to NOT attend St Andrews UM...should be enough to just say that, but there's more. Horrible experience with St Andrews from start to finish and we were never sure if the school had the ability or talent to just teach kids. Then there is the Administration. Horrible. Then we found out that the teacher did not have certification to teach. (Reported to us from a third party with knowledge of the issue.) VERY unhappy with this school.. signed a contract that was great for making sure we pay them.. but not good to make sure they actually do what they are getting paid for. We have plenty more to say.. just contact us here and we'll be happy to give you the REAL picture of this school. I only gave one star because the website made me select one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

I have been disappointed with the mid school math program. However i do believe that it will improve. The art program is excellent and the caring environment at St. Andrew's is wonderful. Mr. Roberson is a big plus for St. Andrew's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

I have two children at St. Andrew's and their experience at this school has been exceptional. They are thriving both academically and socially. There are so many opportunities to have hands on learning either in the classroom or on the many fieldtrips they experience (both educational and philanthropic). St. Andrew's has a great balance between the core academic classes and a wonderful arts and music program. My children are getting a very well rounded learning experience that will help them in whichever direction their next step takes them. There are also an amazing number of extracurricular opportunities for your children to thrive in so many other ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

Excellent academics. Caring teachers and leadership. Good selection of extracurricular activities. Positive learning environment. Many improvements since new principal arrived in summer of 06.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

this school is aHmazingg. the teachers are great, exepct a few. i have learned alot here
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2007

The new principle was a great ideal she is making it a bully proof, fun, and educational environment. She is just what the school needed!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2007

The new head of school (principal) is a highly capable leader that has invigorated math and science within the school without losing the caring social environment that has always made St. Andrew's special. Her cross-disciplinary approach to teaching has engaged both the teachers and kids. For example: math classes frame problems in terms of current social studies topics, science classes use techniques being taught in math, reading and writing exercises involve science and social studies topics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

Have been there for 6 years. 2005-2006 things have changed. Many new teachers and big gaps in what students are learning one year to the next. The school seems unorganized this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

Saint Andrews UM Day School is led by a very caring Pastor and wonderful School staff. The educational experience my children continue to have here is exceptional. The characteristics of the students themselves: bright, courteous, upbeat, and eager to learn. Sure, parents have been asked to support the construction of a new building, but this was done to move children OUT of very old portable classrooms and INTO a new and modern facility. When we first arrived at the school, the playground facilities were very limited/the kids played with rocks! Thanks to parents and wonderful/devoted staffmembers, a brand new playground was purchased and installed. If all of the est. St. Andrews' 200 families chip in - we can continue to ensure our children and their educataors have a safe and motivating environment to enjoy. PS We haven't experienced the 'snob alert' suggested in prev reviews. EDC/JA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2004

Our daughter has been here for 6 years and it's the perfect place for her. Very caring faculty, Good discipline, getting better qualified teachers,caring environment, but very money-hungry. Snob factor alert.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2004

Our son has been a student at St. Andrews since preschool. When he graduates, he will have spent ll formulative years here. Not only has he learned in a nuturing environment of an accredited independent school, he has made countless friends, learned to play an instrument, honed his athletic skills in three sports, and will be very prepared to continue independent education at the secondary level. The school has grown to a faculty of over 50 and student population of over 410 in just a few years. With new facilities coming on line during the next year, the school will be even that much better! I encourage all parents who seek independent education, that is modestly priced, with low teacher to student ratios to consider St. Andrews. I am glad we did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

I think the environment at St. Andrew's is compassionate. Unfortunately, lately in an attempt to keep up with 'The Jones', they have spent considerable time solicitating money from the parents and children. Classroom time is spent trying to convince the kids that it's worth the investment of over 2 million dollars. All this in an effort to build a gym and a middle school building. While the majority of parents weren't asked to vote on the issue of whether to build the latest buildings, they have been asked to pay for it to the tune of $6,800 per family. Teachers provide a learning environment not buildings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My child has been at St.Andrews from preschool into middle school. What a wonderful environment for a child! Kids are taught compassion as well as academics. Kids are challenged academically, but are supported by involved teachers. Plenty of extracurricular activites for all ages. There is a 2 year old elementary building and the new middle school building should be ready the beginning of 2005.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 42%
Black 3% 35%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 12%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 3:30pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Leslie A. Redwine
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Methodist
Fax number
  • (410) 266-0986

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4 Wallace Manor Road
Edgewater, MD 21037
Website: Click here
Phone: (410) 266-0952

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT