Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 5

Posted February 03, 2015
- a teacher
There is so much to love about this school! The academics are rock solid with a strong track record of praise from local high schools who know an OLPH student is always outstandingly prepared, respectful and confident. The faculty is passionate, creative, caring and ready to ensure every student excels. The School is invested for the new millennium generation with state-of-the-art technology including a new iLC lab and interactive white boards. The new Principal, Mr. Pellechia, has positive energy and an innovative style making the whole school shine! Educational enrichment programs, faith formation, community service, sports, fine arts and a rich assortment of clubs/activities allow every student to find their passion and foster positive friendships. The fellowship is warm with families who are very involved and welcoming. The school is Christ centered and is the reason for everything they do. Their passion is to empower every student with confidence to fulfill the amazing plan our Lord has for their lives. The School is blessed by OLPH church which is on campus and on fire! OLPH is a great value that excels in educating the whole child. You are going to love this school!
2 people found this helpful

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 4

Posted August 22, 2014
- a community member
If you're only looking for a school with strong academics, then go down the road to Ilchester. However, if you want your kids to grow spiritually, then this school is the best you'll find anywhere. Weekly Mass creates a community grounded in faith. We have daily Religion class where we go deeper into the mysteries of our faith through discussions. We also have two awesome priests who are very involved in both the parish and the school community. There is a very strong sense of family and the teachers and students really care about you. Prayer is an essential part of the day at OLPH. They also have lots of extracurricular activities to choose from. There are some discipline issues in middle school, but there is much less bullying than you will find at the average public school. Overall, the academics at OLPH are average and the faith community is outstanding.


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 5

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
OLPH has provided a solid faith-based education that has helped to develop our children to be confident life long learners. The faculty, staff, students and parents provide a strong caring and nurturing community. Our children were well prepared for Catholic High School and most importantly to be compassionate, well rounded, civic minded citizens. OLPH School is a Christ-centered educational institution that is having a profound impact in developing future evangelists!

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 5

Posted July 10, 2014
- a parent
OLPH has been a blessing for our family! My children love their teachers, they are thriving academically, and we feel like the teachers and staff truly care about each student. They have added numerous new clubs and enrichment programs to reinforce what the students are learning. My son loves the robotics club and is learning some pretty cool stuff. I would recommend this school to anyone looking for strong academics, truly personalized attention and authentic Catholic formation. The two priests are wonderful and very involved on a regular basis.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 4

Posted June 07, 2014
- a parent
I'm a parent with a wonderful child who as being going to OLPH school for 5 years. The principal plus faculty is great but their are some problems with bullying not major just slight problems. They don't get much homework but my child has advanced so much in her learning.


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 4

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
Great school for the "typical" student, however if your child is "different", be prepared for your child to be ostracized by the other students. While Christian values are taught, they are not always put into practice by the students. Kids here are no different than kids in public schools. Mr. Pellechia, the new principal, has been a huge asset to the school. Most teachers are fantastic, and very caring.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a parent
Posted a review in 2012 as a new parent and promised an update. This school has come a long way in a short amount of time. All for the best and still more to come! The transformation of making a solid great school of many years to an above average impressive school in just a year has been a pleasure to witness and our family is proud and blessed to be apart of the OLPH community. Where do I begin? The Principal, of course. Mr. Pellechia only started a year ago, and HE has made a HUGE difference in so many ways. His daughter is in Kindergarten & one on the way! He truly has an "open door" policy of hearing all of our parent concerns and suggestions. Not only has he made a difference, but the School Board and HSA (Home and School Association) have made a progressive, positive impact as well. All are truly committed and work together to make OLPH the best school for your child to thrive academically, spiritually, and socially. The surrounding community involvement (parish and non parish) is amazing as well. The new Interactive Learning Center or iLC is a must to see. It was literally built overnight (during the summer) and has the adaptability to change as our technology changes.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school! So many positive changes in the past couple of years. This school is really moving in the right direction. We love the families and feel so blessed that our kids have good friends who share our same family values.


Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
We feel like we are part of an extended family at OLPH School! The teachers and staff are very dedicated to their students, and they expect involvement from the parents as well. They are strict with behavior but it leads to good self-discipline for the kids, and it's a very loving environment.

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
OLPH is a phenomonal school. The wonderful staff and teachers are extremly attentive to the students in and outside of school. I could not have asked for a better school for my child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School
4801 Ilchester Road, Ellicott City, MD  21043
(410) 744-4251
Last modified Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Our Lady Of Perpetual Help School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top