Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Eldersburg, MD
Students enrolled: 94
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Stephens Classical Christian Academy 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
STAY FAR AWAY! If You Want Your Child To Get A Great Education, Have A Great Experience, And Have A Educated Headmaster And Teachers Then Don't Send Them Here! I Was Truely Hopping A Small School Wouldn't Have School Drama Like The Larger Schools But This School Has Deep Issues With The Running Of School, Certain Parents That Teach Their Own Children And That Are Clearly Favored Not Only By Them But Other Staff, Which Makes It Impossible For Your Child To Be Successful! No Parent Should Be In Charge Of Giving Their Child Their Grades!!! The "Headmasters" Honor Roll Is All His Children, And Other Staff (Teachers) Children! Their Schools Testing Is So "Great" Because The Parents Are Scoring It!!! Run Run Run Far Away! Or If You Try It Out a Your Waisting A Year Of a Your Child's Education You Won't Ever Get Back!

St Stephens Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted May 13, 2013
- a parent
SSCCA is a great school whose strengths far outweigh its weaknesses. We have 3 children at the Academy and have been there for 6 years. We appreciate the classical Christian curriculum, the teachers who teach for the love of God and the students, the dedicated staff, the commitment to teach children how to be learners, the strong integration of all subjects (e.g., how what was happening in history at a given time affected literature, etc.), Latin, the small class sizes and affordability. While I personally wish that there was more time in the curriculum for science, art, and music (these are offered on a rotating quarterly basis), the instruction that is given in these subjects is excellent. If you want your child to be truly cared for and taught rigorously, this is the place for you!


St Stephens Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
We would like to take this moment to say a VERY BIG THANK YOU to all of you for welcoming him to your School. We would like to express to all of you, that we are very grateful, thankful and admire your ways of teaching him and keeping his full attention and having him wanting to learn even more. We were very lucky to come upon your school. We are amazed at how quickly he picked up Latin thanks to the dedicated teacher through her terrific teaching style and encouragement. KUDOS to all of you!!! We know our Son loves the School and he thinks very highly of all his Teachers!!! We appreciate all of you very much and the hard work that goes into your teaching and keeping the KIDS interested in learning. The kids at the School are terrific too. SSCCA has been a great school for our Son.

St Stephens Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
I have had children in private schools for the past 12 years and in public schools for 4 years prior. We joined the SSCCA family two years ago. I have learned that in any school, you can have good and bad experiences. You can also find teachers that are a good fit for your child and those that are not. When we first looked at private schools, home computers were not that prevalent. Today, most homes have at least 1, if not 1 per person. It's part of our everyday lives. It's not something that we NEED in school. What child doesn't know how to download a new app, write an email, or search the web? As stated in a previous review, the Classical educ teaches the student how to learn. Do some research on the success of Classical Educational programs. All private schools are not created equal. Those with benefactors with large pockets have large, beautiful facilities. That doesn't equate to a better education or better teachers. Our experience with SSCCA teachers has been great. We do have children of staff members in our class. I can honestly say that I see no preferential treatment what-so-ever! None. We get 1-on-1 attention. Does your school provide that?

St Stephens Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a community member
Not all schools are a good fit for all children. It is incumbent upon the parents/guardians to find the school that is a good fit for your family and your child. When both Pastor and Headmaster promised that our child's education at SSCCA would be structured and rigorous we as parents understood and accepted our role to be involved and become an integral part of that education. This school does not feed our children pablum, but rather fills their minds with the wonders of the world, the Word of God, and prepares them for the future. A Classical Education provides this. Take the negative comments with a grain of salt, you will get out of a school - any school - what you - as a parent - put into it - as you guide your children into responsible adulthood.


St Stephens Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
We have 4 children at St. Stephens since 2009 and all of them are very happy there. We like the fact that there are under 15 students in the classroom. All the teachers truly care about the students, know the students and their needs very well and know how to improve them and are able to help them. All the teachers of all my children always take their time to listen and help out anyway they can. I take the love of the teachers and their talent of teaching and a great education before sitting my kids in front of a device any day. Love the school, love the teachers and parents that give their 100% to make it great Academy.

St Stephens Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted April 23, 2013
- a community member
This school is rigorous, working one grade level ahead in math. Latin begins in third grade, and by 6th grade if you entered from a public school you might have a difficult time catching up. There is Morning Prayer every day, for 25 minutes. It should probably cost more than it does, to ensure that only people who really want a Classical Christian education come here. Right now there seem to be some people who don't understand what it is about...but overall the families and staff are great!

St Stephens Classical Christian Academy 5

Posted April 19, 2013
- a parent
There is no perfect school; however, these two bad reviews are not entirely accurate or fair. First, This is CLASSICAL school. They study History, Literature, Math. The Classical method is one where students learn how to learn. This life skill can be applied to computers, etc. any time any place. Second, this is the most affordable school in the county. With tuition being so low, of course fundraisers just go toward the general fund and teachers' salaries. Overall, I would say that the teachers really care about the kids and that this school has a Christian environment. That is why I chose it.


St Stephens Classical Christian Academy 4

Posted April 04, 2013
- a parent
The education at this school is very good. For the area, it is the best option in private Christian schools. The person that stated there are no improvement must not have looked around the school. The teacher really care about the students. The school is building a computer area and library. As for the music program, each grade "tries" out different instruments and they have a very good string and woodwind program.

St Stephens Classical Christian Academy 1

Posted February 22, 2013
- a parent
Our 3 children have been attending SSCCA for 4years now.The school has made many promises through out our time there which was making several improvements on the school and programs and nothing has been done, if anything the school is getting worse in many ways. We were told a number of miss leading things when we did our tour. One of them was we asked about a computer lab and we were taken to a room that had three computers (older ones) and was told they have a dozen new computers ordered and they will be in by the time school opened.Turns out the three computers are for upper grade to use the k-6 are not allowed in there and there are no new computers to this day.Each year the parents are told there coming.We are also told that many fundraising funds are for upgrades like the computers but we never see them!Many of the Staffs children and Headmasters attend school which if their child doesn't like yours has turned into many issues for some of us!The teachers have their own children in their class.The"staff"looks out for the"staffs"children.There is NO Science, Music, Computers, and Library to name a few.We thought that the changes would come and they still haven't we feel lied to

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Stephens Classical Christian Academy
2275 Liberty Road, Eldersburg, MD  21784
(410) 795-1249
Last modified St Stephens Classical Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Stephens Classical Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top