Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Central Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 27, 2016
- a community member
Students are no longer trusted and adults are always in the right. If a child's story isn't given consideration then a disservice is done to the child.

Central Elementary School 3

Posted May 27, 2016
- a community member
The staff is great. The teachers are hit or miss. They are constantly facing curriculum changes which make things difficult for them. The kindergarten team is great. However the new principal leaves A LOT to be desired. He has really changed the atmosphere of the school and not for the better. If I had a choice I would not send my child there.


Central Elementary School 4

Posted March 02, 2016
- a community member
Considering the student population, I feel the results are less than where they should be. Both of my children didn't feel comfortable there, even after several years. It is VERY loud at lunch. I wasn't happy and I have moved them to another school where they are much happier.

Central Elementary School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a community member
This school is amazing!!! I went there in K,2,3,4......But I'm in fifth and I moved.....I never had any problems when I was there........All the staff are very nice and easy to get along with

Central Elementary School 5

Posted January 15, 2012
- a community member
I attended this school starting in second grade and I absolutely loved it! The teachers were so interactive with our classes and i really had a great time there. Mrs.Haberline is the best principal like ever! I think she does a fine job at Central Elementary. She and Ms. Keenen, which has sadly moved on, helped me win the ark community award and i cant thank them enough. My education there has brought me far, enabeling me to be in the most advanced coarses possible in middle school, including high-school coarse classes in 6th grade. I would recommend this school to anybody because i just loved it soo much. I even still attend Author Artist Night to connect with my old teachers.


Central Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2012
- a parent
Love it. We have three children currently attending Central Elementary. In the last few years I have been able to volunteer often at the school, where I have seen the teachers and staff in action and I am so impressed. They go the extra mile, they take it personally and the children respond. The parent involvement is equally impressive and as a result the school offers so many unique programs and events. It is a great feeling to know you are sending your children off to a place where they will thrive.

Central Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2011
- a community member
This is an amazing school i love it here. Most of the teachers are young but they know what there doing. The principal is great she gets to know the students she knows all of there names when they go down the hall. There is very little bullying and if there is it is put to a stop immediately. If you have children and are moving to this area i highly recommend this fantastic school.

Central Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2011
- a parent
Our family absolutely loves this school! We moved back to this school district after having children so our little ones could go to the same schools we did. It is amazing how many people/couples I recognize from childhood who have moved across the state or moved across the country to come "back home" and enroll their children in their childhood school. My child is also in second grade this year, and I have been very impressed with the math and language arts programs. The advanced reading groups (no more "Open Court"!) and the M2 math program and T&G math has proven very challenging. While I agree that the curriculum in previous years wasn't as challenging as it could have been, I firmly believe that this was due to NCLB, not the quality of the teachers. Now that this school has been relieved (due to high test scores) from the whole Open Court system and requiring teachers in the same grades to be teaching exactly the same curriculum each day (another downfall of NCLB), the quality of the learning environment has improved. For a school with as many students as Central has, it maintains a "small town" feel.


Central Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is currently in second grade. I would echo one of the other parent's statements regarding the degree to which the curriculum challenges students. I am pleased with the language arts curriculum; I feel that my daughter is at or above comparable-aged students elsewhere. The math curriculum, on the other hand, has not challenged her since starting school 3 years ago. More needs to be done to add varying degrees of difficulty to challenge those students who grasp the curriculum without much effort. The school is a top-notch school otherwise with active involvement from teachers, parents, and volunteers alike. I would recommend CES to anyone thinking of moving into the district.

Central Elementary School 3

Posted August 27, 2010
- a parent
I have several children attending school at Central Elementary and find that the County curriculum is inadequate and not challenging. The math curriculum is absolutely poor, at least 2 grades behind where it should be, and worst of all the teachers know and acknowledge this. The county system cannot react to their "NEW" curriculum deficiencies and make changes due to its size and politics. The teachers and principal are dedicated to educational and student success and enjoy a VERY active PTA. Every parent we have spoken to who have children attending this school has the same comments without being provoked. Please suppliment the program quickly a student is only in each grade once and years are lost if not challenged.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Central Elementary School
130 Stepney Ln, Edgewater, MD  21037
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (410) 222-1075
Last modified Central Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top