Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edgewater Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

Best school I've been to! The principles name is mrs.schou The first time I got there till filth grade I love Edgewater. The teachers rarely yell.they can be super fun. And I would give them a 18/20 because in after care in the summer they have no air condition so if you pick it wear a t-shirt most of the time. Also, the food offered at lunch is very fattening, unless you just eat the salad.


Posted November 9, 2008

I used to go here. It is a great school! The recess equipment isn't very good but that doesn't matter. Education-wise this school is great. ( I love Mrs. Sutphin!!!)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 12, 2008

We are military and are moving soon, but have been here for three years. We have been very pleased with Edgewater Elementary's staff, educators, and principal. All have worked very hard in helping our daughter succeed. For example, our child was having difficulty reading, and we seriously considered enrolling her in a reading school. We discussed our concerns with the principal, and he asked us to first give the school a chance to teach her. We reluctantly took his advice, and we are so glad we did. With the principal's advice and the educators' hard work, our daughter is now reading on grade level and is doing great in school. I highly recommend Edgewater Elementary School. Tammy McBride
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

I was told several years ago that Edgewater was a 'lower rung' school. Edgewater has increasingly powered up their school, staff and programs. The top quality teachers/staff have pulled together with parents to incorporate tremendous benefits in all education and extra curricular activities. Our kids had difficulty at other public schools in Anne Arundel but have improved and tested much better at Edgewater. The ever increasing school rank tells it all! Thanks Edgewater!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I truly can thank every Staff member of Edgewater Elementary no there test scores are not that great but the bigger picture is my child and my child loves school and last year she had Mrs. Newton which was a true blessing she worked very hard to see the many different in each child in her class room and ran with it and as for the appearance of school yes they are lacking however don't let the appearance fool you they do their best with what they have so I truly thank everyone there for giving my child the skills and confidence as she has come a very long way thanks to their dedicated success and if more parents did there part at home then you to will find that your child is getting to exercise every level of their potential here ! Kristal Machado
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2006

We switched from private school to Edgewater Elementary and have been extremely pleased with the school. We had a second grader and a kindergartener and both had extremely talented and dedicated teachers. I never once heard 'I don't want to go to school' because they enjoyed every single day. We especially enjoyed the emphasis on reading for pleasure (our son's reading took off this year) and how Edgewater teaches the process of writing. We were impressed with the curriculum and the creativity of the teachers. Unfortunately, we are relocating and must leave the school. This is one of our big disappointments as we have had a truly great experience at Edgewater Elementary! The school has a great deal to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

I have a 15 year old who attended this school and now have a 6 year old. Principal Fader & his staff are awesome. We would highly recommend this school. My 6 yrd old comes home every day excited about what he learned and loves to go to school, my 15 yr old is an honor roll student at South River. What more can be said !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2004

The best way to determine if this school is the best for your child is to visit each grade appropriate classroom and attend the PTA meetings. We have found the teachers are accessible as well as hard working, dedicated and caring individuals. Parents participate more when there are specific events. We too have had trepidation over private vs. public school, however, our daughter's increased social skills and her love for reading have convinced us we made the right decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2004

This school is awful. It is one of the worst public elementary schools in Anne Arundel county. The test scores reflect the lack of overall parental involvement and the inability of this school to address flaws in curriculum. We made the financially hard decision to send our children to private school instead of this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
>=95%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Maryland used the Maryland School Assessment (MSA) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The MSA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Maryland. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Maryland State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 17% 12%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
Black 3% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A42%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

121 Washington Rd
Edgewater, MD 21037
Phone: (410) 222-1660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Summit School
Edgewater, MD




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT